This is long overdue Initial Ownership report, I know!
But, here it is:
Flashback: (Look at the top-left corner for the flashback scene) ::tongueout
I was tense, and really worried while zeroing in on our
first family car.
I was thinking in between so many options, small cars-premium or mid-size entry level, or anything else, or wait for some more time! or some other launches..
But, one fine day (
read: when I searched up tbhp forum on net - somewhere in November 09), I started to put in the options on paper! (yes!, I am not joking, I actually listed out all cars upto 6 lacs on 2 papers with their pros/cons, also tried to see if any beemer came in that segment - bad-joke)
Then, I worked up my side of the story, I wrote down my requirements, and expectations from the car (realistic ones!)
1. Family car:: Reliable-- 5 Star
2. I will drive sometimes:: Performance--4 Star
3. Maintenance be reasonable:: Maintenance/A5s--4 Star
4. I will take up some expenses on Fueling the car:: FE--3.5 Star+
5. Family may maintain the car/use it when I am not in town:: Manageable small car with space--4 Star
Overall, a small car, but with a little extra factor in it!
( I now see, that, many small-car-intending buyers come in a similar case!)
Contenders in the finale were:
1. MS:: Wagon / A-Star /
Zen Estilo /
Swift -P-
2. Hyundai::
i10 /
Santro
3. Tata:: Indica Vista
4. Fiat::
Punto 1.2 / Palio
(the bold ones were seriously put in by me)
The ruling out of the contenders was in this sequence:
1. A5s
2. Performance
3. Reliability
4. FE
Then, in the final match,
i10 won over
Punto and
Swift with its finesse, after sale service, interior-rich-feel, @ the offered price.
We decided on the Vanilla flavored Color unanimously! (No worries there)
The dealer too, tagged a car for us in the parent stockyard for me to do my PDI !! (He was really not expecting so much from someone in the town!)
Then, learning from the pros here, I too went ahead for the negotiation part!
I had the list, I had the PDI file, I knew the catches,( I had my dark goggles on, I was on my mission!)..
I laid down the Corp discount eligibility, free insurance, and mud-flaps, matting as "standard " accessories with the car ( I also cited and example, saying, Its like getting a mobile cover with a mobile! - that's so expected!)
The guy told me, he can either give me a AR coat or a Sunfilm.
I agreed finally on the AR coat since that is more a need than the sunfilm as I have mentioned before that I am from a coastal region/high humidity (living 2 km from the west coast).
So, getting the deal done at 4.27L OTR --Hyundai i10 1.2L (Kappa) M-series ( I mean a Magna

)
with
Mudflaps+mattings &
Underbody AR
(plus 4K refund of Corp discount in a months time)
, I walked out of the showroom, with a word from the dealer to deliver by 12th Feb 2010.
12th Feb:
Morning, Time: 0930 hrs, I reach the showroom, to see my beauty waiting in the soft morning light, shining and longing to driven!
We complete the formalities, and get ready to roll out of the showroom, to get our dear car to her new home!
The dealer also had brought coconut and garland for Car's Pooja!
We did perform the Pooja, and thanked the Dealer for timely arrangement and left.
We headed straight to Fuel Station.
I was already getting nice attention! (enjoying!)
The Pump-Guy on seeing the new car, welcomed us, and asked If we are coming there for first time with the car,
On replying positive, he returns with a "Ganesha" idol as a welcome-gift from the Petrol Pump! (He said the white color really looks good!, To which I said "I know"- like Monica from FRIENDS..) We had smiles everywhere bouncing-re bouncing!
Same day, we went to our native place (50km trip), with my Parents and my Bro.
The trip was fine, and we all fell in love with the car.
Now: Mum is very happy --New car, her fav color, feels good!!
So is dad------------ Good FE, good service, Low maintenance, Some of his colleagues at other HQs have bought Eras already and they now wish they had bought the Kappa like us!
Bro is happy--------- he is in college! he will be dropped to college in it sometimes now! that may score good, especially with a cute car!! Lolz
I am happy---------- Good 400cc more than what we would have bought by-default (Alto!), Nice performance, good interiors, and Cuter looks in the segments (Spark is cute too I agree, but
-200cc to the i10)
Will post the pics tonight.
More experiences to follow.
---------------------------------------------
H-i10 My pleasure (read: Heighten my Pleasure!)
(also read: Hyundai-i10 >> My pleasure!!)
---------------------------------------------