Old 20th August 2010, 14:33   #601

Originally Posted by pjbiju View Post
VRP,

Which route did you take to Malshej? Did you go on a weekend? Is it very crowded on weekends? I am planning to go there one of these days.

My family loves the simple Maharashtrian Thali. Which hotel did you have this thali from? Yummy.

Biju
Biju,

Route was Pune - Chakan - Rajgurunagar - Narayangaon - Junnar - Malshej.

Went yesterday - specifically avoided holidays, as it is very crowded. Mostly from Bombay. Common them for them appear to be boozing and dancing and bathing....

I forgot the hotels name - but it was below Bank of Maharashtra at Manchar.

BTW, no visit to Kerala for Onam? Onam Aashamashangal (is that right?) from my side!

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
This looks like the idol has been stolen? Or am I missing something?
Exactly my question too...

More close - ups! See the intricate carvings....

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1866.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1870.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1869.jpg
Old 20th August 2010, 14:57   #602

Thank you VRP for the information and for your wishes. Onam will be celebrated here in Pune. The Onam Sadya is awaited eagerly each year.

I will see if I can take a day off to go to Malshej along with my family instead of going on a weekend.
Old 20th August 2010, 15:30   #603

Biju, hope you make it. Do it in the monsoon. And if you leave early, you can also visit - (a) Shivneri Fort, (b) Lenayadri Ganpati; and (c) Ozhar Ganpati. Always within a close radius.

BTW, where do you do your shopping for 'sadya' items? Khadki?

More of the external views -

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1872.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1873.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1874.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1875.jpg

One can only marvel at the vision and the patience of our forefathers....
Old 23rd August 2010, 10:57   #604

Malshej teasers....

Before I continue with the rest of the pictures, here are the teasers of Malshej - this is for Biju (for a part of his onam feast!)

Not so great quality - because all shot in the rain...

a. the beginning (or the end) of the ghat...
(yup! that is a cyclist - he wants to enjoy too!)
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_2741.jpg

b. the valley from two vantage points...
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_2745.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_2758.jpg

c. the rain! Visibility near zero. Imagine riding your bike here - heavenly!!
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_2766.jpg
Old 23rd August 2010, 11:53   #605
MX6

What a place to park the vehicle! VRP is becoming adventurous.
Old 23rd August 2010, 12:26   #606

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
Actually, I wanted to ask how many of us would park our vehicles there even after seeing that board. I certainly would, especially if I am not with family.
Old 23rd August 2010, 12:30   #607

Fortune favours the brave... and what I did was more like checking out the 'wet paint' sign!

To get back to Bhuleshwar, the last of the external visages of the temple...
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1861.jpg
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1862.jpg

The figures were life size and there were intricate carvings, etchings - it is a labour of love and devotion, I presume.

And, curiously, I noticed that the temple was adorned with this at several palces - a stone bell!
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1876.jpg
Old 23rd August 2010, 12:35   #608

Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
Actually, I wanted to ask how many of us would park our vehicles there even after seeing that board. I certainly would, especially if I am not with family.
You know,
actually vrp parked his bike at safe place and came that point by walking to take the pic!!!

aisa hai ki nahi , vrp?

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 23rd August 2010 at 12:39.
Old 23rd August 2010, 13:40   #609

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
You know,
actually vrp parked his bike at safe place and came that point by walking to take the pic!!!

aisa hai ki nahi , vrp?
Hey Hey Hey !

Nice logic. I guess the board is purposefuly deployed there to make people not stop, at such dangerous location & make traffic jams. forget the landslides. They will not slide throughout the year.
Old 23rd August 2010, 13:56   #610
MX6

VRP stopped there to read the board!
Anyway, I'd have not parked my vehicle there in the monsoons. One never knows when a rock comes loose here.
Old 23rd August 2010, 15:23   #611

Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
Originally Posted by WDM007 View Post
Hey Hey Hey !
Nice logic. I guess the board is purposefuly deployed there to make people not stop, at such dangerous location & make traffic jams. forget the landslides. They will not slide throughout the year.
Anyway, I'd have not parked my vehicle there in the monsoons. One never knows when a rock comes loose here.
There were quite a few people and vehicle near by. There was one more similar point with a warning sign. However, no one had parked their vehicles anywhere near, except me. (Of course, I was on a bike, and there were hardly two or three bikers there.) So may be all the people were thinking like MX6.

You know, actually vrp parked his bike at safe place and came that point by walking to take the pic!!!
aisa hai ki nahi , vrp?
Oh, aisa bhi kar sakthe kya?

Actually, this was only one of the places where I could park the bike and stroll around!!

As I climbed up the steps, I noticed these -
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1863.jpg

Sorry for the chopped off head (you can see it in profile in the above picture). I was concentrating on the pillars at the right and left (more about that later).
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1864.jpg

And, in the meanwhile, my friend is deep in discussion with the villagers regarding the history of this temple. One of them was telling him that Lord Rama himself is reported to have come here to get the darshan of Lord Shiva!
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-img_1860.jpg
Old 23rd August 2010, 21:04   #612

Thank you VRP for the beautiful pictures. I had a great Onam today.

Btw, we do our shopping for all Kerala stuff from Rajan Coffee on Aundh Road and from one more Kerala Store ahead of the Reliance Fresh on Aundh Road (on the right hand side of the road, while going towards Khadki station).

I have never been on a long trip on my bike. I should plan for one (hoping my wife and son would agree).

-Biju
Old 23rd August 2010, 21:08   #613

Originally Posted by vrprabhu View Post
There were quite a few people and vehicle near by. There was one more similar point with a warning sign. However, no one had parked their vehicles anywhere near, except me. (Of course, I was on a bike, and there were hardly two or three bikers there.) So may be all the people were thinking like MX6.
don't y'all think "do not stop vehicle" refers to the risk of being hit by a rock. stopping a vehicle elsewhere and coming on foot is going to be worse for you .
Old 23rd August 2010, 22:05   #614

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
don't y'all think "do not stop vehicle" refers to the risk of being hit by a rock. stopping a vehicle elsewhere and coming on foot is going to be worse for you .
Thats not problem for VRP,
'' helmet thaa na unke paas''!!!

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 23rd August 2010 at 22:07.
Old 23rd August 2010, 22:27   #615

Thats not problem for VRP,
'' helmet thaa na unke paas''!!!
I can imagine VRP the Gaul, standing near the board and a huge rock boulder just bouncing off his helmet.

Sorry VRP i could not resist, i hope now the french does not come after me for transforming you into a Gaul.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com