Old 20th April 2004, 14:08   #1

hi guys
from past one 4 weeks we have been looking at various cars to buy another one, intially dad wanted to buy a small diesel car, then it shifted to midsize ones(dad *liked the optra 1.6 but too expensive to manitain *), and now to the luxury ones!
so in the last week we have seen the skoda octavia , the hyundai sonata s20 and the v6, the honda accord(both the versions), the hyundai elantra,and the toyota camry

as the accord had a pretty big waiting list *and no v6 for test drive, this was struck off * *(deliveries only from june!)

next was the *toyota camry, as it is tooo big for my sis to use
and no one liked it's shape(there is a close to 2 lac rs discount on it!!!!)

next to go was the hyundai elantra as the crdi version costs:rs 1228307 and the petol gls:rs 1125897 and again no deliveries till june!!

so finally in the fray were the skoda octavia diesel (elegance trim)rs:14,78,496 on road,
wasnt test driven coz dad and sis drove the car dozen times
sis didnt want it as no proper rear view, plus too commom,

the sonata s20 (approx 12l on road with the discount)
same as our gls, so didnt think much abt having the same two cars
but the stunner v6 was at 16.7 on road with a 60k discount
with the delivery in 10 days time!

today morning at abt 10 am, it was bought for the test drive
a dark blue colour, looking stunning!
the first half an hour was in checking out the car throughly
and comparing the differences with our sonata gls
there were a hell a lot of *minor differences *like the steering wheel trim, the *16 inch alloys, the air purifier system, electronic seats etc
then we(dad, me and sis) had taken it for a test drive(for those who know hyd, the test drive was on the open roads of kbr park, and the gallis of sr nagar)
a total of 11.5 kms was covered on smooth roads, very badly maintained gallis with lots of turns, two steep hillocks
dad felt a lack of intial pick up in the auto mode, but was easily manuverable in the gallis , there was no problem at all on the steep hillocks, the car felt pretty responsive, and was purring like hell, absoluletly erotic! in the gallis the auto box maintained at 1, when revved it went upto 2,
on the plain roads its went upto 3 and engine purring was like the sound you hear on the tv of a f1 car!!!!!!!!!
the tiptronic wasnt tried out as i had a little idea abt it, did nill and so did the sales person,
it was easily manuverable, the sales person clamied a mileage of 6 which is good comarping with our neighbours old honda city with gives him 7
the auto box was pretty responsive expect in 1(it has a lcd screen to show which gear it is in), the car had twin cd players, one in the boot , one inbuilt(with the kaanta laga song running!!)
overall it was liked by me , dad and my sis
only negative point was its a crowd puller!!!!

the servicing cost is just rs 1600, so it is pretty cheap for my dad to maintain
well guys since i dont have anything to compare it with, would like your comments
and dont mind abt this long post!
thx
aaditya
Old 20th April 2004, 14:20   #2

Hey aadix great report of the V6 . I'm really dont like Hyundai as a brand but they certainly have done their homework for India. And from your description it seems you had a good time. And I guess its good value considering the price. Personally i would have bought the V6 Accord but as you said the deliveries are late. Did you check out the non V6 Accord or are you keen on getting a V6 car. The Sonata V6 may be a good buy for you but just be sure on the company milaege claims as 6 kpl and the service costs. Maybe you could ask some other V6 owners and then make your decision.

Anyways all the best for your new car pal

Old 20th April 2004, 14:21   #3

ps: guys
when i say too expensive to maintan , means all the costs
servicing costs, spare parts costs, mileage, etc
thx
awaiting your opinions
Old 20th April 2004, 14:27   #4

hey thx dippy
i too was pretty keen on the accord, but it has a pretty long waiting list for the normall one to, the deliveries of the v6 will start from june only,

actually the sonata v6 thing happened by accident,
the servicing cost we are sure as i went to the service station and got a written estimate

anyways dad is keen on the v6

too bad the accord wasnt even there for the test drive
on the mileage front will find out, but i havent seen much v6 sonatas in hyd

thx again for your fast reply dippy
Old 20th April 2004, 16:35   #5

Aadix,

I dont know how much of a good choice the Hyundai Sonata V6 is, as it is an absolute depreciation disaster. After the initial enthusiasm in the marketplace, the demand for new Sonatas has completely died down and this reflects in the used car market also. You will get peanuts compared to the 16 lac new Sonata price tag when you sell the car a couple of years down the lane.

It is equipped with a V6, but an I-4 accord will leave it for dead. The Sonata v6 takes all of 11-odd seconds to hit a 100.

The ride quality at the rear is absolutely pathetic, as highlighted by all car-testers. There is excessive wallowing, and you get the feeling of being in a ship at the high seas. Three OverDrive testers threw up during a back seat stint, as also a Hyundai executive on the drive from Chiplun back to Bombay.

Since the suspension is set to an extremely soft mode, the less said about the handling...the better!!

Hyundai has equipped it with a very modern gear-box, but then got the gearing all wrong. It is too tall, and the car is constantly "searching" for the right gear within the city and on inclines. The poor gearing makes the Sonata V6 neither a scorcher on the go, nor a economizer in fuel consumption.

The main reason why people buy the Sonata is for its looks and the resultant crowd-puller attributes...but you have stated that as a negative point.

I really cant think of one reason, quick deliveries aside, why you should opt for the Sonata. Accords are available on immediate delivery, but for a premium of 20000 - 30000. It would still work out as a cheaper, faster and more luxurious alternative to the Sonata.

Go for the Honda, neither you nor your family will ever regret it!!

Old 20th April 2004, 18:08   #6

Sonata V6 and Accord V6??

hmm......ok here's how they stack up.

0-60kmph
SV6 - 4.91 secs
AV6 - 4.76 secs

0-100kmph
SV6 - 11.06 secs
AV6 - 9.58 secs

1/4 mile
SV6 - 17.78 secs
AV6 - 17.04 secs

Standing Km
SV6 - 32.70 secs
AV6 - 30.30 secs

Braking 80 - 0 kmph
SV6 - 31.27 m
AV6 - 24.83 m

100 - 0 kmph
SV6 - will post it as soon as i find it
AV6 - 40.73 m

Fuel Economy
City
SV6 - 6.1 kmpl
AV6 - 6.8 kmpl

Highway
SV6 - 9.8 kmpl
AV6 - 13.8 kmpl

Top Speed
SV6 - 206 kmph
AV6 - 216.18 kmph

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2004, 18:32   #7

hey gto
how much would we get if we sold it say abt a year from now???
or if we pick up a used car how much would it be?
another reason to go in for it was that we were happy with our existing sonata, so dad felt this also would be equally reliable and bullet proof

and abt the accord , we wanted to go in for that, being nhc customers, we though they would atlest give us priroity
but zit, no cars till june
apart from the accord what would you suggest???
we had seen a 2nd hand *e class merc but had differences over the price and few other reasons so left it at the last moment, after that this came up
Old 20th April 2004, 18:50   #8

aadix,

i 2nd gto. dont go for the sonata istead wait for the accord v6. it will be better in the long run and since u r looking at mercs , simply go and buy the c-class . if not a new one,a properly maintained low milage 2nd hand c-class shud be anything arnd 18-19 lacs.

Old 20th April 2004, 19:09   #9

hi normally crazy
we had seen c classes too, there are abt 10 c class belonging to mbil , for sale in hyd, all have same price tag of 20l, and have done abt 50k kms

plus the problem with the c class was the lack of rear spaec, my dad and and uncles are 6 foot plus and weigh over 120 kgs each, so we need to account the space too,,!

GUYS THE ALTERNATIVE NEED NOT BE IN THE SAME CLASS, IT CAN BE A SMALL CAR TO A BIG ONE NOT EXCEEDING 15/16L

thx for all the replies guys
Old 20th April 2004, 19:35   #10

Aadix,

You would really tend to lose a tremendous lot on the V6 Sonata, if you intend on selling it within a year or two.

The best I can suggest you is to pay a 20000 premium and go in for a brand new accord. But just for your info, there are plenty 2002/3 C'Classes available for between 15 - 18 lakhs with my contact at the Auto Hangar, Bombay. If you are interested PM me and I will give you his contact details.

Another viable option for you would be to go in for a used Honda Accord, the old shape. You could get one with hardly 15000km on board for 8 - 9.5 lakhs depending on the vintage, color and options. It will last you forever, is very very comfortable and your family will like the under-stated looks.

Take advantage of the tremendous D-segment depreciation and go in for a sparingly used automobile. You will save a packet and these cars are almost as good as new, with warranty backups et all.

Old 20th April 2004, 22:33   #11

hi gto/ hi guys
need your advice on this thing asap
today my dad has seen three vehicles
one is the toyota corolla, the dealer has offered the top of the line version for 10l on road
he is sending for the road test by day after tommorow

a 2002 honda accord automatic done 11k kms for 9 lacs non negotiable

a 2003 mh reg sonata v6 for 10l neg done 7k kms for 9.5 lacs (+1.5l for re reg+60k for insurance)

dad is still keen on the new one, but after telling what all that was posted inthis thread he is a bit miffed and confused
so would like to know your suggestion
also if there are any alternatives would like to know asap, the car should be prefebaly new as it would be my sis's first car and he will buy it in this week

ps: the c class we are not keen , for only one reason the leg space in the rear too less for my dad

thx for all your help guys
reaaly appericaite it!
Old 20th April 2004, 22:35   #12

ps: gto i gave negative points for the looks as most of the time my sis would be using it, so all the attention would lead to many headaches in this "mcp male" dominated hyd!!
other wise my dad enjoys the attention we get in our gls!
Old 20th April 2004, 23:58   #13

Hey aadix like GTO said getting a pre owned Accord is a good idea. They are extremely reilable and will last you a life time . Also its so called bland looks ( I think it looks great) wont really get the looks. Accoords are usually well maintained. Dont think of getting the V6 Sonata pre owned because it will depreciate further after you buy it. So think carefully before you go ahead..

My best bet.. A pre owned Honda Accord VTIL

Old 21st April 2004, 01:08   #14
v12

Ya even i feelk that the accord v6 will be anytime a better option, No doubt u r satisfied with ur existing Sonata. Thats where Hyundai excels in.

You were also askin abt what wud be the resale value of the car if u wud sell it after one year. By that i understand that you are not gonna keep the car for long. In that case the Sonata V6 is a no no. The new Sonata will be out in end 2004 - earl;y 2005. So the values of the SV6 will reduce drastically. Thats where the Accord V6 will be a better option. And if u planning to sell the car after a year, why buy a brand new one??

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]we had seen c classes too, there are abt 10 c class belonging to mbil , for sale in hyd, all have same price tag of 20l, and have done abt 50k kms
Thats too much for a 50K C Class.

You can also look at the earlier S or E Classes. A good one might cost u in the range of 15-20 lakhs.
Old 21st April 2004, 03:12   #15

yo man where the hell is the vectra..or have u decided aganist it favour.. u see the vextra is a beter choice. it costes as much as the accord.. ieman a bit cheaper infact with the doscounts offered. also its way ahead in its league an much moreadvanced and spacious than the C class.

i would go for the vectra infact my cousin has one and they r very happy with it. i am sure u r dad would love it...i also looks pretty advanced. and all those gizmos will keep u planted in the car for years together!!
by the way hyundais have a poor after sales... accords r better ..

als ocheck out the mondeo. but a new trim is expected later this year...

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com