Old 18th December 2011, 22:00   #721

re: Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner

I am partial to the Classic's looks and the MT 4X4. The new one looks toned down. But the new one would have better ICE and HIDs. I hope they don't stop MT 4X4 production.
Old 18th December 2011, 22:25   #722

Originally Posted by nilanjanray View Post
I hope they don't stop MT 4X4 production.
Guess we will have 3 variants with the face-lifted version.

4x2 Manual - expected to be priced below the 4x4 manual
4x4 Manual - expected to be priced more or less at par with current price
4x2 Auto - expected to be priced close to the 4x4 manual.

There could be a price hike on all products from Toyota [just like other manufactures] which can be in the tune of 50-60K or upto a lac. So I guess the face-lifted models will come with a revised price based on the above point and NOT a separate face-lift hike. Again these are my assumptions on the price.

If Toyota decides to offer new features without much premium, I would be really happy.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 18th December 2011 at 22:27.
Old 19th December 2011, 13:05   #723

The Only 2 -ves of going in for the current version Fortuner if one does not want an AT would be 1) Infotainment System would be better in the newer one. 2) Resale value of current one will finally start to slide after holding it's own for a long long time.
Old 19th December 2011, 14:12   #724

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
The Only 2 -ves of going in for the current version Fortuner if one does not want an AT would be 1) Infotainment System would be better in the newer one. 2) Resale value of current one will finally start to slide after holding it's own for a long long time.
Don't think resales values of the two will be that much different after 5 years.

Look at the resale values of the old Pajeros, Prados etc. Still pretty high.
Old 19th December 2011, 14:17   #725

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
Have a look here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-m...-fortuner.html Its been discussed and polled in detail. Otherwise the refreshed look ain't bad either. Go for the current one for Classic looks and heavy discount (if possible).
Alas, no discounts available, though the wait time is negligible when compared to the plus 6 months wait.
Old 19th December 2011, 14:29   #726

Originally Posted by nilanjanray View Post
Don't think resales values of the two will be that much different after 5 years.

Look at the resale values of the old Pajeros, Prados etc. Still pretty high.
Actually the Fortuner has held resale value incredibly well due to (besides it being a quality reliable product) the demand for new ones and the limited numbers being put up for resale.

In case of the Pajero once the newer (2007) (SFX) (Wider Fender versions) came out the prices of the previous ones did drop a fair bit. Of course with the Prado being too too exclusive in India one cannot comment about that as it is purely a demand and supply scenario. Also compared to the Pajero there are a 4 times more Fortuners going on to the road and that will will contribute to resale prices.

Yes the resale price can be expected to remain good for the Fortuner but not as rigid as right now with the new look version out. So for someone looking at selling their fortuner this is possibly the best month.
ACM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2011, 12:12   #727

Originally Posted by redrage View Post
Planning to pick up the fortuner i.e current gen. Any advice on whether it would be worthwhile to wait for the new version?
P.S Interiors don't really care much. Test drove the present gen and found it ok.

Any other things i need to watch out?
Are new ones available easily? I thought that there is still three to four months waiting period.

Unless the new one comes with rear disk brakes, I do not think it is worth while waiting. All that the new one will have is cosmetic changes at a higher price.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2011, 12:33   #728

I have decided to go for the old model T-Fortuner.
I asked them for best offer they can give on a) Price discount , b) accessories
The latter they said they would give me Floor Mats (Fabric), Mud Guard, Sun Film, Car Cover, Muffler Cutter.
On cash discounts I had requested them since the new model is coming in they need to make an offer with a price cut to me. They claimed the new model would be 2 Lakhs INR more expensive (take this with a pinch of salt/cube of sugar ... etc). Existing models are still going strong with good number of bookings. So he said it would be difficult.

Anyways, will mostly finalize the deal this week. He says he can get the Super White less than 4 weeks time. So hopefully this should be good.

Last edited by redrage : 21st December 2011 at 12:34.
redrage is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2011, 13:40   #729

Originally Posted by redrage View Post
I have decided to go for the old model T-Fortuner.
I asked them for best offer they can give on a) Price discount , b) accessories
The latter they said they would give me Floor Mats (Fabric), Mud Guard, Sun Film, Car Cover, Muffler Cutter.
On cash discounts I had requested them since the new model is coming in they need to make an offer with a price cut to me. They claimed the new model would be 2 Lakhs INR more expensive (take this with a pinch of salt/cube of sugar ... etc). Existing models are still going strong with good number of bookings. So he said it would be difficult.

Anyways, will mostly finalize the deal this week. He says he can get the Super White less than 4 weeks time. So hopefully this should be good.
Keep us updated with the deal you are able to clinch finally.

May be further negotiate on Insurance and stuff.

With quiet a bit of negative vibes being generated on the XUV500 I may be in the market for the Fortuner soon since I dont want to go through the same pain I went through with my Scorpio.
Old 21st December 2011, 21:01   #730

Originally Posted by m_upreti View Post
Keep us updated with the deal you are able to clinch finally.

May be further negotiate on Insurance and stuff.

With quiet a bit of negative vibes being generated on the XUV500 I may be in the market for the Fortuner soon since I dont want to go through the same pain I went through with my Scorpio.

Rightly said. Getting insurance from outside will save quite a bit. The dealers quote a high amount for the insurance premium. The premium outside should cost significantly less.

Year end and the new model, should help in getting a minor/minimal negligible discount.
Old 21st January 2012, 13:25   #731

Can anyone please confirm about the Fortuner's 4X4 gears to be used in the following scenarios:

1. I think 4x4 HL gear is suited for the following video:

am i correct?

2. I think 4x4 LL gear is suited for the following video:

am i correct?

Old 5th March 2012, 11:25   #732

Guys
Completed 15000kms yesterday. That too after a yawning 24 months...Might be the slowest clocked Fortuner.
Saturday went to trivandrum and to my utter disbelief got an average of 16kmpl. ..

Name:  ForumRunner_20120305_112511.png
Views: 3453
Size:  247.5 KB

Last edited by dilipkumar7278 : 5th March 2012 at 11:46.
Old 1st June 2012, 18:27   #733

Came across this Classic Fortuner, highly "Chromified"

Was dumbfounded to see an array of aftermarket accessories this poor car has to endure:-

1. Star Trek inspired LED Tail Lights in Chrome (registration number plate area)
2. Chrome number plate (isn't that illegal?)
3. Rear Bumper Skirting
4. Tail Light wrap-around in Chrome
4. Chrome hood scoop
5. Chrome Fog Lamp cladding
6. Chrome grill
7. Head Light wrap-around in Chrome
8. Front Bumper Skirting
9. Door knobs in Chrome (no pics for that)
10. Turn lights on fenders - Chrome Wraps.

Did I miss anything..?

Sorry to say, but all that glitters is not "Gold".
Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner-imag08921.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner-imag08931.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner-imag08941.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner-imag08951.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Toyota Fortuner-imag08961.jpg  

Monaro CV8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2012, 15:04   #734

Originally Posted by Monaro CV8 View Post
Came across this Classic Fortuner, highly "Chromified"
Did I miss anything..?
Hi Monaro,
This 'Chromeputra' is missing a chrome cover for the rear wiper which I have seen on one or two of the Fortuners here in Mumbai. And that piece is the ultimate 'chromisery' as it is thick and chunky with some semi circular scraper like thing/shape on it to give it the ultimate Star Wars look...
If you are lucky you'll spot it someday.
Incidentally the snap put up by you truly must be the chromiest Fortuner I've seen.
Bravo !

Last edited by Guderian : 6th June 2012 at 15:06.
Old 6th June 2012, 16:07   #735

^^
Haa haa! Thats a nice way to put it HG!
I did read about that Chrome Rear wiper stalk on your thread.

BTW, have you seen the front grill guard on the New Fortuner?
The aftermarket ones are hideous and makes the cars look like 'barbie dolls' with spectacles..