Old 22nd January 2015, 19:35   #16

Re: An XUV500 speaks: Kochi to Vizag through the hinterlands

Dhanush, Your travelogues had been great reading! (I have thoroughly enjoyed all of them) Now, that your XUV also started writing, it has got even better!! Today, only I got time to sit and read through this one, which i did in one single sitting. Thoroughly enjoyed the great reading material and awesome photographs of a great adventure . Highlights of this travelogue are
(1) treating a routine job transfer (relocation) travel as an adventure and
(2) taking odd routes through hinterlands, that too with the family.
Normally people travel, to arrive at a destination through the shortest/easiest/safest route and you have taken such a route to enjoy the pleasure of travelling.
Now that you are at Vizag, awaiting many more great travelogues from you (your XUV) and best wishes.
philgrac is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2015, 20:51   #17

Originally Posted by dhanushmenon View Post
What's your address?
Forgot to mention in my earlier post, Welcome to my Hometown

May you enjoy the rides along the beach coast, take the curves up to Kailasa Giri & what not. Yeah, a lot of greenery is down due to Hud Hud but we got to look at the greener side in literal sense & move on.

Will give you a ping when I visit & will catch up with Mr.D over a cup of coffee & inspire him to take you to greater heights not that he isn't now, but thoda sa inspire karna hota yaar!!

Heyyy don't worry, will buy you a gallon of fuel too when i sit down with you to start off our conversation.
Until then happy revving & maintain your muscles in peak form. Cheers!!
manas_270 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 12:15   #18

Originally Posted by philgrac View Post
Dhanush, Your travelogues had been great reading! (I have thoroughly enjoyed all of them)
Now that you are at Vizag, awaiting many more great travelogues from you (your XUV) and best wishes.
Thanks philgrac for the words of appreciation. Much regarded sir!
I hope I could live up to your expectations; and also that Vizag continues to keep amazing me throwing out places not much visited.

Originally Posted by manas_270 View Post
Forgot to mention in my earlier post, Welcome to my Hometown

May you enjoy the rides along the beach coast, take the curves up to Kailasa Giri & what not.
Will give you a ping when I visit & will catch up with Mr.D over a cup of coffee
Thanks manas_270. Am definitely suiting Vizag to my tastes each passing day. The roads are much wider, not pot holed and smooth surfaced.

If only the people sharing the road with me had a little more road sense!
Looks like all vehicles have their head light stalk removed and the brightness fixated at high beam!!
Alas, I think I will have to live with it in this part of the country.
The mutant mosquito city of Kochi was much better in this regard.
Ofcourse there are high beam morons there too, but most travelled in low beam or dipped their light when requested with a flash.
Also, the people of the lungi clad state mostly give mutual respect to fellow vehicles on the road.
dhanushmenon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 12:57   #19

If only the people sharing the road with me had a little more road sense!
Looks like all vehicles have their head light stalk removed and the brightness fixated at high beam!!
Alas, I think I will have to live with it in this part of the country.
The mutant mosquito city of Kochi was much better in this regard.
Ofcourse there are high beam morons there too, but most travelled in low beam or dipped their light when requested with a flash.
Also, the people of the lungi clad state mostly give mutual respect to fellow vehicles on the road.
So you tasted the warmth of our road sense !
I guess the whole Telugu speaking states are as such. I do not understand what pleasure they derive by driving with the highway beams in city limits. Perhaps we assume the cities to be our highways too !
poised2drive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 15:33   #20

Another great travelogue with superb pics Dhanush.

Awaiting updates on your XUV biography thread too, from your travelogues it looks your XUV has covered all states in south India (?)
mpksuhas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 18:07   #21

Nice TL and pics, Dhanush. Keep 'em coming.

Assuming you're still in Vizag, please do not miss out visiting the following:
  1. Drive to Bhimili on the coastal road
  2. Yarada beach via the light house on Dolphin's Nose
  3. Drive to Araku and return via Paderu route that is 30 kms longer

Edit: On items 1 and 3, it is the drive that is scenic, though the places do not have anything special. If time permits, stay at Ananthagiri near Araku or at Jungle Bells at Tyda amid thick forest. Only flip side is that the food is not too great at either place.

Last edited by vnabhi : 23rd January 2015 at 18:09.
vnabhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 18:13   #22

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
Another great travelogue with superb pics Dhanush.

Awaiting updates on your XUV biography thread too, from your travelogues it looks your XUV has covered all states in south India (?)
Thanks Suhas.

Yeah, XUV has covered all states of South India.
But when you look at it, there are only four states in that bracket

Additionally, it has treaded through Goa & Maharashtra too.
Rest of India in good time I guess.

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Nice TL and pics, Dhanush. Keep 'em coming.

Assuming you're still in Vizag, please do not miss out visiting the following:
  1. Drive to Bhimili on the coastal road
  2. Yarada beach via the light house on Dolphin's Nose
  3. Drive to Araku and return via Paderu route that is 30 kms longer

Edit: On items 1 and 3, it is the drive that is scenic, though the places do not have anything special. If time permits, stay at Ananthagiri near Araku or at Jungle Bells at Tyda amid thick forest. Only flip side is that the food is not too great at either place.
Thanks vnabhi for your kind words and also for the tips for places to visit.
Yarada beach is in my neighbourhood. Wouldn't miss it anyway.
However, I thought that the road through Dolphin's Nose is not open to public as it falls within Defence Area.
Shall check up on that.

Bhimili and Araku drives, as per your route recommendations have been added to my wishlist.
However, Mr D is presently out of station and will return to Vizag only in March.
So, it is gonna be some time before I get to venture to these places

Thanks again brother.

Last edited by dhanushmenon : 23rd January 2015 at 18:42.
Old 24th January 2015, 06:55   #23

Sure you gonna miss your place a lot Dhanush, and i guess your son is missing someone or something more than all else.
And again, it was good meeting you and your family on that evening at Palavelli.
Keep posting and keep in touch.

Can't resist posting this photograph here, because i myself liked it a lot.,
Never really knew they are your kids when i clicked this.. cute kids

An XUV500 speaks: Kochi to Vizag through the hinterlands-dm1.jpg

David

Last edited by Ddrive : 24th January 2015 at 06:57. Reason: Correction
Ddrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2015, 09:52   #24

Great travelogue and liked the coining style very very much. Wonderful snaps and especially the opening one of Post 7.
Never knew that you are also a practicing Ventriloquist!!
rajeev k is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2015, 09:54   #25

Originally Posted by Ddrive View Post
Sure you gonna miss your place a lot Dhanush, and i guess your son is missing someone or something more than all else.
And again, it was good meeting you and your family on that evening at Palavelli.
Keep posting and keep in touch.

Can't resist posting this photograph here, because i myself liked it a lot.,
Never really knew they are your kids when i clicked this.. cute kids

Attachment 1331918

David
Thanks David sir for that wonderful pic.
One pic which I had uploaded on the travelogue is also credits to you.
Extremely sorry that I forgot to mention photo credits. The thread compilation was in a huge hurry and it all got together in a haphazard manner.
Please accept my apologies.

It was definitely wonderful times we had there... amongst like minded people, talking about anything from the dress of a child to Octane number of automotive fuels.
Looking forward to meeting you again.
Hopefully during the next monsoons.
Old 30th January 2015, 14:58   #26

Originally Posted by rajeev k View Post
Great travelogue and liked the coining style very very much. Wonderful snaps and especially the opening one of Post 7.
Never knew that you are also a practicing Ventriloquist!!
Thanks rajeev sir.
Glad that you liked it.
I just did my bit to make reading a bit more interesting than the normal soliloquy.

By the way "Ventriloquist"!!
I had to ask uncle Google for the meaning.
Thanks, I learnt a new word
Old 4th February 2015, 10:08   #27

Please accept my apologies.
No way !., Its a pleasure people like you posting one of my clicks. Look how many have viewed it already, to me its an honour actually., thanks for that indeed.

Looking forward to meeting you again. Hopefully during the next monsoons.
Yeah, somewhere sometime during the monsoons, me too wishing the same.
Ddrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2015, 16:25   #28

Very neat photos. And equally neat narration perspective.

One photo I would like to bring up is the one of the Leopard. It looks so sad being in a cage.

5 stars for the post and pics though.
DevilzzzzOwn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2015, 15:40   #29

Originally Posted by Ddrive View Post
No way !., Its a pleasure people like you posting one of my clicks. Look how many have viewed it already, to me its an honour actually., thanks for that indeed.
Thanks sir. You have a big heart indeed.

Originally Posted by DevilzzzzOwn View Post
Very neat photos. And equally neat narration perspective.

One photo I would like to bring up is the one of the Leopard. It looks so sad being in a cage.

5 stars for the post and pics though.
Thanks buddy.
Really appreciate your kind words
Old 17th April 2015, 22:58   #30

Hi Dhanush I am booking a Satin white W8 today. I saw your regn is from PY and I am also planning for the same. My only query to you is How difficult is it to maintain the pristine white??.