Old 15th February 2010, 16:40   #1

Poor man's Ferrari's scaled down version finally mine - Cedia Sports

Well first of all the ferrari thing. An Evo is normally referred to as the poor man's Ferrari and hence i refer to the Cedia as a scaled down version of that.

Vehicle Details
Color : Red
Year : 2007 (July)
Mileage : 35,000

When the Cedia was launched in 2006 I like the car but wasn't floored by its looks. Once I became aware about its price I put it in the back rack of my brain and forgot it for a good long time.

Come 2009 and i start planning to upgrade from my Maruti 800. Star looking for cars in the rabge of 4-7 lakhs. All Hyundais ruled out immediately due to personal reasons (no offence meant to owners).

SX4 was a design hard to digest although overall good car but by no means a driver's delight. Fiat Linea and Punto were strong contenders but despite the fact that I was looking at overall package and not just engine they were stricken off the list once I drove them. Linea felt severely anaemic although the Punto was a lot better but with horrible plastic quality. But I would have to admit both are stunningly beautiful. Ford Fiesta was an amzing car to drive and i really enjoyed it but once I drove the car I own today i took everything else off my list.

cedia was no where in the picture till a friend named Gaurav Chopra(a member on T-BHP by same name) bought a Cedia Sports. Before he bought it he had been discussing about the car for qilte a long time so i was aware of the poor resale value and the impressive abilities of this car.

One fine day Gaurav stood up from his cubicle and told me that he's got his Cedia and offered me a drive. With no intentions of considering to buy this car I drove it only for about 1-2 kms (office work didn't give much time) and was completely sold over the car. I had driven most of the cars in c-segment earlier and even cars like the Octavia but nothing came close to the way this car shifts gears. I'm not someone who blindly goes after bigger engine and more HP only. For me a driver's car has go to have a balance between power, handling, comfort, practicality and an overall feel which involves a driver and makes him one unit with the car rather than an operator of controls. this is where gearshift and steering feedback and things like handling come into play. The gears in Gaurav's car were amazing. Short throws and every gear would go right into its slot providing an amazing feel unlike the rubbery and spongy gearboxes on most of the cars around. The steering feedback was great although could have been better. Interiors were up to my taste and performance was good for me although I feel the engine should have at least 10-12% more power.

Come December 2009 and i finalise that i will buy this car, a used one of course and start the search with the help of Gaurav. He and i look at cars and reject most of them based on many factors. We keep hunting and finally one day I call up a dealer and get to know about a red Cedia for sale. he gives me the details which are satisfactory and quotes the price at 5.15 lakhs. I fix a date for inspecting the vehicle and tell him clearly that there is no way he will get what he is demanding.

On a weekend Gaurav and I go and have a look at the car. We drive it and then take it to a known mechanic to get it checked. The bumper turns out to be a pianted one but otherwise all else is fine. All turns out well and I pay a booking amount. I decide to take the delivery on 12 th February 2010 and in between obtain the service records of the car which turn out to be perfectly fine.

On 12th I go with my wife and my little son to take delivery. Obviously wife is very happy and excited. Post paper formalities I took delivery and since then till date I've driven about 300 kms and every kilometre has been a pleasure. Amazing machine this car is. Although ther isn't any spine shoving acceleration it is quite satisfactory and handling too is amazing. The only grouse is that the car has new tyres and those are 185/65/r15. Damn the person who thought about this. Plan to change them soon.

A big thanks to gaurav for all his efforts and only because of him i was able to get the car right now else would have taken a lot longer.

P.S. A small question to Cedia owners. When driving at speeds above 70 odd km/hr a strange gurrrr kinda sound starts coming from the rear of the vehicle. I checked it extensively and think it's due to excessive tyre roll since tyres are crappy. I even revved the engine hard when stationary and no sound then. I switched off the engine engine at speeds of about 85km/hr and the sound was still there. Any ideas if this could be something else? The sound starts only once i cross or reach 70km/hr.
Old 15th February 2010, 16:54   #2

I think your rear bearing need replacement. Get it checked though. It should not cost much also. And yes a good decision and a great buy.
Old 15th February 2010, 17:03   #3

Thanks Varun..I too thought it could be the bearing but then wouldn't the sound be audible at all speeds. I'll get it checked this Saturday anyways.
Old 15th February 2010, 17:13   #4
lsp

lifeonwheels
As soon as I saw that you belonged to Delhi I thought I would ask you a question if Gaurav Chopra has helped you in purchasing your car. (He seems to be the official Cedia spokesman ) but you answered the query in your post.

Would u mind sharing what did u finally pay for the car? Please do post some pics of the car and share your intial review.

I would be looking for a pre owned car soon in Delhi and have been checking online for used cars. I saw a 2006 black cedia sports (HR- GGN registered) with a Karol bagh dealer with the price as 5.25L Outrageous!!!
Old 15th February 2010, 18:23   #5

congratulation dude. where are mandatory pics surely you will feel world of a differnce between the M800 and Cedia.

A true drivers car. Sad that HM n Mitsu are not doing much to to sell these car in good numbers :(

What is the City FE(with AC) for the car?
Old 15th February 2010, 18:34   #6

Welcome to the club of Cedizens.
Tyres. Thats what you need to check/ probably change. This car comes with 195/60R15. I dont know why he down-graded the tyres. Go for the stock spec or better tyres asap and you will see the difference.
The car's braking power is what gives you confidence in handling. Even at 120km turns you brake, it is rock-steady.
And, I know Gaurav would sell the car to anyone, with some car-sense and passion to do the man-thing on earth - Drive.
Enjoy the ride. Congratulations.
RajaTaurus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2010, 18:35   #7

The sound is because of the bearing for sure. My friend had a Ikon which would roar at about 80 kmph till about 105 kmph, after that it would go silent. After changing the bearing, its in top condition.
Old 15th February 2010, 18:38   #8

Congrats! Where are the customary pics? The Cedia is a steal in the used car market. Get the tires back to their stock size at the earliest.

Originally Posted by lifeonwheels View Post
I switched off the engine engine at speeds of about 85km/hr and the sound was still there. Any ideas if this could be something else? The sound starts only once i cross or reach 70km/hr.
This is a very dangerous thing to do. You may not want to try it again.

Last edited by Gilead : 15th February 2010 at 18:39.
Old 15th February 2010, 19:01   #9

@ Arpit. Congrats again first of all!
and yes no need to thank Sirjee! You are always welcome.. anything for u!

Also dont worry about the nosie, even if its the bearing noise, we ll get it sorted this weekend!

Originally Posted by lsp View Post
lifeonwheels
As soon as I saw that you belonged to Delhi I thought I would ask you a question if Gaurav Chopra has helped you in purchasing your car. (He seems to be the official Cedia spokesman ) but you answered the query in your post.

God.. I am now the official Cedia spokesman! Its just that who ever has seen my car was sold for it. Moreover when I tell them the price, it rock their mind! Every one wants a cedia but only at a relative bargain. Even though I bought a pre-owned cedia, If given an option to buy a new car within Rs.10 lac, I would certainly buy a new Cedia.
Also, Arpit is a dear friend and I believe what I did is very normal in friendship!

I would be looking for a pre owned car soon in Delhi and have been checking online for used cars. I saw a 2006 black cedia sports (HR- GGN registered) with a Karol bagh dealer with the price as 5.25L Outrageous!!!

I believe Varun had a ride of this cedia. If I am not wrong he said that one side of this black car is completely painted and it seems to have been driven more than whats quoted. Its not even worth 3.5lac. Please avoid.
Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
This is a very dangerous thing to do. You may not want to try it again.
I would second that Arpit, Please dont try it ever again.

Last edited by gaurav_chopra04 : 15th February 2010 at 19:10.
Old 15th February 2010, 19:19   #10

I loved the Title and chuckled at the same time. Congrats buddy! Enjoy her. Snaps ??
Old 15th February 2010, 19:30   #11

Congrats on the buy!! Innovative Title at that.

Happy motoring. Drive Safe and enjoy your ride.

The customary snaps please!!
Old 15th February 2010, 19:46   #12

Great buy lifeonwheels.
Give your car a full round of wash+polish+wax, and then take some great snaps and post them here.
Also, never switch off engine while the car is in motion, you tend to lose every assistance that is power assisted then (steering + brakes and what not).
Old 15th February 2010, 23:25   #13
lsp

Originally Posted by gaurav_chopra04 View Post
Its just that who ever has seen my car was sold for it. Moreover when I tell them the price, it rock their mind! Every one wants a cedia but only at a relative bargain
You're damn right... I got sold for it. And we're all in the used car market for favorable bargains..aren't we?

Cedia, with its poor resale value, is one car which is perfect for the enthusiast used car buyer. One couldn't dream of getting a City at such bargains.

Originally Posted by gaurav_chopra04 View Post
I believe Varun had a ride of this cedia. If I am not wrong he said that one side of this black car is completely painted and it seems to have been driven more than whats quoted. Its not even worth 3.5lac. Please avoid.
I came across that car at Mahindra First Choice. I'll PM you the details to confirm if its the same one you are talking about. I am currently out of India, but returning soon and would be looking for cars from March.
Old 16th February 2010, 10:59   #14

@lsp..ha ha Gaurav certainly is the official spokeman for Cedia. I got the car for 4.35 lakhs. And about the black Cedia Gaurav already told you in some post above.

@Recshenoy..Thanks mate..there certainly is a big difference between both the cars..will post the pics this weekend. Completely agree that HM never did much to promote this car. Me getting a FE of between 11-12 kmpl with a/c on. Haven't noticed very keenly though but shouldn't be far from the above mentioned figures.

@ Raja..I plan to change the tyres very soon. Regarding the braking I completely agree that the car is rock steady.
Yes gaurav would certainly love doing that

@Archish...Will get it checked this Saturday so things should be clear then. Thanks.

@Gilead..will change the tyres soon and pics would also be up soon.
I know it's risky but tried it on a deserted strip of road where I was sure nothing would come in the way.

@Gaurav..I know Gaurav..We'll check it this weekend..

@Prince & abhinav..Thanks a lot.

@blackasta...pictures coming soon and point taken. Thanks

@lsp..I'm sure the one standing at Mahindra First Choice is the same car
as driven by Varun and explained above by Gaurav
Old 16th February 2010, 11:11   #15

here's one pic already posted in Gaurav's review earlier

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com