Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 1st December 2008, 08:20   #16

And now that i look at it again, the windscreen frame looks oddly out of proportion too.
Old 1st December 2008, 09:49   #17

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
I was told once that Postal department vehicles in the US were RHD to ease pick up and drop off at the mail boxes.
Karlos,
Postal Dept Vehicles in US are still RHD, may be to enable a quick drop off.
Old 1st December 2008, 09:49   #18

Originally Posted by deepaktpatil View Post
Karlos,
Postal Dept Vehicles in US are still RHD, may be to enable a quick drop off.

Yes have seen couple of them in US.
Old 1st December 2008, 15:31   #19

Originally Posted by gotzuk View Post
Amit V8,
I did not say it is a CJ3A, In fact i did not even say its a DJ3A.(Please refer to my post)
I just mentioned that DJ3A's did not come in right hand drive.

And there were no DJ2A's, if that's what you mean.

If this jeep is indeed a dispatch jeep then the windscreen frame on the jeep
pictures provided by sunilgee is wrong for the jeep, it should have a CJ3A type single windscreen frame.

The DJ3A's also came with in convertible as well as hardtop versions.
Also, the DJ3A's were not solely meant for postal duties
but were a more like multi-utility delivery vehicles.

no no i never said that was a dj2a. this jeep is really confusing. as you said the winshield is different as well as the gear & the horn stalk.
but one thing, why do you think it should have a cj3a kind of a windshield??
there were cj2a's produced in 1948 & 1949.
Old 1st December 2008, 15:46   #20

Originally Posted by amit V8 View Post
no no i never said that was a dj2a. this jeep is really confusing. as you said the winshield is different as well as the gear & the horn stalk.
but one thing, why do you think it should have a cj3a kind of a windshield??
there were cj2a's produced in 1948 & 1949.
Amit,
The production of dispatch jeeps was started in 1955 by the Kaiser Corp. with the CJ3A as the
base but only with 2 wheel drive, column shift gearbox, 4 lug hubs and wheelcaps.
It was called the DJ3A. The dispatch jeeps came with CJ3A type single windscreen not the CJ2A type split windscreen.
Old 2nd December 2008, 00:34   #21

Amit,
The production of dispatch jeeps was started in 1955 by the Kaiser Corp. with the CJ3A as the
base but only with 2 wheel drive, column shift gearbox, 4 lug hubs and wheelcaps.
It was called the DJ3A. The dispatch jeeps came with CJ3A type single windscreen not the CJ2A type split windscreen.
ok, now i get it. thanx for the info.
Old 2nd December 2008, 15:16   #22

That large Speedo in the centre of the dash is a dead giveaway that its a dispatcher. Along with the fact that it is 2WD.

Another thing to check is the location of the fuel tank. Is it located between the frame rails on the rear? If it is not its a CJ2A, as you will need to cut the cross memeber on a CJ2A tub to mount the fuel tank there.

These 2 - speedo and fuel tank are a dead give away that its a Dispathcher. And yes there are more Dispatchers in India. Just that with all the Jugaad they have lost that status. Very sad indeed. I had seen one last year, in which the speedo hole was covered off with a plate and the meter where added by cutting the dash.

Oh and i forgot to add, the note above regarding the split screen, the Dispatcher came with a single screen. Thats another factor to consider. Also the pics added here might have seen a jugad with the screen. Lot of components were interchangeable with the CJ2A.

Last edited by Spitfire : 2nd December 2008 at 15:19.
Old 4th December 2008, 13:47   #23

One more Ford getting restored, though the original engine is missing, its got a new heart borrowed from the HM-Petrol engine.
Jeep Despatcher-dsc06845.jpg  

Jeep Despatcher-dsc06846.jpg  

Old 4th December 2008, 14:37   #24

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
One more Ford getting restored, though the original engine is missing, its got a new heart borrowed from the HM-Petrol engine.
Are you sure its a Ford GPW and not a mock up based on the CJ3B/CJ340?
The grille is a modified CJ3B/CJ340 item, so is the hood and the windscreen
frame is also a frankenstein creation. The shock mounts visible in the pic are
is CJ3B type. Lot more difference are there but the point is, it is not a Ford.

Last edited by gotzuk : 4th December 2008 at 14:39.
Old 4th December 2008, 14:50   #25

Are you sure its a Ford GPW and not a mock up based on the CJ3B/CJ340?
The grille is a modified CJ3B/CJ340 item, so is the hood and the windscreen
frame is also a frankenstein creation. The shock mounts visible in the pic are
is CJ3B type. Lot more difference are there but the point is, it is not a Ford.
Not sure anna, what all i know about it is the front cross member is square and it has to be ford, Your pointers towards the windscreen and the shock mounts makes me see this low bonnet in a different angle.

And say what? You must be absolutely right.

This jeep is some creation of sorts... but it belongs to my friend who happens to be my neighbour, who's crazy about jeeps, just helping him get his requirements completed by adding atleast few original bits along with some modifications to the jeep.

Those fittings include 1) Recessed Head lights
2) Shovel
3) Pitch forks
4) Original Military green
5) Grafix printing on the jeep.
6) Original black out lights on the fender
7) Original seating design
8) Original type canvas for the top.
9) Adding a roll cage, as he wants some sporty looks
10) Big fat tyres to add sportiness
11) Nice looking bucket seats in the front
12) 2 big fog lamps in the front-again to make it look sporty.

He does not intend to sell it anyways, Since the HM engine is so damn silent and powerful, he uses it just to satisfy his ego's by driving it to office on few weekends. He's happy with it.
Old 4th December 2008, 15:06   #26

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Those fittings include 1) Recessed Head lights
2) Shovel
3) Pitch forks
4) Original Military green
5) Grafix printing on the jeep.
6) Original black out lights on the fender
7) Original seating design
8) Original type canvas for the top.
9) Adding a roll cage, as he wants some sporty looks
10) Big fat tyres to add sportiness
11) Nice looking bucket seats in the front
12) 2 big fog lamps in the front-again to make it look sporty.
Toys for the Boys, eh??
Bring it On!!!!

Old 4th December 2008, 15:12   #27

Toys for the Boys, eh??
Bring it On!!!!

Yes, truly.

Low bonnets are so rare these days, atleast he's got something close to it.

Will update latest pics soon after completion of the project.
Old 6th December 2008, 21:24   #28

Jeep info

Hai guys, have'nt checked in here for a coupla days....and wow its really interesting... thanks for the heaps of Jeep info..my bro-in-law ,mailed me this chart..
SG
Jeep Despatcher-grillechart600.jpeg  

sunilgee is offline   (1) Thanks