Old 12th December 2007, 16:18   #46

If you're going to stretch your budget till 25L, then You've to seriously consider the Montero. Go for a TD while you check out the Pajero. You will come back in 2 minds for sure!
Old 12th December 2007, 16:35   #47

Speedzak,

Guess the Montero is way over 30 Lakhs,infact something around 35 L .Am not very sure on that.But Pajero is definitely available in the range of 20 L - 25L.
Old 12th December 2007, 17:25   #48

Hmm, I completely missed this thread because of my off-roading trip. First let me fix the thread title, there is no such thing as tuscon.

Since I was considering Tucson couple of months back, I can mention couple of things that I remember.

1) This is an extremely basic machine for that budget, it doesn't have automatic climate control or immobilizer. Probably the only such car in 10-20L range.

2) It misses the most important aspect of an off-roading SUV, no 4L mode. The 4H lock mode may not be of much use for off-roading. That puts it well behind Endy or Safari. But I have heard that it is very competent on regular bad roads.

3) It is a very rare vehicle, just sells 2-3 a month in the whole country. So spares could be a problem.

I understand you just need a soft-roader that can occasionally handle bad roads. So, off-roading abilities can be discounted. I think it will fit your needs, but you will be paying too much for too little. But we all do that in varying degrees being car lovers in India. Do check out the Pajero though.
Old 12th December 2007, 17:35   #49

Originally Posted by Raajiv View Post
Speedzak,

Guess the Montero is way over 30 Lakhs,infact something around 35 L .Am not very sure on that.But Pajero is definitely available in the range of 20 L - 25L.
Montero is 34 lacs ex showroom. Add road tax, registration, insurance to that.
Old 12th December 2007, 17:39   #50

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Hmm, I completely missed this thread because of my off-roading trip. First let me fix the thread title, there is no such thing as tuscon.
Heh-heh I was wondering what was taking you so long to get here
Old 12th December 2007, 17:42   #51

Gimme the older one!

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Montero is 34 lacs ex showroom. Add road tax, registration, insurance to that.
Yes! But if it's manageable, If, If, I repeat, If it's manageable, then that's an ultimate Offroader with truckloads of luxury thrown in.
But the older one was more VFM. Why did they increase the price of the newer one so much? Huh! Gimme the older one please!
Old 12th December 2007, 17:50   #52

i dont know much about the suvs.i had an opurtunity to drive a tucson.it was one from chennai hmp.had come to tvm for there road show W O W.it was a great handling suv.brilliant torque and pretty stable at high speeds too.i had never felt the size while driving in the city.it was a terrific car overall.

ram
Old 12th December 2007, 18:03   #53

My thoughts solely....hehe

Tuscon looks like a half breed in front of the Safari.Safari is like the pure african Elephant and the Tuscon like a Mountain Goat matted with a Hippo.

Last edited by JUDA : 12th December 2007 at 18:05.
Old 12th December 2007, 18:15   #54

wasnt the hyundai tucson discontinued..

IMHO Ford Endeavour vs Tata Safari performance comparo make more logical sense doesnt it ?

I feel Pajero would be anyday a better choice than both of these in terms of reliability and performance as well as engineering.

Last edited by Samurai : 12th December 2007 at 18:25. Reason: No need to encourage bad behavior
Old 12th December 2007, 18:24   #55

Originally Posted by JUDA View Post
Tuscon looks like a half breed in front of the Safari.Safari is like the pure african Elephant and the Tuscon like a Mountain Goat matted with a Hippo.
That may be your thoughts, but expressing it openly like this is extremely insulting to Tucson owners or the potential buyer who started this thread. At least spell it correctly. - Mod Team
Old 12th December 2007, 18:28   #56

Originally Posted by ram_hyundai View Post
i had never felt the size while driving in the city.it was a terrific car overall.
ram
You are spot on Ram, its a terrific car; you would not have felt the size because its nowhere as long, wide or tall as the other two - hence easy to maneuver within the city
Old 12th December 2007, 18:35   #57

I'm rating this thread 5stars. It has been an excellent read.

To complete the picture, we need to know about the TD report of the PAJERO too.
Old 12th December 2007, 19:27   #58

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post

I fully agree. And full marks to doc rippergeo!
Old 12th December 2007, 20:19   #59

Pajero td

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post

Here is one such thread on TD of Pajero http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...-euro-iii.html
Old 12th December 2007, 20:54   #60

Nooooooo! Thanks for the link Rahul.
But, I myself have done a bone breaking TD of the Pajero. So, Atul's TD doesn't matter much in this thread. We wanna see how Doc RipperG will be impressed with the Pajero TD.
Hope I got my point thru.