Old 9th June 2010, 14:49   #31
MX6

I thought they'd stuck an aluminium plate on her hand looking at the first photo. The second photo showed a bisleri bottle. MITians have changed and it's not a mischief. Disposing plastics like that is a bane and I didn't expect this from MITians.
Old 9th June 2010, 15:12   #32

M I T

Not only the Hostel campus but the college also has gone through a rapid transformation. Now MITians get taught in AC classrooms, smart card turnstiles at Library entrance, send their assignments by email and what not. Full hep campus.
Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150113.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150114.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150115.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150116.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150117.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150118.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150119.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150120.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150121.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150122.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150123.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150124.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150125.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150126.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150127.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150128.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150129.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150130.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150131.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150132.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150133.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150134.jpg

Name:  P5150135.JPG
Views: 681
Size:  233.5 KB

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150136.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150137.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150138.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150139.jpg

Last edited by MileCruncher : 9th June 2010 at 15:24.
Old 9th June 2010, 15:38   #33

Milecruncher, you must have enjoyed going through those apex. BTW what is "FORMULA MANIPAL"

Spike
Old 9th June 2010, 16:09   #34

So MC, Manipal obviously moved on with time. I have been visiting Manipal since the 70s, but it became my sasural in 1996, since then I know it well and have witnessed the continuous changes.

But made you cut short the trip? I am not entirely sure.

Bring back the 70s? Those were the turbulent years. I was a primary school student in Udupi then, but I remember huge student riots in MIT and death of a student in police action, etc. I think our DBHPian Ram was a MIT student then.
Old 9th June 2010, 17:22   #35

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Milecruncher, you must have enjoyed going through those apex. BTW what is "FORMULA MANIPAL"

Spike
Few Students from Mech made a formula Student spec car which raced at Silverstone, UK. Greater details about the project can be found here Formula Manipal Report and Formula Manipal | Formula Manipal

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
So MC, Manipal obviously moved on with time. I have been visiting Manipal since the 70s, but it became my sasural in 1996, since then I know it well and have witnessed the continuous changes.

But made you cut short the trip? I am not entirely sure.
Samurai, I agree that Manipal has changed but the rate seems to have been much higher since MIT came under MAHE and over all MAHE became Manipal University. During my time 1997-2001 & Bidisha's 2000-2002, Manipal used to be a quaint little student township where students from all over India came and studied. Students who were not getting exposed to the glitzy life of the cities while being in Manipal. We could see the changes starting in 2000 with the coming of ICICI, Wimpy's, Hangyo et al. Yes there are lot more facilities now, college has improved in terms of facilities, but somehow everything seems to have become much more commercial. Manipal is not anymore a quaint little town 4kms from Udipi but has truely become an International Student Township which both of us didn't quite like. Hence decided to leave post lunch on Saturday to little more quaint place. And what better than Om Beach!
Old 9th June 2010, 19:15   #36
MX6

Hangyo came when I was there. Initially we thought it was some italian joint. Later we realised Hangyo in Konkani meant come here.
Life in 90s was good too! My father would have paid around 1.5 lakhs as part of tution fees, food, hostel fees, pocket money etc.
There might be an ICICI and an SBI atm there. But I still have my a/c open in the syndicate bank extn counter. Because I still remember the days when we used to go there between the 10 and 10:30 break to withdraw cash/ deposit cheques etc.
Those were the best days of my life.
Old 9th June 2010, 19:37   #37

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
Hangyo came when I was there. Initially we thought it was some italian joint. Later we realised Hangyo in Konkani meant come here.
Life in 90s was good too! My father would have paid around 1.5 lakhs as part of tution fees, food, hostel fees, pocket money etc.
There might be an ICICI and an SBI atm there. But I still have my a/c open in the syndicate bank extn counter. Because I still remember the days when we used to go there between the 10 and 10:30 break to withdraw cash/ deposit cheques etc.
Those were the best days of my life.
You passed out in 1998 right? ICICI opened its branch in 2000 beginning. Hangyo came either in 1999 or 2000. So did the cybercafe's. And yes I spent my first 3 years withdrawing cash with token from Syndicate Bank Extn counter (1997-2000) The bank was the social rendezvous point along with the Juice centre. I hardly attended any classes in the Final Year ( 30% & 3% attendance in 7th and 8th semester respectively) but would still come everyday to the bank between 10-10.30

All that is missing now. The college seemed like its been bereft of its life and vivacity. That is one thing that turned me off amongst many other things.
Old 9th June 2010, 19:44   #38
MX6

I still keep going to Manipal once in 2 months. So in a way I've never really graduated from there as I keep going back
Before people rush to some kind of conclusion, let me clarify. My parents are based out of Udupi (but live with me). It's all confused.

And yes, the college IS bereft of it's life and vivacity. The growth is more on cosmetic lines. Most of my teachers retired. Some passed away. Everytime I visit, I feel that my Alma Mater is becoming more like a category A prison.
The words Pragyanam Brahma is lost somewhere.
The next trip I intend to do is in August. Probably will conduct some guest lectures.
Thanks for the photos. Though I go there once in 2 - 3 months, I still felt nostalgic looking at those.
Old 9th June 2010, 19:51   #39

I still keep going to Manipal once in 2 months. So in a way I've never really graduated from there as I keep going back
Before people rush to some kind of conclusion, let me clarify. My parents are based out of Udupi (but live with me). It's all confused.
LOL so you are not like those Super Seniors we had . One of them came for a sessional and his son called on the cell wishing him "All The Best"

P.S: Ajay Singh / Sundeep Singh were your batch right? Civil!

Last edited by MileCruncher : 9th June 2010 at 19:53.
Old 10th June 2010, 11:42   #40

T A P M I

From MIT we headed to the TAPMI new campus making a slight detour towards Endless Point.
Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150140.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150141.jpg

TAPMI was closed on account of summer vacation as the new batch was expected only in July but some professors were there and Bidisha had a nice time recounting old days with them. Few pictures.
Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150142.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150143.jpg

MIT from TAPMI. Just across the Valley!
Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150144.jpg

Wanted to Walk Down the Memory Lane, but Walked on the Beach Instead!-p5150145.jpg

Name:  P5150148.JPG
Views: 587
Size:  250.5 KB

Last edited by MileCruncher : 10th June 2010 at 11:43.
Old 10th June 2010, 12:58   #41

Samurai, I agree that Manipal has changed but the rate seems to have been much higher since MIT came under MAHE and over all MAHE became Manipal University. During my time 1997-2001 & Bidisha's 2000-2002, Manipal used to be a quaint little student township where students from all over India came and studied. Students who were not getting exposed to the glitzy life of the cities while being in Manipal. We could see the changes starting in 2000 with the coming of ICICI, Wimpy's, Hangyo et al. Yes there are lot more facilities now, college has improved in terms of facilities, but somehow everything seems to have become much more commercial. Manipal is not anymore a quaint little town 4kms from Udipi but has truely become an International Student Township which both of us didn't quite like. Hence decided to leave post lunch on Saturday to little more quaint place. And what better than Om Beach![/quote]

This change infact made us very sad, and we did not want it to destroy our nostalgic memories. So we cut our stay short and moved on to Om beach for an extra day of rest and relaxation.
Btw, I am Bidisha alias Backseat driver!
Old 10th June 2010, 13:24   #42
MX6

Lol, the super seniors. Sadly, I couldn't be one. College kicked me out handing a degree. I'm also now featured as a distinguished alumni which I felt is the best honour bequeathed on me ever!
During our times, there was a guy who was in MIT for 16 years and he joined our class in third semester. Don't want to take his name in a public forum. But he was a cool character. His only aim in life was to graduate before his son joins MIT.
So Endless point has been converted to a concrete jungle as well. Sad.
Old 10th June 2010, 14:12   #43

Oh, I didn't know that. We should meet one of these days.

Originally Posted by Backseat Driver View Post
This change infact made us very sad, and we did not want it to destroy our nostalgic memories. So we cut our stay short and moved on to Om beach for an extra day of rest and relaxation.
Btw, I am Bidisha alias Backseat driver!
Today for lunch I was at a family function and I mentioned this incident, how two old students came after 9-10 years and were shocked at the change.

It mostly left them all scratching their head. Most of these guys have been in Manipal ranging from 35-70 years. They couldn't understand what changed in just last 10 years. While everybody agreed that things started changing drastically since mid 90s, but couldn't agree upon changes in this decade.

Being away, you have a frozen image of Manipal, but for locals it keeps changing continuously and they forget how it was.
Old 10th June 2010, 14:43   #44

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
It mostly left them all scratching their head. Most of these guys have been in Manipal ranging from 35-70 years. They couldn't understand what changed in just last 10 years. While everybody agreed that things started changing drastically since mid 90s, but couldn't agree upon changes in this decade.

Being away, you have a frozen image of Manipal, but for locals it keeps changing continuously and they forget how it was.

This is similar to a frog which is dropped into hot water will simply jump out, but the same frog when kept in a cold water, which is slowly heated will die soon as it won't jump out

(Discliamer: i have only heard this story, never experimented with a frog)

Continuity and slow change does not bother people, It is is discontinuity that creates shock value.
Old 10th June 2010, 14:50   #45
MX6

@Samurai. We will meet up. It would be my pleasure.
@Starvega. I'm an exception to that story. I keep following the change. But since I've tasted what the old world offered in Manipal, I'm shocked everytime I see the change. I discuss this with many authorities in Manipal that change is in wrong places. Everytime they escort me through concrete jungle showing how the campus has grown, I ask them, "Ok, so how many research papers are added to now?"