Old 2nd May 2024, 14:28   #16

Re: Maruti-Suzuki Ignis: The best a man can get!

My experience with Ignis has been somewhat same.

The best thing I like about this car is the manual transmission:

1. The gearbox is perhaps the best gearbox < 10 lacs. The clutch is well weighted, the gear throws are short and very preciese and take close to no effort.

2. The push from the engine when revvs increase > 2000 rpm is addictive. Its almost EV like instant accelaration from that point on.

And ofcourse the other positives like ground clearance, the interior space (surprising amount of legroom for a car of this dimensions), the chuckable out dimensions of the car mean getting in and out of traffic is a breeze.

A very underrated car. With the non-Dualjet K12M under the hood, it has the soul of the original Swift inside it, while the body of a practical city commuter.
DCEite is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 14:36   #17

As others have pointed out, what matters most is that you genuinely enjoy and feel a connection with the car, especially every time you drive it. It's evident that you have a deep appreciation for it. The car looks absolutely stunning—I've always had a soft spot for this model. Perhaps considering the automatic variant could enhance your driving comfort even further.
Old 2nd May 2024, 19:14   #18

Originally Posted by omranga98 View Post

While the lower side of dash and door panels which are white in colour have a stingray skin pattern embossed.
Loved your satirical writing style.

I love the Ignis as a city car, my extended family has one and it's very agile and peppy but your attention to details and take on the car made me look at the car in a new light.
jkaushik is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 19:46   #19

Great post omranga98!

I echo all your sentiments for the Ignis, especially since I too bought one recently. In fact just today the car crossed the 17k km odo mark in 6 months. Mine is the Zeta AMT variant.
blackwasp is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 20:50   #20

Congratulations on the Ignis and completing two years with it! Though it isn’t great amount of driving for two years, I see it’s probably a city beater and you probably don’t do many highway drives, so it is quite substantial.

Observation, there should be 6 airbags or more regardless of the price, perhaps in every car made. But we don’t like paying for them, so we choose to make safety a ‘feature’. Taigun has one rear parking sensor less, but many stars more. Unfortunately Ignis is a NCAP 1-star rated car, yet you traded your Polo for this. See what we tend to choose. YOLO isn’t true, YODO is more like it.

And that design in the bonnet does not look like a hood-scoop. These days when we tune or turbo-charge our cars, we have efficient intakes and intercoolers so we don’t have to cut open the bonnet for air-flow. But if you say the Ignis can wade 1.5ft high water, you may consider a snorkel for the it, because the stock intake may be placed much lower than that.

Like many said here, you do seem to love your car but the comparisons seem a little overboard and it would have been great if we heard some real life experiences with the car.
HighRevving is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 22:10   #21

Nice way to put down words on something after honeymoon period is over. May be that's the time we actually start loving after knowing GOODs and BADs.

Happy riding for more years.
Old 3rd May 2024, 09:46   #22

Originally Posted by omranga98 View Post

I plan to mod the engine in the future, maybe add a turbocharger to it. The car comes with provision for heat escape vent on the side, which is currently fixed with a blank grill. It could be useful when i mod

Regards.
As another Ignis owner, it is great to see so much enthusiasm for this car. It has good mod potential and you will enjoy doing it up when you actually decide to. A little lower, with closer ratios, better tires, engine revving little free and the car will come alive.
megazoid is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2024, 12:13   #23

Ignis is one of the best car available in the today's costly car market. I was in same boat last year and after considering many cars, I finally got Ignis Zeta AGS in same color (Glistering grey). I am really very happy with the purchase. Ignis is one car which is very underrated. It does many things well over others and provide you best value for money for sure. Ignis is very easy for city drive and feels very planted. Highway manners are surprisingly very good for a car of its size, handling is just perfect and tight.

My purchasing price was only 7.92 Lakhs OTR in Pune for Zeta Automatic including exchange bonus. This price includes extended warranty as well for 5 years. Plus I got 10 K accessories free from dealer. I think in current scenario this is the best deal one can get. Points I like about Ignis -

1. 1.2 Liter 4 cylinder K series engine is a gem. It's easily the best in the market.
2. It gives very good average, superior engine compared to other manufacturer's. Proper 4 cylinder engine with great NVH.
3. Good ground clearance - 180 mm is more than sufficient in most of the cases.
4. Good features for the price you pay. Zeta variant has true Keyless entry (2 remote keys), Black sporty alloy wheels, Spoiler, functional Roof rails, Infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple Car play with 6 speakers, Steering mounted controls, Electrically operated adjustable and foldable mirrors, fog lamps, rear wiper with washer too & few more. Nobody is offering all these features within 8 lakhs OTR (Currently good discounts are going on)
5. Funky SUV type styling, I quite like it. This has unique design and easily standout.
6. Not very common on roads, you get uniqueness. It don't carry budget car badge for sure like Alto, Wagon R, Celerio, Tiago, etc.
7. Suspension is little stiff but not bad at all.
8. Good space inside. One will get surprised seeing space it offers inside. Boot space is also very good at 260 Liters.
9. AMT is nice, less jerky. Its slow to start but gain pick up soon.
10. On highways, AMT is surprisingly fast.

Overall I am very happy and satisfied with what I got for the price. I can say this is a pocket rocket for people having tight budget. Also Maruti gives you best A.S.S. and peace of mind which is very important.
aniketi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2024, 12:25   #24

Congratulations on your new(ish) ride and I wish you many more years and miles of happiness.

Is it SUV?
People joke about how Ignis is not an SUV and a hatchback.
I don't think that they are joking.

But if you remember, Maruti Suzuki had their first AD stating that Ignis was an SUV. So what is it? it is complicated.
Au contraire, it is not that complicated. It is quite simple - It is a hatchback. The manufacturer can call it a space shuttle, but that doesn't make it so.

Just that it is does not have 4x4 or is not big in size.
And there it is. While most will grant you that there isn't any official definition of an SUV and that manufacturers tend to play a bit fast and loose by calling anything with a few mm more ride height an SUV, let us not do that in an enthusiast forum. As the saying goes, "I know it when I see it" and I don't consider the Ignis to be an SUV, but again, to each his/her own.

Enjoy your ownership and please do keep us posted on the Turbo upgrades and how the heat escape vents helped with the turbo install and overall performance gains.

Last edited by GTO : 5th May 2024 at 08:02. Reason: 3rd para wasn't needed - thanks
jfk1975 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 4th May 2024, 17:43   #25

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
It is neither an Adidas logo nor a secret design.

The 3 cuts have been carried forward from the 1980 Suzuki SS 20 Cervo.

Attachment 2601669

The Ignis was Suzuki’s rally car and to continue with the original pedigree Suzuki has given it good handling and made it a fun car.
Just adding onto what AMG Power mentioned above by quoting from @Vivekji05 and @JayD's youtube channel Talking cars, "The styling is inspired from 1970's Whizzkid SC100, and the three stripes is called suzuki progressive triad, taking from the same car,".

Also find an image from the page: The Indian Car Scene->The Maruti-Suzuki Ignis: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attac...ki-ignis-2.jpg
Old 6th May 2024, 01:43   #26

This is wonderful!

I also have a 2 years old Ignis, and I too moved from a Polo. That's quite a bit of similarities.
I have crossed 40k kms in mine, and I am someone who does hoon a bit, yet the mileage has never gone below 13 in the city.

Will be updating my thread soon.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...udio-more.html (My 2022 Maruti Ignis | Stiffer suspension, OZ racing wheels, Sundown audio & more)
Old 6th May 2024, 21:12   #27

Originally Posted by DDIS_RE650 View Post
It is one of my favorite hatch back. I am looking for an used one so that Chevy Spark can be retired.
Vishy76 did the same. His trusted (a bit rusted) Spark was replaced by a shiny new pearl white beautiful Ignis Zeta! He is equally happy with this decision!

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
My favourite small car today (after Swift) as a city runabout which can also be used for highway runs
I agree!
We got Ignis a week before our Taigun got delivered. As the delivery date got closer and as our Polo died, Ignis made complete sense as a daily and that is what it became. While Taigun became a good weekend car.

Originally Posted by Fuldagap View Post
Ignis is a pretty fun to drive car and can take on even bad roads with ease. Wish it also came with some simple 4x4 mechanism.
Yes, in the global market, Ignis indeed comes with an AllGrip variant, not in India though. But personally have never felt the car lacking.

Originally Posted by Maverick Avi View Post
One of the reasons you are in love with Ignis is the reliability coming from not so good experience of Polo.

How is the steering. Is it still the lifeless, non self centring unit that used to come in Ignis and Wagon R?
Being a Bhpian, i was mentally prepared about what i was getting into when i got the Polo. It was similar to getting into a relationship with that hot girl from your college that just shouts red flag but you do it anyway because, well. So i disagree that my love for Ignis comes from there. Ignis is a pretty good car in general, good to drive, very capable for the price and again, easy to live with is just an added bonus.

The steering is dynamic LOL! Self centering works 95% of the times but 5% of the times it just goes like a BLUB. If you ask me, it makes it feel more life like with mood changes haha!

Originally Posted by chiekennugget View Post
I love cars like the Ignis, Santro, 2009 i10, Exter. Something about them pulls me towards them. I find them to be incredibly adorable. They make me feel the same way a small baby or a dog puppy do.
This segment has a lot of quirky cars in other countries too and my all time favourite has to be the 1993 Renault twingo.
I think we both have a thing for quirky cars then. Hi5!

Originally Posted by shebin View Post
My experience with ignis from the past 6 years has been fantastic. Changed the tyres and its doing highway runs comfortably. K series is really fun to drive provided you rev it up. Mileage is hovering around 15 to 16 avg. Also changed the ICE to a bigger one and the dashboard looks premium. Was considering upgrading to Fronx but the price of turbo AT was above budget.
Glad to hear you are enjoying Ignis as much as i am doing! 6 years and still feels fanastic speaks a lot about the car! I am currently happy with my 2 speaker set up and crappy stock tyres because they loose traction very easily which gives me a feeling that Ignis is a really powerful car (which it is anyway).

Originally Posted by Dhillon View Post
I have been driving Ignis Delta from last 4.5 years and I have exactly those skills that helps me in getting a fuel efficiency of 11.2 kmpl in summer with AC in city.
FBI, we found him!

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
It is neither an Adidas logo nor a secret design.
Well, if you say so.

Originally Posted by silverado View Post
What is immediately evident when you read your thread is that you LOVE YOUR CAR very very much. This is what is the most important takeaway from your thread and for me this is what matters the most.
Your post made me smile! Glad to see this respect. Cheers!

Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
Ignis is a good car, but overpriced I think. Top variants overlap with micro SUVs like Punch and Exter, and even some 4m SUVs like the new 3XO.
None of them got what Ignis has. A true SUV pedigree.

Originally Posted by samarthnarayan View Post
Long but Great review. Appreciate.
Personally, I love everything about the Ignis except the skinny tyres and the AMT gearbox. I think if Maruti can fix those two, it will make Ignis the best city car without a shadow of doubt.
Glad you liked my write up, thanks! Yes, i plan to upgrade my Ignis tyres to a more capable A/T tyres once the stock one dies. Regarding the gearbox, i have MT and i am okay with it. Sure, Maruti should pay more attention to Ignis and upgrade the line up with a better gearbox.

Originally Posted by sanjeevs View Post
Great write up! It would be interesting to know about the car's highway manners, upper speed limits, body roll on a winding road etc. This information will help one make the buying decisions especially with reference to short and long highway runs since it is already well known for its city usage.
Glad you liked the write up!

I have done a couple of highway runs, not too long but about 250-300 kms.
The car is relatively planted for a tall car, the stiff suspension and the dynamics inspire confidence upto 100-110. Anything beyond that gets a bit unnerving. One interesting thing i have noticed about Ignis is that, because the wheels are push to the edges of the car, upon hard braking at higher speeds, the rear wheels feel like they have lost most of their grip with the weight shifting forward. This sort of feels like the car is fish tailing. I have experienced this once and was not fun! So try it out, generally i feel it is a decent car for the highway runs but it has its limits. Fuel economy on the highway was upwards of 18kmpl.

Originally Posted by raptor_diwan View Post
As others have pointed out, what matters most is that you genuinely enjoy and feel a connection with the car, especially every time you drive it.
Thanks for your kind words!

Originally Posted by jkaushik View Post
Loved your satirical writing style.

I love the Ignis as a city car, my extended family has one and it's very agile and peppy but your attention to details and take on the car made me look at the car in a new light.
Finally someone who gets it haha. I had so much more to post about the car, perhaps in the near future.

Jokes aside, it is a good value for money car. Sure the safety rating is trash but it does the rest of it very well!

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
Great post omranga98!

I echo all your sentiments for the Ignis, especially since I too bought one recently. In fact just today the car crossed the 17k km odo mark in 6 months. Mine is the Zeta AMT variant.
Thanks a lot. Glad you like the post. Hey fellow Ignis owner! You seem to drive 4x of what i do! pretty cool! Happy kms ahead!

Originally Posted by HighRevving View Post
Observation, there should be 6 airbags or more regardless of the price, perhaps in every car made. But we don’t like paying for them, so we choose to make safety a ‘feature’. Taigun has one rear parking sensor less, but many stars more. Unfortunately Ignis is a NCAP 1-star rated car, yet you traded your Polo for this. See what we tend to choose. YOLO isn’t true, YODO is more like it.

And that design in the bonnet does not look like a hood-scoop. These days when we tune or turbo-charge our cars, we have efficient intakes and intercoolers so we don’t have to cut open the bonnet for air-flow. But if you say the Ignis can wade 1.5ft high water, you may consider a snorkel for the it, because the stock intake may be placed much lower than that.
The fun part about Ignis is, it does not compensate with features by not giving additional 4 airbags haha. What it does give is a briliant and reliable car to drive. My other car happens to be a Taigun and both the cars are driven equally, so if you look at the average star rating that i get when i drive is a solid 3 star. Which is a win in my books.

I traded my Polo because of not YOLO or YODO but because PIATC (Polo Is A Trash Car).

I understand what you mean about the hoodscoop, but have you noticed how a hell cat has a fake headlight that actually has an intake, that is exactly what my Ignis will have in the future via the side ducts. I do not need a snorkel but that is a good idea. Maybe one day if i ever encounter 1.6 ft of water, i might consider haha.

Cheers mate!

Originally Posted by Mrs&Mr_Shenu View Post
Nice way to put down words on something after honeymoon period is over. May be that's the time we actually start loving after knowing GOODs and BADs.

Happy riding for more years.
Glad you like the write up! Thanks for reading.

Originally Posted by megazoid View Post
As another Ignis owner, it is great to see so much enthusiasm for this car. It has good mod potential and you will enjoy doing it up when you actually decide to. A little lower, with closer ratios, better tires, engine revving little free and the car will come alive.
Hello fellow Ignis owner. I am glad that it is bringing all of us together on this thread. I agree to what you are saying! Maybe down the line, we can do some mods to achieve these.

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Ignis is one of the best car available in the today's costly car market.
Your post just reeks of facts! Great write up, thanks for taking the time out and sharing with us! Happy kms ahead!

Originally Posted by jfk1975 View Post
I don't think that they are joking.
No, i think they are joking.

Originally Posted by Intelsingh View Post
This is wonderful!

I also have a 2 years old Ignis, and I too moved from a Polo. That's quite a bit of similarities.

Will be updating my thread soon.
Hi fellow Ignis owner! Wow, we do have a lot of similarities! Looking forward to your post! Happy kms ahead!
omranga98 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 22:56   #28

Welcome to the Ignis club and a good write up about a lovely city car that is also quite capable for highways runs as well. I have a Ignis Alpha AMT for the last 3 years with 38K kms on the ODO and loving it. I drive a lot over bad roads and the car handles them with aplomb. Ride quality is a bit bad for the rear passengers on bad road but the car can take abuse.

The first thing I did was to upgrade the tyres to Continental UC6 195/60 R15. Two things improved i.e. the steering return action (still not 100%) and the car feels planted at higher speeds. Not sure if ignis has a different gearbox than the swift with the same engine. The shorter gearing helps with mileage in the city but affects the mileage a bit when driven at higher speeds as the engine spins at higher RPM at 100+ speeds. I drive in manual mode on 2 lane highways but the slow shifting AMT unit is a downer. Wish to drive an MT on a trip to see how the car behaves.

I also upgraded the speakers to Alpine components and it made a huge difference since the stock Harman cordon headset on the Alpha is pretty decent. I also damped the doors, painted the chasis with 3M protective paint (5 year warranty) and the car is much more silent inside.
Sridhar K is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 10:49   #29

Ignis is indeed a great car in the Suzuki India stable. I wish they sold it with ALLGRIP in India (wishful thinking!).

IMHO, it is a great successor to the Ritz which was discontinued a few years ago. Like the Ritz, Ignis has a well put together cabin, easy ingress/egress, absolute gem of a 1.2 liter NA engine which is smooth sans any vibrations, and great ground clearance as well. And much like the Ritz, it is overshadowed by its siblings. But those who have owned and driven a Ritz and an Ignis at length, will vouch for its versatility.

Wishing you many many more miles of smiles with the Ignis.
Wageabond is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2024, 14:52   #30

As my Ignis turned 2 years a few days back, a very close friend/mentor who was a bhpian once (his account got banned because of some confusion) suggested that i should give my car a name.

I wondered, why not?

We humans have given name to stars and galaxies which are far out of our reach and here is my Ignis, located in Kolkata, which is relatively accessible.

Giving names to things you love adds a bit of flair to the whole situation. It makes you more connected to it, it is like adding a persona. A lot of bhpians name their rides so i have now decided to name my Ignis too.

So what is it called?

Behold: THE BEAST OF KOLKATA.

Maruti-Suzuki Ignis: The best a man can get!-photoroom_20240507_144700.jpg

As some of you must have guessed it, it is a name inspired by the Beast of Turin (see the picture below).

I feel this name suits the car perfectly as it punches above the belt and is a complete beast at fuel economy, reliability and driving dynamics.

Maruti-Suzuki Ignis: The best a man can get!-beast-turin.jpg

omranga98 is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com