|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 49,438 views |
![]() | #1 |
Newbie Join Date: Dec 2022 Location: New Delhi
| 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 After finally swallowing the pill about the 10-year diesel ban from NGT, it was time to hunt for a new car. We started the hunt at the 8.5-year mark of Ertiga as we assumed the waiting periods to be no short of a year. This shot from our Manali trip remains my favorite ![]() The next question that followed was if we actually needed a 6/7-seater. You see, out of 93K mileage clocked, it would have been hardly some 10k KMs that the car had any row except the front row occupied. Given the skyrocketing prices and the fact that we would be shelling out almost double for another MPV now, it made us consider the 5 seaters too. The requirements
Cars considered:I would just like to apologize upfront if my comments end up offending any of the owners of the below respective cars. I truly feel a car can have all the things right but may still not excite one. The final decision should always flow from your heart otherwise you’re going to regret it. Go spend a few more lakhs and get that top model, the turbo petrol engine, or the car with a sunroof if your heart desires it. I experienced this regret firsthand with this purchase. XL6 made all the sense, however, the moment I see an Innova Crysta, there is that feeling of regret for skipping this car over the Fuel Economy. I have covered more on this when I talk about Crysta below. Tata Nexon The showroom experience was strictly okay and nothing to write home about. Since the facelift (2nd iteration), I have much appreciated the well-rounded package it offers. However, in the 2 times I have checked out this car, quality issues really held me back. It was almost like the universe giving me signals to avoid it. On my first visit, the digital instrument panel was glitching so much as to render it unusable. On my second visit, the glovebox just won't close. While both issues are something that a quick visit to ASC can fix, seeing these in a display car and the showroom's negligence to ignore those shows the generic attitude of the brand. While the showroom could be privately owned, this forum has a lot of horror stories from TATA ASC and support to reinforce my reservations. Beyond this, Nexon offered an AMT transmission which was a no-go for me. Had I been in the market in mid-2023, I would have held off my purchase just until the facelift came in. Kudos to Tata for efforts with the latest iteration. Creta/Seltos: With a strict budget of 20L, I was happy to consider the IMT/DCT versions of Seltos & Creta respectively. They offered an amazing kit along with absolutely bonkers interior quality. Kudos to the Brand twins for setting the benchmark in interior quality in every segment. The downer for them was the lack of increase in seating comfort for 3 abreast in the back seat in proportion to the price increase. Our family idealizes Innova and cars alike so sparing 20L for a 4-seater was a bit of a brainer to us. Both brands for some reason try to blend in some sportiness in their cars. The rear seat is pretty scooped out in both these cars and hence makes the middle passenger feel unwelcomed. Venue/Sonet Same story with these cars. Sonet offered great VFM and quality all around (sparing the build of course). Again, this was strictly a 4-seater so a no-go for a family of 7. Venue, with the 2022 facelift was no longer the same VFM it used to be. Still, I loved the Nardo Grey N line variants but with space management worse than some hatchbacks, was an instant disqualification. Magnite/Kiger The twins offer great value and make way for a new segment altogether. The fact that both companies even managed to squeeze in a 4-star crash rating at this price is a big and applaudable feat. Unfortunately, that has taken a toll on the overall quality and drivetrain. Both cars may have a strong structure but feature really flimsy sheet panels. The drivetrain suffers too from the 3 potters on offer along with the CVT/AMT options. In my test ride of Magnite, the car was vibrating a lot at idle. The last nail in the coffin was cheap interiors. This reason was enough for the family to rule the car out. MG Astor This car was super hyped up and extremely promising on paper. Plenty of features, good build quality, stunning looks, and premium interiors. Disappointment knocks the moment you press the pedal to experience the "turbo" engine. Such a downer. Either they are lying about a whole missing turbo, it's the CVT characteristics or someone in the tuning department messed up. Another downer that could not be compromised on is the lack of space in the rear bench. After everyone is done praising the beautiful red interiors and done playing with the Al robot, the middle seat leaves a bitter experience for the unfortunate who has to sit there. While almost all rear benches are best suited for 4 nowadays, Astor should be mentioned as a 4-seater on the RC card. The unnecessarily sculpted seats in exchange for a sporty feel are to be blamed here. This car had so much potential and a good spread of features in every variant. Sad to see the company didn't get the basics right. Oh and yes, the 360 camera units are straight out of a 2012 smartphone camera at best. A note for sedans While the rest of the world is axing off sedans and hatches, it is a very interesting time in India for this body type right now. The market has some very hot contenders (Read VW Vitus GT). The only reason we could not consider them is due to low seating. We already have nightmares from the egress and ingress from my brother's Fluidic Verna. With my aging parents, we were not very pleased to pick a suicide mission for knees by getting any of the sedans on offer. Toyota Innova Crysta What can I say about this car? There's no other car even a few segments above that does all things as beautifully as Innova. Power, reliability, safety, features, VFM, you name it. Yes, you read the last part right. Even though the prices have gone up unrealistically since its inception in 2016, it still puts the contenders to shame for what it offers. The answer as to why we ditched it is that of a traditional Indian Buyer. We had a budget of 20L and could have stretched to 22L for the Petrol G Auto Variant OTR. Petrol and Auto are a deadly combination for a 2T MPV. The salesman was kind enough to point this out because we were smiling ear to ear with the idea of an Innova in the garage finally. He said "sir ye 6-8kmpl se zyada nahi degi city mein". While a shocker, it would have been true for our use case. When clubbed with the fact that my father's driving style had a diesel Ertiga return 11kmpl in city and 15kmpl on highway all its life, Innova would not have been a sensible purchase. The MPV Dilemma There are two types of buyers in this market. The first group is people who want a big car along with the brand and name value. They may have a small family and could use the extra space for luggage. This group is happy to check out the contenders and may even buy one of them as 3rd row seats will be rarely used by them. 2nd group consists of buyers with actual need for all the seats on offer. This group is either big families or fleet/taxi operators. I fall in this group and It is truly hard to understand how none of the cars till the 40L segment and maybe even above have not been able to figure out the 3rd-row seats except Innova, Carens, Ertiga/XL6 & and Carnival. So many options available to a new buyer but only 4 true 7-seaters? Bahut naainsaafi hai! To the point above, now we were left with just 2 options – XL6 & Carens Kia Carens I was pretty excited for this car ever since the spy shots started rolling in. When it did launch, the excitement went down a little due to the minivan type of looks from the front. However, the features, size, and powertrains on offer bumped it right on top again. The showroom experience was good even though there were a lot of people walking in due to the new launch (Take notes Tata & Mahindra). The Blue colour under the spotlight gave out tones of purple and black and was the instant colour of choice. The interiors felt really premium and the touchscreen was super futuristic. Kia has hit it right with the seats in all three rows even though the seats are on a smaller side. Unfortunately, that’s about it. The Turbo DCT, even though has 140 BHP on paper, fails to make you go wow. That is fine, to be honest, and is expected from a 7-seater. However, if one is not to use the power, why should I pick up the headache associated with Turbo and DCT transmission? The car is meant to go around the city and have heard plenty of “burning smell” reports in traffic from the DCT. To make matters worse, owners reported how this powertrain struggled on hills. That is not acceptable for a powertrain with this much power and all modern tech. Unfortunately, the issues don’t end there. The leaking AC tubing above 3rd row leading to the headliner being wet, and reports of headlamps fogging up in a month-old car made me question the development of the car. Kia seems to have taken inputs from both Ertiga and Innova and incorporated what both cars excel at. Ertiga offers 7 seats at a budget which is targeted by Carens lower variants and Innova offers big size, reliability, and premium feel which is handled by Caren’s top model. The pricing is evident. While this was a smart approach, the development feels like a hurried one. Kia has good after-sales support and I was confident they would take feedback and attend to these issues. I was personally just not comfortable with making trips to ASC any other time than the regular service. Maruti XL6 To my point earlier, families looking for 7-seaters in the 40L bracket don’t have a lot of options. Ertiga, while a good allrounder, comes with a taxi image, no real WOW features, and beige interiors that we were bored after owning Ertiga for 9 years.. The Facelifted XL6 fits right in for families like us who like the Ertiga but were going elsewhere due to all the reasons above. When the last-gen XL6 was launched, it made everyone wonder why this car exists. With only a new facia, cladding, and black interiors as key differentiators compared to Ertiga, the car didn’t excite a lot of people, and sales speak likewise. I never even considered this car to be honest. Come 2022 and the launch of the facelift, the car made a lot of sense all of a sudden. It had a lot more to offer. It was well differentiated in terms of looks. The puny tires were taken care of, the rear looks much better and 2022ish with those smoked taillamps, the ride height was just a tad bit more and gave it the perfect stance, gloss black B/C pillars, machined 16inch alloys, and the list continues. The comfort and convenience went considerably up too with ventilated seats, 360-degree camera system, all-black leatherette interiors, UV cut glass all around, and updated HU with wireless Apple Carplay and Android Auto being key factors to lure one in. Another major upgrade was the introduction of the Aisin-sourced 6-speed AT unit. Torque convertors are rare these days and I am glad Maruti picked this. The test drive was impressive and AT was as smooth as it should be. While no DCT, the shift speeds were comfortable in Auto mode and fast enough in manual mode. Paddle shifters were a welcome feature too. Contrary to my belief, the lack of power from the engine ensures you’ll be using these. Will cover more on this later. Delivery dayThe waiting period was surprisingly low and we got the car in October after booking it in August end. We picked the auspicious day of Dusshera. Even though the staff had commitments for their respective plans, they were accommodating enough and delivered the car at 5 PM. ![]() Still miss the clean and well-rounded design of the original Ertiga ![]() We picked up 3D mats, a Chrome belt for window lining, and sun visors. One accessory that has my heart is the faux trim similar to the one on the dashboard for all armrests. However, this costs 8k which I found to be a tad too much and hence skipped it. The overall experience was leaps and bounds ahead of the time we took delivery of our Ertiga. This was partly due to Nexa and partly due to a change of Dealership. Ownership experienceThe car has done about 10K KMs and the ownership experience has been well, not so Maruti-like. That there should be seen as a compliment. Let me go over all categories to explain better: Looks While XL6 is no head-turner, it isn’t boring-looking either. The elegant front, sleek sides, and sporty rear come together to deliver a pleasant experience for the eyes. XL6 tries to do a lot of things with different elements all around yet stays away from the boundary of being quirky-looking. Best angle to look at it IMO ![]() The headlamps offer a good throw and I love the quad cluster design. While miles away, reminds me somewhat of the quad barrel setup in Bugatti Chiron ![]() ![]() The taillamps look super cool. The smoked treatment brings them in line with the trend. ![]() ![]() The side profile is clean and I am glad the facelift addressed the puny-looking tires. The 16-inch, Diamond cut alloys have a neat design. ![]() Glossy B/C pillars ![]() The cladding all around, while a pain to maintain and detail, is a boon. It has so far helped avoid numerous dings and bumper scrapes. ![]() I am satisfied with the paint quality and also got a ceramic coating done to protect the beautiful blue paint. ![]() Interior When I say, the experience is not so Maruti-like, the interior plays a big role in that. The materials used are at par with what one would expect at this price point. Interiors definitely help realize the premium factor XL6 aims to deliver. The Interior feels well put together with no rattling issues whatsoever. There's one caveat though. While very similar to Ertiga, I just can’t seem to find my driving position even with all the adjustments on offer. Any position other than an upright posture gets my neck aching. For all other cars I drive, it’s a matter of sliding the seat back, reclining it a bit, and I am good to go. Since this is something only I complain about in my family, probably there is nothing wrong with the car. (So I hope) That said, the seats are very comfortable and supportive. Tad too supportive as my “healthy” family used to complain about seats being not as comfortable as the previous car. I don’t believe this level of bolstering is required in a people mover either. Another reason is the foam aging and becoming compressed in the old car. For the ones wondering about space in all rows, the first two rows are very similar due to captain seating. Plenty of legroom, headroom, and options to adjust per your liking. 3rd row is a big improvement from the last gen(Ertiga) and offers decent legroom and headroom. In terms of adjustment, you can adjust your recline angle at the cost of a marginal drop in legroom as the seat slides a bit forward when reclining. To explain the space in one line: If all rows are occupied, the max you can seat is 6ft guys in all rows for a short commute in the city & and 5’10 guys very comfortably for a long journey. I am the longest in my family at 6ft so this was no concern for us. I have sat in the last row on a few occasions and it was comfortable all right (city rides). Drivetrain I was not expecting a lot from this drivetrain and I am glad I kept my hopes low. It is not exciting to drive by any measure. My Diesel-powered Ertiga even with 15 less BHP was way more fun as it had a turbo and lots of torque. A car like this is not designed to be driven enthusiastically either but I find 135Nm of torque to be too less. I have a fear of this car giving a little trouble on hills with a full load even though Petrol engines make up through instant pickup. The auto gearbox is tuned just about right. Neither does it hold on to gears for long or upshifts unnecessarily. It is very smooth and any minor jolts are limited to when the car is started and driven initial few kms. Then too, these are only experienced when downshifting from 2nd to 1st. You really need to press down on the accelerator to get it to downshift. This brings me to the point of how paddle shifters are useful. Pressing the accelerator deep takes a toll on mileage as sometimes it ends up shifting down 2 gears. Instead, when you want to overtake, just downshift through the paddles and you’re good to go. The Auto Start/Stop system is a welcome feature. While a little annoying, helps save fuel and the planet as red lights as long as 180 Seconds in Delhi. That said, the hybrid system is a bit of a letdown too. I expected an engine with this low of an output clubbed with an assist from a motor up to speeds of 80KMPH to deliver a good average. I realize a TC transmission takes a hefty cut too but still. Interesting graphics for the hybrid system. Shows the power flowing from the motor as well as back to the battery when you brake or coast. ![]() As you can see in the below snap, the average is not impressive. The car is occupied by 2 people at max and driven sedately. I understand that the 3rd service and Oil change is due. Hoping for some improvement post that. ![]() Another thing to note is that the Traction Control is too aggressive and steals away too much power. A ride with it turned off is enough to understand this. The conditions present in cities in India do not command such aggressive TC systems. There is an overall tendency from Hyundai and Maruti to bombard cars with these gizmos rather than incorporating high-strength steel into the structure. From a business perspective, this makes sense too as such gizmos are not too expensive to offer and help extend the list of safety features. Ride and HandlingOverall, it is a comfortable affair to commute in this car. The suspension is tuned brilliantly and it is not too stiff to translate bumps much into the cabin nor it is too soft to scrape when loaded. Everyone who commented on the ride quality had the same thing to say about how Maruti has improved the suspension quality. Any undulation in the road is limited to the respective corner only. The handling though takes a toll due to increased ride height. The body roll is evident and you will need to slow down through the corners. The steering is super light and weighs up nicely at high speeds. Overall, I am satisfied with this department. Other Significant stuffHead unit Super impressed with all that is on offer. The Head unit is such a delight to use. It is extremely smooth and has never lagged so far. Shortly after purchasing the car, it got an update as well which introduced different sound profiles, Wireless AA/Carplay, and navigation directions on the MID. The sound output is good enough for a stock, non-branded system. However, another pair of speakers or at least tweeters should have been offered for the rear passengers considering this car has 3 rows. Wireless Android Auto. Super smooth and useful but does drain your phone's battery drastically. ![]() A variety of warnings are supported by this head unit: ![]() ![]() 360 Camera System ![]() The sound stage is good enough while being sat in the front row but the lack of tweeters quickly becomes evident in the rear seats. Another gripe is the smaller screen size. All other cars in the Maruti stable got the system with a larger display except Ertiga/XL6 duo(at the time of purchase). I reckon this is due to the dashboard design with AC vents right next to the HU hence leaving no space for a larger display. Air conditioning Ventilated seats definitely help with Delhi Summers and are effective. I like to place them at a level 2 as at max level they get pretty noisy. Combined with UV-cut glass all around, helps AC function super well. I wish the rear AC could be controlled by the driver through the dashboard just like in Innova. Another missed opportunity is the rear AC not being integrated with the Climate Control. It genuinely makes no sense. Instrument cluster This along with the steering wheel is where Maruti simply annoys you with the parts sharing. The instrument cluster, while giving out a good level of information for 2020, is no match to the competition in 2023. It misses out on song information, digital speed, and of course the inability to control it through the steering wheel. Having two stalks jutting out from the cluster feels super old-school. One thing that is a welcome addition is navigation directions. This feature is a boon as it is actually able to tell you if you need to take the flyover or not. Really thoughtful! ![]() Same story with the steering wheel. The D-cut steering is good to hold, right amount of thickness, and offers good controls. However, it is available in every other Maruti at this point and looks boring. Competition like Kia Carens offers much better quality too. The switchgear is just all right in terms of quality and when compared with the competition, feels from a segment below (which actually is the case). As a matter of fact, 10K kms in and I have already run into quality issues. The silver finish has already started to come off. The good thing is that I just had to bring it to the notice of SA and a warranty claim was promptly raised. No arguments like I had to do in Maruti. ![]() Service Experience The service experience has been 11/10. With the Ertiga, I never really understood the hype around Maruti's service as it was always a 7/10 experience for me. Nexa seems to have really worked on customer experience. The SA are patient and do pay heed to even the little things you do point out. For example, I pointed out too much outdoor noise and this was rectified by adjusting the door frame. In contrast, the resolution to complaints around rattling was limited to being mentioned on the job card with no real action in the case of Ertiga. The turnaround times are great too. 4 hours is the max I have waited for all three services done so far and all were performed on a weekend with a high volume of cars. Unfortunately, the body shop equally sucks. I would rate them 3/10 at best. This applies to NEXA Service (Rana Motors) Okhla, Delhi. My car went in for accidental repair. I'll cover more on this as a follow-up to this thread as I am still pushing for a resolution. Thank you for putting up with this long thread. I would love to hear your feedback regarding what can be improved with respect to my writing style as this is my first ever long post to T-BHP after following it since the age of 16 (23 now). |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 54 BHPians Thank DDISclatters for this useful post: | .sushilkumar, AdityaDeane, Agarwal_Aayush, ags82, anupamsinha, arjunsatheesh, arthis2395, arvind_ravi01, CarWorld, catchjyoti, chinmaypillay, comfortablynumb, dailydriver, digitalnirvana, DiMaGo, dkaile, ds.raikkonen, Eco_boost, FlashMustang, Gaur, gauravanekar, gauravdgr8, GSMINC, GTO, hmansari, InControl, inwester, itwasntme, Jammy70, libranof1987, Malliketh, MotorDev, Mustang Sammy, Nair.V8, NewUser123, Omkar, PearlJam, pratika, procrj, ritedhawan, sanjayrozario, satrikon_454, shancz, SILVER-ARROW, Small Bot, SmartCat, Time_Machine, unknownartist01, vamshi.chikka, venki.bala, vivek_saha1304, VSRK, vzvish91, where_to_next |
|
![]() | #2 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2010 Location: Chennai
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Congratulations on your XL6, it is a very good car which does many things well and you have chosen a very nice colour too. I was seriously considering this over the Kia Carens and even booked it. But, at the end, I went for the Kia Carens 7 seater Luxury version for 2L plus over XL6 as somehow I liked it better on most fronts and I wanted the middle row 60:40 split for reasons. Enjoy your car and sure it will serve you very well. Swami |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank swami69 for this useful post: | DDISclatters, digitalnirvana, Geo_Ipe, InControl, UMXR |
![]() | #3 | |
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Quote:
I am happy to see that Kia has ironed out all the niggles which put me off during the initial launch. The variant you got, I think sits somewhere between Crysta and XL6. XL6 can't really contend it and the interiors are quite eye-pleasing along with good powertrain options. Happy motoring! | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks DDISclatters for this useful post: | swami69 |
![]() | #4 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2022 Location: Navi Mumbai
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 We were also contemplating getting the xl6 as the ertiga was boring, but i did not like the third row which felt cramped and add to that the dark interiors made it even more claustrophobic. The carens turbo imt was stretching our budget and we felt it was decent after a test drive so we instead went with the na engine mated to the 6 speed mt. Power is adequate and the car never feels underpowered even with load, add to that the third row is quite useable! |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks UMXR for this useful post: | Redline6800 |
![]() | #5 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: New Delhi
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Quote:
Congratulations on a very articulate review of the XL6. I have the same colour, dealer and SVC so can totally relate to all that you have brought out. ![]() You have highlighted quite a few features that I was not even aware of ![]() 1. How do you activate the navigation directions on the instrument console? I have never noticed this feature. I have the Alpha AT variant. 2. How do you switch on/ off the traction control? 3. I have the same issues with the steering silver garnish. May i know how and where did you raise the complaint for the warranty and how much time did it take for resolution? Thanks in advance | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #6 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2020 Location: Delhi
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank buntee90 for this useful post: | DDISclatters, digitalnirvana, handsofsteel, Time_Machine |
![]() | #7 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: New Delhi
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6
Thanks a lot for this. I use the Apple Carplay, hence was wondering. Last edited by Gannu_1 : 18th October 2023 at 12:04. Reason: Capitalising. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2022 Location: Kolkata
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 I like XL6, the exterior appealed me always. Maruti has done a good job on the facelift version. The interior too is not bad with most of the tech in it. Now a days most people want the gizmos over safety so these companies Maruti and Hyundai cater to the demand that's why they top the sales chart. Quality, fit and finish in Maruti is always bad compared to Hyundai. I rejected Maruti CelerioX instantly after seeing the interior of my Hyundai Santro 3rd generation, they are poles apart. Use wired Apple Car Play/Android Auto to avoid battery drain. Very well written got to know much about XL6. Thanks. ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Toni for this useful post: | DDISclatters |
![]() | #9 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Noida
Maruti Suzuki's reliability is to India what Toyota's is to the world. You just can't go wrong with a Maruti Suzuki product. I commend you for making a wise decision in terms of making this purchase. As far as hill driving is concerned. This being a TC and you have the benefit of playing with the paddle shifter's. I would say , follow this rule of thumb in hill driving: Stick to 2nd gear and upshift once rpm crosses 4000, use the 2nd gear spread adequately. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank ritedhawan for this useful post: | DDISclatters, Time_Machine, xsrahul |
![]() | #10 |
Newbie Join Date: Sep 2023 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 I myself am in the market for a 7-seater now. I too considered and test drove Creta/Seltos/Taigun/Kushaq/Maruti GV and realized that they offered the same space as my current Baleno. While these cars are better than my current Baleno in most respects, it somehow did not seem sensible to me to spend all this money and not get extra space. Then the use case of a 7-seater occurred to me - even if 90% of my usage will be with 2-3 occupants, it made sense to go for a bigger car for the 10%. My budget is around 17 lac and so is not a constraint for the mid variants for most of these cars, including some of the 7-seaters like XL6 and Carens. If the package too is premium, then it would feel like a proper upgrade in every department. I however am tilting more towards the Carens on paper although I have not taken any test drives just yet of cars in the 7-seater segment. I love the way the current Innova feels as a passenger although haven't driven it yet. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #11 | |||||
Even the NA engine in Carens develops adequate power so good choice and congratulations! Quote:
1) First up, you've to make sure Intersection Guidance is turned on in the MID menu(long press the right stalk). Then, simply put up a map using Android Auto and directions should come up on MID. Make sure your HU's software is on the latest version. This update brought in Intersection Guidance, Wireless AA/Carplay and the Arkamys sound update. 2) Simply press the button with the skidding car for around 3 seconds until you see the same light on the instrument cluster. When the light is on, the TC/ESC system is off. ![]() 3) So I raised this during the 3rd service a week back. Since we share the same SVC, My SA was Shanif and while the part was Out of stock, the claim was processed and the part was ordered. The same has been mentioned on Job Card. I just need to follow up and get the wheel fitted. If Shanif is not available, you can look for Piyush. Both of these guys are really good at their job. Quote:
I just appreciate the seamless connectivity of wireless AA and instead, put my phone on the charger. Maybe not the best for battery health but you have to sacrifice something. Quote:
You definitely should skip any sub 4m Csuv as they won't really make you feel kike much of an upgrade in terms of overall package. I find Creta to stand out better than all SUVs listed above in terms of space. Another option is Honda Elevate. I would definitely recommend test driving both, XL6 & Carens. I understand your inclination towards Carens and it even offers an extra seat over XL6. | |||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank DDISclatters for this useful post: | bettertwitter, peyyala |
|
![]() | #12 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2022 Location: Mumbai
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Really nice write up! I have an Innova and even though I really like the XL6, two factors never helped me take the plunge!:- 1) Size Innova Seems much bigger on the outside, although, its not quite different inside. But I feel it would be a downgrade for me 2) Power The petrol engine is not the most highway friendly. Its weird where Suzukii is going with engine options! See the Jimny! I wonder what the real world efficiency is like on these? |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks suryaj1990 for this useful post: | DDISclatters |
![]() | #13 |
Newbie Join Date: Aug 2023 Location: Noida
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Wow. Excellent Review of one of my favorite cars XL6. You surely have brought out the detailed insights into this ownership review. Please continue with your timely updates on this thread as to how the car holds up in mid to long term. My only reason for not going for XL6 is bench middle row, as we are a family of five. That necessarily means that one of us always has to sit in the last row. Hence contemplating between Kia Carens (Eagerly waiting for the facelift version) or Innova Hycross. Have driven both Kia Carens and Hycross. Both the cars offer excellent comfort. Hybrid system of Hycross definitely scores much higher in performance and reliability than Carens. Hence the mind is really tossed up between the two. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks loki_marvel for this useful post: | DDISclatters |
![]() | #14 |
|
I completely agree with you and Innova is in a league of it's own. As I mentioned in my review above, there's always an itch whenever I see a Crysta. Just love that car and I am happy you listened to your heart. Thank you sir! I'll sure keep the thread updated and there are quite a few things I now realise that I have missed touching upon in my original post. Kia Carens is far from a facelift as the current iteration is selling like hot cakes and Kia Sonet is on the deck first up for update. Carens hybrid system is limited to auto start/stop and does not extend to assisting the engine as far as I know. Second, had I had a larger wallet, I would have had a ZX Auto Crysta in my garage. If you don't have financial constraints, I definitely suggest going for Hycross. Beyond the extra space, commanding road presence, bulletproof reliability and a healthy average, you get a vehicle that you can keep for long. I foresee govt. Implying further restrictions on pure ICE vehicles in future. Hybrids will have an upper hand when that happens. So for a few extra lakhs, you get a car that will save you quite a lot on fuel costs and stick longer with you. Last but not the least, I believe it will score a good NCAP score. Toyota hasn't so far comprised on platforms for India and I hope they stay the same with this generation. In case you go for the top variant, you ensure the car is future proof with ADAS on offer. Happy motoring! Last edited by Zappo : 22nd October 2023 at 00:37. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks DDISclatters for this useful post: | loki_marvel |
![]() | #15 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2014 Location: NCR/Turin
| Re: 1 year ownership review of my Maruti-Suzuki XL6 | Tale of switching from an Ertiga to the XL6 Hi, what sort of fuel efficiency are you getting in Delhi traffic? A cousin wants to buy it over the Elevate for the sole reason being that since it's a Maruti, it will sip fuel. I have my reservations about that with the TC. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Doge for this useful post: | DDISclatters |
![]() |