Old 7th May 2024, 15:00   #31

Re: Maruti-Suzuki Ignis: The best a man can get!

Would anyone know of a Diesel AMT on sale in your circles/contacts ?
Old 24th June 2024, 06:42   #32

Between the Swift 2024 AGS and Ignis Alpha AGS, which one would be better, purely for city usage? It looks like the Swift will give better mileage and has 4 extra airbags, but the Ignis has a smaller footprint for city convenience. The only thing I did not like is the tendency of the car to "jump" over speed breakers even at slow speeds (<20kph). Can become uncomfortable for elderly rear passengers I think.
Old 30th June 2024, 09:34   #33

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post
The only thing I did not like is the tendency of the car to "jump" over speed breakers even at slow speeds (<20kph). Can become uncomfortable for elderly rear passengers I think.
This is because of two reasons:

a) The rear suspension is springy and slightly stiff. The rebound is pretty strong. This makes the rear typically bouncy.

b) The rear wheels are stretched out to the edges of the car. Maybe this also adds a bit to the driving dynamics.

How i deal with this is, i go even slower than 20kmph on certain bumps, down to almost crawl speeds. For me, the comfort of the passengers is very important, so it does not bother me.

New Swift has its pros but Ignis wins in so many places more.
omranga98 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th June 2024, 10:22   #34

Originally Posted by omranga98 View Post

a) The rear suspension is springy and slightly stiff. The rebound is pretty strong. This makes the rear typically bouncy.

b) The rear wheels are stretched out to the edges of the car. Maybe this also adds a bit to the driving dynamics.

How i deal with this is, i go even slower than 20kmph on certain bumps, down to almost crawl speeds. For me, the comfort of the passengers is very important, so it does not bother me.

The one thing I liked about Ignis is its overall compact nature which should ideally help it in parking spots (even a tad better than my Tiago). Also, for some reason I liked the AMT on the Ignis more than say, the Hyundai AMT. That one has a very tall 1st gear and refuses to upshift even on a level road beyond 10kph. Ignis felt more intuitive somehow. I havent tried the 2024 Swift AMT because they dont have one for test drives (across Pune it seems). I test drove the 3rd gen Swift AGS and that seemed ok to me.
fhdowntheline is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th June 2024, 23:19   #35

I would beg to differ here. The springs are the issue, just the reverse of stiffness. Take a stock spring, and press it with your bare hands- you will feel them slack. Try this with another spring of some other car and you will realize the difference. Its this that makes the suspension go "thud" and bottom out.

To fix this, you need a stiffer spring.
Then the car becomes nimble in a way that makes it right up there in the handling department.
Intelsingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2024, 06:33   #36

Hi Omranga98,

That's a great summary of your experience with the "None of a kind". I recently purchased an IGNIS ZETA AMT after 2 years of Test driving cars from 5 lakhs INR(Altok10) to 30 Lakhs INR.(Xuv700). I don't know how many would agree with my next sentence-

Honestly, No other car satisfied me on the very first drive. I had "X" questions to ask and "Y" opinions to hear. I have never driven the IGNIS since its launch(2017). I even used to laugh at it when someone drove around looking at its rear and trolling the owners who purchased it. And look at me, I shamefully and Proudly Purchased a Brand new IGNIS ZETA AMT and I did 15,000 km in 4 months. Yes, I can't park it idle for a day and it's that addictive. It successfully killed my Batteries Duke 390, Activa and my City as well.

Waiting to post my full story sooner. Cheers BHPians.

Last edited by Turbanator : 1st July 2024 at 07:17. Reason: Please proofread before posting. Grammar, spelling.
ezhil0707 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 1st July 2024, 14:39   #37

Originally Posted by Intelsingh View Post
To fix this, you need a stiffer spring.
Then the car becomes nimble in a way that makes it right up there in the handling department.
Maybe you are right about this!

I am no expert. I think the bouncy rear is the only short coming for a highly capable superior utility vehicle (SUV) like Ignis.
Old 3rd July 2024, 00:53   #38

Maybe you are right about this!

I am no expert. I think the bouncy rear is the only short coming for a highly capable superior utility vehicle (SUV) like Ignis.
Refer to the discussion ARC gives on Youtube. I was fortunate enough to find a suitable replacement for the springs, then again- It was a result of lot of trials and errors.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...udio-more.html (My 2022 Maruti Ignis | Stiffer suspension, OZ racing wheels, Sundown audio & more)

That is my journey till a few months back, where I have also mentioned about the springs.
Old 17th July 2024, 12:58   #39

I am still infuriated with Maruti on the step-motherly treatment Ignis is getting in terms of its engine. While everyone, even the WagonR, gets K12N with Dual-jet & Dual VTVT, Ignis is still stuck on K12M. And now, with onset of Z series, K12N seems off charts for the Ignis. BSVI has already mellowed down the peppiness, atleast Ignis deserves some compensation.
WHY MS, WHY !?
TheVDR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 13:11   #40

Originally Posted by TheVDR View Post
I am still infuriated with Maruti on the step-motherly treatment Ignis is getting in terms of its engine. While everyone, even the WagonR, gets K12N with Dual-jet & Dual VTVT, Ignis is still stuck on K12M. And now, with onset of Z series, K12N seems off charts for the Ignis. BSVI has already mellowed down the peppiness, atleast Ignis deserves some compensation.
WHY MS, WHY !?
I for one, don't want Maruti to upgrade K12M to dual-jet or Z series on the Ignis.

I have driven dual-jet Swift, Baleno and the difference in performance, specially the mid-range, is quite apparent between Ignis' single Jet and Baleno's Dual-jet. Whereas the Ignis feels like a rocket past 2000 rpm, the Baleno is more mellowed down.

To me, the soul of the original Swift is still preserved somewhat in the Ignis. I am happy if Maruti don't "upgrade" to dual-Jet or 3 cylinder Z series on the Ignis.

Keep it as it is and have some exclusivity

But yes, more safety features including 6 airbags will be welcome.

Last edited by DCEite : 17th July 2024 at 13:13.
DCEite is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 13:26   #41

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I have driven dual-jet Swift, Baleno and the difference in performance, specially the mid-range, is quite apparent between Ignis' single Jet and Baleno's Dual-jet. Whereas the Ignis feels like a rocket past 2000 rpm, the Baleno is more mellowed down.
I think there are a lot of engine tuning differences too, which may account for the performance difference. Also, Ignis' low end has always felt slightly more aggressive to me when compared to a Baleno and a Swift.

To me, the soul of the original Swift is still preserved somewhat in the Ignis.
I used to imagine how good will an Ignis DDiS be in current times! Sad that MS, in general, have discontinued Diesels all together

I am happy if Maruti don't "upgrade" to dual-Jet or 3 cylinder Z series on the Ignis.

Keep it as it is and have some exclusivity
I sometimes wonder if Ignis is seeing an end of life cycle. No talks, no rumours, no spoilers, no test / spy shots, nothing! I hope not!

But yes, more safety features including 6 airbags will be welcome.
High time Government mandates 6 airbags and ESP/ESC as standard. Baseline is expensive anyway. A 50,000/- more will not hurt much.

Last edited by TheVDR : 17th July 2024 at 13:29. Reason: Slight modifications for contextual clarity
TheVDR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2024, 12:18   #42

Ok... just to add my perspective to this very interesting thread.

I moved to the Ignis Delta AMT from XUV 5OO. Background story being that I had to sell the latter once it was nearing 10 years in Delhi NCR (somewhere in 2021). The Ignis was, at that time, being used by my wife since 2017. We got the Kushaq for her and I got the Ignis (albeit at that time I thought it would be a stop-gap till the time I got another one).

My work involves mostly city driving in Delhi and every 2-3 months I have to go to the mountains - mostly alone - to HP and UK for work and occasional excursions / treks. So the driving is a mix of city driving, highways and a good share of mountain driving.

Well, frankly it has been a delight to drive the car, in-spite of having moved from a much bigger and powerful car. The following are the points I would like to highlight:

- Very high maneuverability in city. The compact size enables parking in tight spots, easy movement in all kinds of traffic. This was a big comfort over the previous car.

- The compact size also helps in mountain roads, especially narrow roads. When major roads are blocked during rains / landslides and you have to go through alternate routes, which can at best take 2 cars with some difficulty, this becomes a huge plus point.

- High power to weight ratio - with a 1.2l engine and only 850 odd kgs, this works in 2 ways i) overtaking and pushing in city traffic, especially in start-stop situations; ii) high incline or bad road conditions, especially in the mountains. Going to remote mountain villages, this is a boon. I have personally been able to get Ignis out of spots, where bigger cars aren't able to do so.

- Comfortable on Highways - If you are willing to swallow your ego, the car gives a very comfortable drive within the speed limits. 100 to 110 feels a breeze and never have I felt the engine to be complaining. In XUV, I used to drive at the same speed and hence have not felt anything missing.

- Good AMT sensor - In all three situations, the sensor works very well. On inclines, the car simply won't move to the 2nd gear below 3k rpm, hence there's no question of stalling; and the shifts are very intuitive as well.

- Mileage - Even including mountain stretches, an outstation trip easily gives close to 20 kmpl. I am a very conservative driver and maybe this helps as well. Highways is 22 at least, with reasonable cruising. City is close to 15-16.

- Low service costs and ease of repair - Maruti is one of the most reliable brands in the country and consequently, their ownership costs are low. Also, in case you get stuck somewhere, repair shops easily are able to at least get you to the next large town.

The only negative that I have found in the car is the suspension being stiff. The rear suspension of the car does take a toll on the rear of the driver as well. However, in such cases, one has to be slightly more aware of the road undulations.

So overall it has been a very good experience. I have taken the car to the Parvati valley in HP and till Munsiyari in UK, across some treacherous conditions, in snow as well as in rains. The car has performed very well in all these conditions

Hope this gives some fruitful insight. Personally, I now don't intend to change the car. Spent around 60-70k on service (fluid replacements), window rain strips and tyres last year and have felt a marked improvement in the driving. So hopefully the car goes on for the next few years as well.

Last edited by shekatkar31 : 17th September 2024 at 12:20.
shekatkar31 is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 19th September 2024, 14:18   #43

Post @intelsingh discovering that Ignis has a softer spring when most others thought that ignis has an harder shocks due to hard ride quality, I have installed ROGERS Rogerab TPU car cushion buffer inserts on the suspension springs for Rs 4400 + Rs 500 for installation. I am seeing a marginal improvement in ride quality but not sure if it is a placebo effect. The body roll has come down on bad roads, and so has the thuds on the joints on concrete roads. Have to take it on longer trip with loaded passengers to see the difference.
Sridhar K is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th September 2024, 17:01   #44

If you ever come to NCR, would give you a ride on my stiffer springs Ignis, the joy would be so apparent that we will actually ponder on making this mandatory for all Ignis Geeks.
Intelsingh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th September 2024, 11:03   #45

Originally Posted by Intelsingh View Post
If you ever come to NCR, would give you a ride on my stiffer springs Ignis, the joy would be so apparent that we will actually ponder on making this mandatory for all Ignis Geeks.
Where can one get this done, if you could kindly share?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com