Old 26th July 2010, 16:06   #361

A couple of items of interst while going to Leh/ any long trip.....

Ensure you carry a sturdy monkey wrench like the one below, this one cost about 250/-, was useful to tighten the bull guard bolts which amlost fell off on the Rangdum road, gives you flexibility.......

Leh-docked-img_2028.jpg

Also carry a wheel spanner extra, the original which comes with the OE slipped, I remembered someone else also had a problem with his Safari OE spanner and he had to borrow a spanner from someone to do the job. Picture of the OE spanner which slipped top and the extra one I carried which actually did the job, the one below.

Leh-docked-img_2029.jpg

=======
Old 26th July 2010, 20:11   #362

Very nice and sturdy tools. I had bought Taparia. They are really good. Someone in Delhi should try Chawri Bazaar instead, there are numerous shops and very good tools. Lots of variety too. One of the cheapest (price wise) I have seen.
Old 26th July 2010, 23:09   #363

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
...the original which comes with the OE slipped...
A quick get-me-home tip for slipped wheel spanners - fill up the spanner with wet sand, seat it (gently hammer it in) completely on the wheel nut, then turn. It won't slip any more.
Old 27th July 2010, 09:36   #364

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
A quick get-me-home tip for slipped wheel spanners - fill up the spanner with wet sand, seat it (gently hammer it in) completely on the wheel nut, then turn. It won't slip any more.
Interesting tip, SS, thanks.

Ramky, that is a great set of tools.
Old 27th July 2010, 12:51   #365

Wow Ramky !!
Full on preparation to conquer Padum this year.

What about the Shovel ?

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Doctor's Foolproof Jugaad.
Old 27th July 2010, 13:18   #366
MX6

Amazing tip ss-t. Guess it comes from years of filling teeth
Old 27th July 2010, 13:21   #367

Possibly, the toughest challenge for bikers....

Leh-docked-misc8-large.jpg

Chang La

Leh-docked-kp16-large.jpg

Drool machine @ Khardungala

Leh-docked-bike1-large.jpg

Live to Drive & Drive to Live

Leh-docked-ms20-large.jpg

Scorpio from Begaluru

Leh-docked-ms19-large.jpg

Take the road less travelled

Leh-docked-ms18-large.jpg

Man on his mission and his machine

Leh-docked-ms17-large.jpg
Old 27th July 2010, 13:24   #368

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Wow Ramky !!

What about the Shovel ?

KP, please buy it and keep it , I'd collect it on my way to Padam, I would again be going through Srinagar, whenever that is.....
Old 28th July 2010, 00:40   #369

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
yes 4X4 is must with huge space . no clue where will it come from, lets plan it
I just purchased a Xylo; you people think my vehicle can make it ? OR a 4x4 is a Must ?
Old 28th July 2010, 12:14   #370

Take the shovel from me...

Doc's jugaad is fantastic. He also made a jugaad for his fuel cap. I shall let him explain how he did...

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Wow Ramky !!

What about the Shovel ?

Old 28th July 2010, 12:21   #371

Wonderful Pics Kpzen.

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
I was in Delhi on 24th, me and my brother met RKB around Ghaziabad and experienced SX4 and heard RKB's experience with the car, looked very very postive.
RBK thanks a lot for spending your holiday with me, added SX4 to the short-list for next change of car.
Ramky ji, it was pleasure meeting you in person. Time well spent
BTW you could have bought the shovel from that same place

Originally Posted by pcpranav View Post
I just purchased a Xylo; you people think my vehicle can make it ? OR a 4x4 is a Must ?
Depends what route you plan. Xylo run there without any problem on normal tourist areas.
Old 29th July 2010, 10:43   #372

Take a stick to Ladakh

A couple of interesting items we took along on the trip......

A stick / pole to mark depth and GC of the Scorpio in case we needed to wade deep water. You'd find the blue mark is the safe limit, 100 mm - safe to wade, 160 Blue band OK, 180 where the red starts not OK. The ideas was to find out safest course to drive through after inserting the pole into the water.

Leh-docked-img_2051.jpg

We were lucky, in most places we either had a vehicle preceding us so we could watch it cross and then followed suit. This stick could be a life-saver if you are caught out alone in some crossings. Also very useful to climb, shoo away dogs or any other purpose you can imagine it for.

Two books I would recommend to EVERYONE going to leh... a must, IMO, for primary research.

Leh-docked-img_2042.jpg

Picture of wire mesh we carried along, just in case we got mired in mud / slush / ice, if we could manage to get this under the typre would give traction, though it would be a one time use; we also carried along three 4 by 2 planks for the very purpose.

Leh-docked-img_2053.jpg

Last edited by ramkya1 : 29th July 2010 at 10:45.
ramkya1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2010, 10:50   #373
MX6

That stick is a terrific idea Ramkya sir. I'll make markings in my umbrella I guess. Anyone knows the calibration for an ikon? Guess I will have to put the ground clearance values as blue line here.
Old 29th July 2010, 11:09   #374

Dear Ramky and The Rest,

Thank you all for the Tips, tools and accessories to carry on a trip to Leh-will be going to Bhutan (From Bangalore) and next rip Leh here I come???

Old 29th July 2010, 11:23   #375

Ramky, regarding traction, rubber mats are always better.
We used them extensively in Rajasthan, when a fellow members 3.0 4x4 got stuck in sand.
Regarding other tools, before my 2009 Ladakh trip, I bought a lot of spanners, along with tow rope and shackes and a hydraulic jack(A god send I must say!)
We also got a big shovel, but this time I decided not to take it, as it was too big. I am still searching for a small compact shovel. The one at hometown is too flimsy and costs 350rs!

Also got myself a foot pump and thinks like jumper cables.
Recently I took an old suitcase, and put all the stuff inside the suitcase for neat storage.
tsk1979 is offline   (1) Thanks