Old 20th February 2022, 03:25   #31

Re: VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review

We started from Khalsa around 8:00PM as the owner of the restaurant told me that the checkpost gets closed early, and if you don’t reach before that, you might have to come back.

I put the car in SPORTS mode but the joy was only for a few more kms. Soon after the Dhikala zone entry gate, there were patches without concrete as JCBs were standing next to the patches (must be construction work going on I thought), I drove through water crossings (hey, did I took the road to Ladakh by mistake) and the narrow roads after every turn and the mountains pelting stones.

It was PITCH DARK, and I was just praying to god that my car should not encounter any belly scrapping due to the lower ground clearance, or else, we might have to spend the night inside the car, as we were not on the safest part of the nature. I was worried as it was only me and my wife travelling with no other car for company.

The car shined through the way. It took care of us, wading the water effortlessly (in Manual mode), drove above the boulder rocks without scrapping and we made it to the Sterling Resort, Merchula (Naam hi itna KHATARNAK hai &#128514. On the way we spotted a lot of deers but could not take any pic as I didn’t have a Dash Cam installed (which is the next mod coming up soon).

The Brave Boy resting after reaching the destination:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-319252a4f5d94e87ade37e10286809b3.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-daf92bd7c8104644886a39b967256658.jpeg
Old 20th February 2022, 03:41   #32

Yours truly at NOT his best 😂:

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-9ffe3899d6b34c7eb0e6fbf7b7243df1.jpeg

The place was good, but nothing great which was worth the terrible night drive. Even the food was okay.

Some of the pics from our stay at Sterling, Corbett:

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-3c2901f266f74e9d8e6d7f7ba667ac19.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-84973b0365764350970dc67b2a13ee9c.jpeg

Even the monkeys were LAZY
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-2c1a9c6fe9764c9684b36bb8e1be6c9b.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-09bb648a7e4f482ab5363284fdd9dc12.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-55fd2e1ab7c843fb8dd9e25689cee545.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-441c03ad504445f9abc10251bb9781ce.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-1cf274c65d98443fbbd67c759ac86ae0.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-d364c94058fb4683b5841c81b237e2eb.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-9f0329fdc0e046d1b4ab95fa001f3537.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-92a1228d1f364a85b64501c5243c0b5d.jpeg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-317b316efce443018a348267b71a6640.jpeg  

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-0f1911307a484fe390bef7b06361f41c.jpeg  

SuperSuri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2022, 03:52   #33

I checked the car every morning as it was quite cold. Cold start for 5 minutes every morning:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-4992dac32ae1477eb6f0d51902a2c55b.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-eee894e992784552882c87981cdfb2d9.jpeg

Bon Fire with Live Music:

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-6686c5e905284773962924c062ed996e.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-07c90a8790fe4a36ae2f81100e78db8c.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-af385425c93c4f8599704bcdbd482564.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-55404dc238ad47f7af531b769e1d1c10.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-8a453c62796349c09a1e15a11d29a557.jpeg

We left the place early in the morning and I felt comfortable.

(To be continued)
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-085ffc655b0f49948a0436e807e2cd2a.jpeg  

Last edited by SuperSuri : 20th February 2022 at 03:56. Reason: Edit
Old 23rd March 2022, 18:00   #34

Few more pics from our way back home (Delhi) via Nainital (a night halt).

On way to Nainital
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-5c752b0c0eb441d7b4af86529c649fd6.jpeg

Stayed at Vikram Vintage
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-9b5fda8970c84e5484e76c97026c6633.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-8b53e2e6a6da41c78310083c4fcf698e.jpeg

Break at Brar Plaza (somewhere before Gajraula)
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-57dd03e9df154f8baa450b63d454dca0.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-6d224b91a0634139b3f1ec31e49998ec.jpeg
Old 16th June 2022, 00:18   #35

Sorry about not being able to update the thread.

Actually, some kid wiped off all the images from my phone. I would try to click some fresh images and explain the process of my dashcam install in upcoming updates. However, there are no more backups of the images of the trip.

Nevertheless, wanted to share a quick update. Just received the bottle of CarPro Ech2o. Would share the user review of same in a couple of days.

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-be88d4e5fb9940c9b617f0a3bf2e5909.jpeg
Old 3rd August 2022, 03:05   #36

UPDATE: RETROFITTING PASSAT STYLE DOME LIGHT!

Hello everyone,
Hope you all read this in best of health.
Wanted to update the thread as I retrofitted the Passat Style Dome Light in my car. There have been a lot many threads with the same installation, however the only difference in my installation is, that I did not splice/tap the headlight switch wire and instead powered the light using a Fuse tap on slot number 7 of the fuse box.

Materials required:

• Passat style dome light with wiring connectors.
• Torx T20 screwdriver.
• Electric tape/Felt tape.
• Wire splicer and crimping tool.
• Mini ATM APM style fuse tap.
• Extra fuse (I used 10 AMP fuse, going to buy a 7.5 AMP fuse when I visit the ASC this weekend.
• Soldering iron (if soldering the new wiring setup, which I did).
• Heat-shrink sleeves to cover the connections.
• LOTS OF PATIENCE!

The Passat Style Dome Light:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-1.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-2.jpg

Wiring Connectors that came with the light. The 3 pin connector goes to the stock wiring harness connector and the 6 pin one goes to the new light:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-5.jpg

MINI ATM APM type fuse tap:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-10.jpg

Sharing the steps of the installation and connections as following:

OPENING THE STOCK DOME LIGHT: Pry open the dome light’s lens by flexing the roof liner. Once open, there are 2 screws (Torx T20 type). Unscrew both and keep at a safe place(I lost one of the 2). Then use a flat head screwdriver to push the tabs at both the sides of the dome light. The light can easily be removed now.

PREPARING THE NEW WIRING: I used the diagram provided in LizardKing’s thread to prepare the wiring harness. I made sure to solder all the joints and cover the same with heat-shrink sleeves.
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-wiring-diagram.jpg

ROUTING THE NEW WIRING: Only the wire connected to Pin number 1 of the 6 Pin connector needs to be routed. I used a 1 mm wire to connect to this terminal via soldering. Routed the same wire via the cavity of dome light on the roof liner. You also need to remove the driver’s side A pillar trim to route the wire in order to do a clean setup. You may use a metal wire and tie the end of the wire to it and it can easily be routed till the A pillar cavity.
From there you need to pull the wire till the right corner of the dashboard, open the trim from the side of the dashboard and route the wire through it. Now the only difficult step is to push the wire through the small gap using your fingers. Trust me this was the HARDEST step for me due to my big hands. Once done, join the wire to a fuse tap (MINI ATM APM type) with the help of a wire crimping tool. I did not have one, so had to use a plier. My hands are still aching due to the same. Once done, 90% of the job is done.
CONNECTION TO THE FUSE BOX: Remove the fuse from slot no 7 (7.5AMP in my car, however it could be 5 AMP in some cars). Insert this fuse in one of the slots of the fuse tap. On the other slot, you need to add another fuse, preferably same AMP used in your car. Once done, connect the fuse tap to the fuse box and VOILA! The beautiful red ambient light is on.

PUTTING BACK THE TRIMS: Put back the A Pillar trim back, and install the new light in the place. Also worth mentioning: the new light does not use any screws for installing it to the headliner, rather it uses the clips at one of the end. It is a snug fit and no rattling felt during a small test drive.

I will let the images do the talking:

Stock Light removed
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-6.jpg

Wiring harness prepared:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-7.jpg

6 Pin connector installed in the new light for testing if it works:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-8.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-9.jpg

Routing the wire for ambient light & backlight of the switches on the new light. Without this only the halogens can be turned on, the red back lighting can not:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-11.jpg

A Pillar Trim removed and wire routed. The black wire seen in the image is for the dashcam I had installed earlier:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-12.jpg

The trim cover opened from the side of the dashboard and wire routed through it:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-13.jpg

Wire routed till the fuse box. Remember, this is the most difficult and time consuming process:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-14.jpg

Wire connected to the fuse tap:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-15.jpg

The fuse tap needs to be connected to slot number 7 of the fuse box. Use the existing fuse provided along with an extra fuse of the same amp:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-16.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-17.jpg

LET THERE BE LIGHT!
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-18.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-19.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-20.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-21.jpg
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-22.jpg

Ambient light falling on the DSG knob:
VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-23.jpg

I would like to thank Viraat, Prerak Kataria and Shankhneel Burman for their valuable tips for the installation. Thanks Gannu & LizardKing for inspiring me to execute some mods on my car. Thank you all for reading till the very end of the update. Will try to click some more pics during night & post.

Enjoy
SuperSuri

Last edited by SuperSuri : 3rd August 2022 at 03:12. Reason: Editing
SuperSuri is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 5th August 2022, 21:28   #37

Originally Posted by SuperSuri View Post
UPDATE: RETROFITTING PASSAT STYLE DOME LIGHT!

Hello everyone,
Hope you all read this in best of health.
Wanted to update the thread as I retrofitted the Passat Style Dome Light in my car. There have been a lot many threads with the same installation, however the only difference in my installation is, that I did not splice/tap the headlight switch wire and instead powered the light using a Fuse tap on slot number 7 of the fuse box.

Materials required:

• Passat style dome light with wiring connectors.
Awesome work, from where did you source this light? I too want this for my Polo and I assume your method would work for Polo as well
Sahil00090 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2022, 22:49   #38

Originally Posted by Sahil00090 View Post
Awesome work, from where did you source this light? I too want this for my Polo and I assume your method would work for Polo as well
Thank you Sahil. I bought it from GERMANCRATS.

Yes the same procedure would work for Polo.
Though you would need a Grey light if I’m not wrong.

DM me if you need the light. I will share the contact details of the person.
Old 7th August 2022, 01:28   #39

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-64f224f1d0a34133a56eddaf7e2f4fb6.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-41608660ce1546b8aa43ee2d6ca0f75f.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-688d289c0ae44767ae24f733201a7792.jpegA couple of night shots showing the beautiful ambient light, projected by the dome light.
SuperSuri is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2022, 18:49   #40

Originally Posted by SuperSuri View Post
Sorry about not being able to update the thread.

Actually, some kid wiped off all the images from my phone. I would try to click some fresh images and explain the process of my dashcam install in upcoming updates. However, there are no more backups of the images of the trip.

Nevertheless, wanted to share a quick update. Just received the bottle of CarPro Ech2o. Would share the user review of same in a couple of days.

Attachment 2321197

UPDATE:

Used the Carpro Ech2o as waterless wash. My car was fully covered with bird bombs. I just felt like killing all of them with my bare hands 🤣. Sorry could not click the images of the car in that state. After 2.5 hours of hard work, this is the result:

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-7c1263a515f6418f85c0a3f3c761e5c7.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-6ba911aab7234d9382f15fe03e21bb42.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-09cbaa24659c4d2cba4292fc4e673c91.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-b99ae91fb30940d69432346bb93919a1.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-3339595ee4514a969e7136eb37d1fa0d.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-ac8d163abcff4603a1cccba31d2186c4.jpeg

Gloss is EXCELLENT! Maybe due to the fact that I waxed the car last week. But I still feel the results are good. However, I would like to compare it with Proklear waterless wash concentrate which I was using prior to this. I feel there is not much of a difference in terms of usage and end-result, though the difference in pricing is huge. I might switch back to it after the Carpro is finished.

I would like to clear that I am no way associated to either of the brands.

Enjoy!
SuperSuri is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2022, 12:51   #41

Hi Super Suri,
Loved reading your ownership thread!
I was hoping you and the others in this thread could help me with a buying decision. I'm currently looking at used Ameo in Chennai: 2019 Diesel+dsg which has run 15k kms. The dealer's asking for somewhere between 8-8.5 L for it.
What would be an ideal price for it?
Are there any specific issues/ niggles synonymous with the ameo that I need to watch out for?
Old 27th November 2022, 23:47   #42

Update:

Upgraded the alloy wheels on my car. Retained the current size (16”) with the same tyre I was using before. However, as the new rim is 7.5J, the tyre has stretched and the stance has changed.

GANGSTER!

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-77a93439f94a4130870fc904de6fce4d.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-ec05181615f043b798cd0b0be57bc537.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-75b746fb43ec4f5299986b60847ac58a.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-5fc827610050445fb4b445f797b29a61.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-8cdc45693c4a4f7e8865aa16f452aaeb.jpeg
Old 28th November 2022, 07:42   #43

Originally Posted by Abi5hek View Post
Hi Super Suri,
Loved reading your ownership thread!
I was hoping you and the others in this thread could help me with a buying decision. I'm currently looking at used Ameo in Chennai: 2019 Diesel+dsg which has run 15k kms. The dealer's asking for somewhere between 8-8.5 L for it.
What would be an ideal price for it?
Are there any specific issues/ niggles synonymous with the ameo that I need to watch out for?
Hello Abhishek,

I haven’t faced any specific issues/niggles apart from the ORVM adjustment knob and the radiator fan getting blocked with dust, touchwood!

The price he is asking is good. The car was originally priced at 11.55L on road delhi. I bought it for 9.93 on road after discount in December 2019. I would say if the car is good, and you can get it around 8, it would be a good deal.

Also, don’t forget to get the car checked by a VW ASC before finalising the deal.
All the best! Let me know if you need any further assistance. 🙂
Old 27th February 2023, 09:15   #44

Upgraded the alloy wheels one more time as I love OEM style 5 Spoke designs. VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-b09d0401daa64b23ac68412409b157e5.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-59ba8161a2b84b9fb5430174189e5cde.jpeg

VW Ameo 1.5L TDI DSG | Ownership Review-05d398139d8046978173fcfc7a58fa24.jpeg
SuperSuri is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2023, 22:17   #45

Team BHP Thread: Should I keep my beloved Ameo or let it go?

Hi Team BHP,

I need your expertise and advice on a tough decision regarding my beloved Ameo TDI-DSG. I bought it in December 2017 and it's been an absolute joy to drive - smooth performance, great handling, and just pure driving pleasure.

Here's the situation:

• Odo:*87,000 km

• Warranty:*Covered since purchase with extended warranty (paid extra) and annual maintenance program.

• Upcoming Decision:

• Final year extended warranty renewal - approx.*cost 40k (to be confirmed)

• Keep the car with less usage (second car role)

• Consider exchanging for another car

My dilemma is this:

Keep or Switch?

On one hand, I absolutely love the car. It's reliable, fun to drive, and has served me well. Keeping it as a second car, with reduced usage, seems appealing. However, the cost of the final year extended warranty and potential future repairs (especially the dreaded DSG) give me pause.

Swapping for another car:

Part of me is tempted to upgrade to a newer model(used), maybe even explore other brands. But finding a car that matches the Ameo's driving dynamics and overall charm within a reasonable budget is proving difficult.

Here are my specific questions:

• Extended Warranty:*Is it worth buying the final year extended warranty,*considering the car's age and mileage?*Or should I save that money for potential repairs?

• DSG Reliability:*How worried should I be about DSG issues in the future?*Are there proactive measures I can take to prevent them?

• Keeping vs. Exchanging:*Considering I'll be using the car less,*is it financially sensible to keep it as a second car or is it better to exchange it for something newer(used)?

• Recommendations:*If I decide to swap,*are there any cars,*both within and outside VW,*that could match the Ameo's driving experience and reliability within a budget of say,*7-8 lakhs?

I value the insight and experience of this community and would be grateful for your advice on this important decision. Thanks in advance!

Additional info:

• My driving has become less frequent due to work changes.

• I'm open to both new and used car options.

• Primary concerns are reliability,*driving dynamics,*and cost-effectiveness.

Let the discussion begin!

Peace, Ameo Lover

P.S. Feel free to share your own Ameo experiences or any relevant advice you might have!

Thanks in advance