Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th February 2008, 18:53   #1
BHPian

Bangalore – Munnar-kannur-bangalore -1500kms Round Trip

BANGALORE – MUNNAR-KANNUR-BANGALORE -1500KMS ROUND TRIP

This is my first attempt at writing a travelogue. Having read many of them here on team-bhp, thought of giving it a shot.

Well the plan for this trip came to my mind when I got a mail from our HR to submit tax saving proofs & to submit LTA claims(if any).to claim LTA, I had to take leave for 5 days continuously, which I had not taken this year. I applied for leave & my boss approved it. Considering the weekends I had 9 days at my disposal.

Shared the idea with wifey & she was all ready for the trip, we started thinking about locations. Goa & Munnar were the two locations which we had shortlisted. We chose munnar coz this way we could also visit my parents at kannur, as we had 9 days with us.

The route for the trip was finalized after few PMs to team-bhp travel expert hvkumar & ofcourse few threads in this forum also helped. Hvkumar was kind enough to mail across his trip log for blr-munnar & munnar –kannur.

PART 1

BANGALORE –MUNNAR

Route – Bangalore Hosur-Krishnagiri-Dharmapuri-Toppur-Mettur-Bhavani-Perunthurai-Chennimalai-Kangayam-Dharapuram-Udumalpettai-Chinar-Marayur-Munnar 470 Kms

Me, wifey & 10 month old son
The car : Esteem
Time taken : 11.45hrs

Previous night, checked air all 5tyres,loaded most of the luggage & converted the whole rear seat area into a bed, with mattress & pillows for my son’s comfort.

We had planned to start early as we had not done any confirmed bookings at Munnar for stay& wanted time to search for the place. Had spoken to couple of hotels they all wanted advance money to confirm the booking. Didn’t want to pay advance as we won’t have any choice if we didn’t like the place.