Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 7th July 2007, 23:35   #1

Swift-Diesel Tyre Upsize from 14" to 15"

I have booked a swift LDi and hopefully I will be getting it next week. I am determined to upsize my existing tyre profile from 165/80/R14 to 195/60/R15. I did some initial analysis on all the profiles and finally came to a conclusion that for good performance the best suited tyre profile is 195/60/R15. And also the ideal upsize is 15" rather than going for the ones bigger than 15" and sacrificing on the ride comfort and performance.
There is hardly any difference in the overall diameter compared to the original company fitted wheel if we stick on to the 195/60/R15 combination.

Has any one tried this combination on their swift? Well my concern is suppose if i am going for 5 wheels (including the spare tyre) can i fit this 195/60/R15 combination in the boot space provided for the spare tyre?

I am not sure about this. I tried fitting 205/60/R15 in the boot space.. But unfortunately that dint fit.

Also i need some inputs regarding Apollo tyres. How is their performance compared to other brands available in market?

Last edited by Rtech : 18th July 2007 at 15:37. Reason: Please dont post with [font] and [size] tags
Old 8th July 2007, 01:40   #2

Apollo are not that good tyres as far as i have heard comparing to Michelins.

I have 195/60/15 in my Swift Diesel and there is no problem, the 5th tyre is 195/60/15 too and fits in the boot without any issues.

205/60/15 is a wrong size, try 205/55/15 will fit surely.

Make sure your alloys have a offset ratio of 42 and above and you mount your tyres on 6J rims.
Old 8th July 2007, 18:40   #3

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post

I have 195/60/15 in my Swift Diesel and there is no problem, the 5th tyre is 195/60/15 too and fits in the boot without any issues.

Make sure your alloys have a offset ratio of 42 and above and you mount your tyres on 6J rims.
Thanks a ton for the suggestion.

Well could you please brief me about the offet ratio what you had mentioned. It sounds greek and Latin to me. And the 6J what u suggestd does that mean 6" width of the alloys?

Could you please brief me on this? Also i would like to know the milage what u get on ya swift after fitting it with 195/60/R15 wheels.
Old 8th July 2007, 21:52   #4

@kk28: Go through this site... gives you an insight into all the techincal jargon associated with tyres and rims.

Car Bibles : The Wheel and Tyre Bible
Old 9th July 2007, 01:37   #5

205/60 R15 also fits in the boot of the Swift. Met someone running the same size on his Swift D today & he claimed he had no rubbing issue in the rear of the car with 3 people sitting in it. I found that a little fishy because the amount of clearance left in the rear arch was not much & I was pretty sure that the tyre would touch the arch under load.
Old 9th July 2007, 10:45   #6

I have swift petrol and does the space in the boot for spare tyre same as Swift D as I also wanted to know if 195/60/15 can fit in Swift petrol boot space area.
Old 9th July 2007, 11:22   #7

205 is overdoing it, the car really doesnt need that much wide tyre unless you are running a pete's box or something
Old 9th July 2007, 12:35   #8

Guide me please

alloys have a offset ratio of 42 and above and you mount your tyres on 6J rims.
Hi can you please guide me which brand has the alloys with offset 42 or more and with 6J. When I search alloy web site the best I found with offset of 40 and 6.5J Will this fit?
Old 10th July 2007, 12:52   #9

Hey I have 205 60 R 15 Goodyear GSD2's on my Swift and have taken the spare as well (never used) so the spare is not usually required as tubeless tires rarely face punctures. And yes it does fit neatly into the boot space for the fifth.

I had trouble with this upsize with 5 guys travelling in my Swift with the wheel scraping the wheel arches. I am not sure if 205/55/R15 will avoid this as this will be my next choice or tire replacement which is due shortly done 36k without any issues of punctures. Tire wear is 75% I suppose as of now.

Last edited by anarchist : 10th July 2007 at 12:54.
Old 10th July 2007, 19:46   #10

I still didnt quite get what is actually meant by Offset 42 +. How do we figure out the offset ratio? And as far as my knowledge goes... all 15" mags come with 6.5".. is that rite? PLease help!!!
Old 15th July 2007, 20:47   #11

Hi BUSA,

You had mentioned to go for alloys having the the offset of 42+ and having 6J rims. My concern is is all the leading brands including Lenso have only 6.5J alloys which have the offset of 40....

Could you please give your opinion on this?

Your suggestion on this would be greatly appreciated...
Old 15th July 2007, 21:25   #12

i dont think 6.5j would be much of a problem. not sure about the offset thuogh.
Old 16th July 2007, 00:38   #13

Sorry guys didnot visit this thread since the time i last posted here.

Also i would like to know the milage what u get on ya swift after fitting it with 195/60/R15 wheels.
15kmpl using normal diesel.

Hi can you please guide me which brand has the alloys with offset 42 or more and with 6J. When I search alloy web site the best I found with offset of 40 and 6.5J Will this fit?
You had mentioned to go for alloys having the the offset of 42+ and having 6J rims. My concern is is all the leading brands including Lenso have only 6.5J alloys which have the offset of 40....

Could you please give your opinion on this?

Your suggestion on this would be greatly appreciated...
Well getting 6J rim width and 42 offset is very very difficult job, companies like Lenso dont built it.

I have 7J, 40Offset Lenso Megalite Alloys on the car, no issues as such, on bad roads, the ride is a bit harsh but since the rim width is 7J the handling is better, but ride suffers a bit on bad roads. On normal roads ride is fine.

6.5J would be fine too and Offset of 40 is fine as well so you can go ahead with 6.5J, 100PCD, 40 Offset alloys in 15inchers for the Swift. But if you go for 205, please dont go 60 profile as the rear is bound to touch on load, go for 55(ideal) or 50(also oknot ideal though)

My sugestion is to go for 195/60/15 the best combo of ride and handling for a stock swift. Max to max 205 but stick to the above recomendation in bold.

Use this WheelOffsetCalculator

Read about offset here

Last edited by BUSA : 16th July 2007 at 00:41.
Old 18th July 2007, 14:30   #14

Sorry guys didnot visit this thread since the time i last posted here.

15kmpl using normal diesel.

Well getting 6J rim width and 42 offset is very very difficult job, companies like Lenso dont built it.

I have 7J, 40Offset Lenso Megalite Alloys on the car, no issues as such, on bad roads, the ride is a bit harsh but since the rim width is 7J the handling is better, but ride suffers a bit on bad roads. On normal roads ride is fine.

6.5J would be fine too and Offset of 40 is fine as well so you can go ahead with 6.5J, 100PCD, 40 Offset alloys in 15inchers for the Swift. But if you go for 205, please dont go 60 profile as the rear is bound to touch on load, go for 55(ideal) or 50(also oknot ideal though)

My sugestion is to go for 195/60/15 the best combo of ride and handling for a stock swift. Max to max 205 but stick to the above recomendation in bold.

Use this WheelOffsetCalculator

Read about offset here
Hi Busa,

Its really hard to find a 42+ offset alloys. There are plenty of alloys available in market with the offset 35~38 but none in 42+ range. I came accros one of the models from Lenso (Megalite - the one which you own) which has a offset of 40.

Could you please let me know which one best fits for 195/60/R15 tyres - 6.5J rims or 7J rims?

Also let me know the impact on going for alloys which have the offset 38.
Old 18th July 2007, 15:36   #15

Try going for 40 offset atleast, well 38 might give you suspension problems. Go for 6.5J rims will be better for a good combo of ride and handling.