Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th April 2008, 01:02   #1
Senior - BHPian

A very Nostalgic Travelogue - 10 years ago

This is a not a travel I have done recently. I was inspired another thread discussing about old family cars in the vintage section. I took about 2 weeks framing this and collecting the images.

We used to regularly travel to Munnar which was quite close to where I studied.
I did my graduation at a sleepy town called Piravom about 30kms away from Cochin. So the only getaways we had were either at the local "Kallushaps" (toddy shops) or to Cochin. Hence Munnar became our favourite destination. This writeup is from one such visit to the Queens of the Hills.

I was just 19 at that time, so dont flame us for riding without Helmets. We were too ignorant or not bothered about safety at that time. I just wanted to ride on.

This particluar trip went like this:
As per information given to family members we were having a joint study plans at our friend's farm. Our exams were around the corner and our parents accepted. We guys moved together as a gang and called ourselves "Team RAMPAGERS". We had custom Tshirts and stickers on our bikes too.

We all headed out to Kothamangalam where we needed to collect a friend. His father was too strict and the joint study didnt go down with him. So he had to escape saying he is going out to visit his aunt.

So we hit the road around 5pm. Wheather wasnt at its best. Was very cloudly at the time we started and the downpour began shortly. All of us got fully drenched.
But we were not going back. Determination and fire of the youth was at its heights. We reached Adimali around 8pm. We all needed to refuel our bikes and stomachs. We were ready in 20 minutes for the ultimate climb. Munnar is 30kms from Adimali. Typical ghat section, with many hairpins. This was going to be one hell of a ride.