Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 20th July 2022, 11:14   #31

Re: Whether to upgrade or to not - Confusion of a VW Vento TDI DSG owner

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
My experience with Engineering Exponent in ITPL has been great for Octavia. Now I mostly give it there.
Other possible options are Thrust Automotives (Kalyan Nagar), Carsmith Motors (near HSR), Bay 6 (near Sarjapur Road) etc. They are good with VAGs, heard good feedback from friends but don’t have any personal experience.
Thank you very much for the suggestions. I would like to take your reference and explore Engineering Exponent.

Originally Posted by BHPjunkie View Post
Let me tell you one thing. VW do not make cars how they use to for India. Virtus maybe a successor to the Vento but quality wise the Vento is far superior.

Also though you are not driving that much, considering 55k in 5years, the petrol economy will surely shock you initially. I am in a similar situation like you. I have an Ameo 1.5 TDi DSG and have an itch to upgrade. I get 13 kmpl in the city which goes all the way to 18-19 kmpl on the highway and this is without me putting an effort to drive economically. Expect 7-8 kmpl in the city and 12-13 on the highway with Virtus petrol 1.5 DSG TSi.

You mentioned you are on a budget constraint right now, in that case use your Vento for 2-3 years more, save for a proper upgrade like an Octavia. In case a DSG issue does crop up, it is 1.5 lacs to repair compared to spending 20.xx lacs for a similar vehicle you are using right now and will have to use for the next 5-7 years.

Thank you mate!
I would definitely agree on the superior build quality of vento.

And your analogy is beautiful!! With spending around 2 lacs (in case the DSG failure crops in) and driving for 3 years is definitely worth than spending 21.3 lacs for Virtus and drive for 5 years. 👌

I am keeping it. 😊

Originally Posted by rkattar View Post
This is shocking to hear since not many DSG failures were heard of in Ameo. Did your friend not have an extended/addon warranty? Otherwise, could have requested for a goodwill replacement of the mechatronics unit assuming the warranty would have expired only recently.
He ran out of his 2+2 years warranty and only after that he started exploring the outside service center.
His vehicle ran for only 27k then and he had to spend around 1.43 lacs for the goof up done by the outside cenvice center.

I also had taken the 2+2+1 till now and I did try to change the mechatronics as a goodwill gesture, but failed. 😁

Originally Posted by Asoon View Post
Keep it ! be loyal to your love , and wait for a proper upgrade
Vento is a really amazing car and 5 years / 55K is nothing

Also, Virtus / Taigun is not an upgrade from Vento, for the GT versions you will be paying 22L for that kind of money I will add 10 more and get Octavia which is a proper upgrade
Thank you. Yeah, available variants are not the real upgrades and that's why unable to convince myself.

Thanks for suggesting the Octavia, this used to be a car of my interest and would definitely keep this as an option.

I wanted to go for Tiguan All Space, but that is out of my budget as of now.
Old 20th July 2022, 11:27   #32

As a fellow Vento owner (2015 Vento Tsi at 50k Kms) who is facing a similar dilemma I would say you can safely hold onto the car for couple more years. Get the extended warranty for 6 & 7 years to protect against a DSG failure risk.

I have test driven both the Taigun & Virtus (both GT versions) and I would suggest a Virtus over a Taigun any day, the driving experience to me was not comparable. The Virtus GT is a fun drive, there are however a few obvious missing features. If you give it a year or two the next version of the Virtus will be more rounded and the initial rough edges of the new model should be ironed out.

If you looking for a proper "upgrade", that would be the Octavia (maybe even a pre owned, lightly used one) or maybe the Compass (if you dont mind a SUV).

Originally Posted by Links4u View Post
Overtaking, sprints, long non stop drives are just piece of cake for me, with this vehicle. The mileages are great still - around 19 in Highways and around 12/13 in city.
So, if I say, I am madly in love with the car, I won't be wrong.
Bhodrolok is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 11:59   #33

Originally Posted by Links4u View Post

He ran out of his 2+2 years warranty and only after that he started exploring the outside service center.
His vehicle ran for only 27k then and he had to spend around 1.43 lacs for the goof up done by the outside cenvice center.

I also had taken the 2+2+1 till now and I did try to change the mechatronics as a goodwill gesture, but failed. 😁
That's sad to hear. Especially at only 27k kms.Could have taken the 5th year add on warranty as DSG is a notorious time bomb. Also any DSG failure is strongly suggested to be looked into only by the ASS given its exclusivity.

It is virtually impossible to get the dealer/VW change the mechatronics unit unless it is completely nuked (as in flashing gear numbers). Tried myself a few times for my Ameo TDI DSG which had (and still has) minor jerks between D1 - D2 at times. Better to take the 6th/7th year warranty if still possible at your end.
rkattar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 12:10   #34

Wonderful thread and nice conversation points with Josh as well.

I have clocked 1,10,000 kms on my 5yr old Vento TDi DSG. Uber happy with it. 8 months ago, did a mid life overhaul at 90,000 kms with TRANSWERKE, Erode, TN. Uber happy with the FNG and my car. Posted in detail about the overhaul on Josh's ownership thread.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-...5-years-9.html (My Night Blue VW Vento TDI DSG | Ownership Experience | EDIT: Sold after 6.5 years)

TRANSWERKE is on instagram. He does re-work on DSG and replacement of clutch as well. He has the full manual of the DQ200. Would definitely recommend him as FNG for major overhaul.

I am still averaging, 17-18 kmpl for my city cum highway routine. Happy fuel consumption wise.

My close circle, we own VW TDi DSG - 5 cars, all done 90,000 kms and still pristine condition. We don't see an apt replacement. All have been given mid life refresh on similar lines as mine. We intend to keep them until we clock 1,75,000 kms before going for a change.

My Friend moved from Rapid TDi DSG to Virtus TSi DSG:
Rapid TDi DSG is 5yr old and done about 45000 kms, very well maintained. Was sold for 11L to his cousin. But he had offer upto 11.3L from Olx. He has bought it for only 15.5L and depreciation of 1L/yr is very cheap. I attribute it to high price of new cars.

Took his Virtus DSG for a drive, found it much more spacious than Vento. 50Bhp more definitely shows in highway acceleration. Super quiet. AVN was much better. Ride and handling is sorted, but not as planted as Vento. Steering feedback is a tad vague compared to Vento. Mileage is averages only 12 kmpl for my usage.

My Thoughts
Don't see Virtus as an upgrade from Vento. Has the same DQ200. Costs an additional 10-12L after selling Vento. If you have cash, go for it. A good lateral move.

But, Octavia is a definite YES as a proper upgrade.
svmvale is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th July 2022, 17:58   #35

I have a 6-year old Rapid TDI DSG at 65k odo now and facing the same dilemma. The DSG had not given me any trouble whatsoever so far and it has been fuss-free ownership - touchwood. But yes, it's a ticking timebomb which I can't afford because the car is used for long-distance travels with family at night hours and through not-so-good terrains.

I wish the Octavia comes with Ventilated seats and a sunroof like the Superb. It does not feel good to pay a million more and still not get the features offered in Slavia/Virtus.

Last edited by VinsWagen : 20th July 2022 at 18:10.
VinsWagen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 04:15   #36

As others have stated the Virtus is not as planted as the Vento. And as you would know, without control is nothing.

You will always feel the car is not stable enough and this will give you a feeling of being shortchanged whenever you drive it.

Not a good feeling. What’s the point of all the features if it compromises on the most important one - driving pleasure that comes with confidence inspiring handling?

The Slavia / Virtus do not feel as well put together nor do they handle anywhere as well the Vento. In comparison it almost feels gimmicky! If you’re not bothered about that, you can think of changing your car, otherwise don’t waste your time and money on a Virtus / Slavia. And to add to the injury, you will be giving away a good Vento.
EV NXT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 04:46   #37

Originally Posted by EV NXT View Post
As others have stated the Virtus is not as planted as the Vento. And as you would know, without control is nothing.

You will always feel the car is not stable enough and this will give you a feeling of being shortchanged whenever you drive it.

Not a good feeling. What’s the point of all the features if it compromises on the most important one - driving pleasure that comes with confidence inspiring handling?

The Slavia / Virtus do not feel as well put together nor do they handle anywhere as well the Vento. In comparison it almost feels gimmicky! If you’re not bothered about that, you can think of changing your car, otherwise don’t waste your time and money on a Virtus / Slavia. And to add to the injury, you will be giving away a good Vento.
Exactly, they don't make cars like they used to in the old days, the VW Vento, the VW Polo, the Skoda Rapid, the Audi A1 (Typ 8X) are all made on the international A05 (PQ25) platform, whereas the VW Virtus, Skoda Slavia, VW Taigun and Skoda Kushaq are based on the low-cost variation of the A0 platform for the Indian market named MQB A0 IN which was introduced in 2019 and utilized for vehicles released from 2021.
itsmeparvathy9 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 21:34   #38

Now the real confusion. Should I
  1. Upgrade to Virtus - replacing one entry level sedan with another?
  2. Upgrade to TAIGUN - move to a little taller version being an 184cm taller person.
  3. Or keep my Vento and continue the love affair. - Keep it for some more time and convert it to second car, and buy my dream SUV later.

You should definitely consider buying Virtus or Taigun. I have few reasons for you:
1. You are getting a very good evaluation of your old vento. Considering Vento is now discontinued so maintaining it will certainly cost you higher.
2. You will get better connected car apps with the new gen vehicles and cool features that you will appreciate.
3. Go for GT variants only as you are used to a powerful Diesel engine with DSG , so comparatively 1.0 AT will feel less of power.
4. I own a Skoda Kushaq 1.0 AT and driving it for past 6 months, be it highways , mountains , rough roads or city traffic it gives a comfortable ride . I am completely satisfied with the product. Since Taigun is also built on same platform so I can definitely recommend it to you. I did test drive of Taigun and I liked it’s driving dynamics , stability, braking, looks 🌟 and features .
5. Between Virtus & Taigun you can test drive and decide which one suits you better. As you have mentioned you are looking for a dream SUV, then go for SUV. Since you already owned a sedan for long time then you can experience a SUV for a change 😊.
Kaus2002 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2022, 09:22   #39

Nope. The new VW cars simply do not have the fit and finish of your Vento. You will be disappointed and irritated by small issues. If your DSG gives up, get it replaced. It will be cheaper and will give you more peace of mind.
lina is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd August 2022, 11:09   #40

Hello all, I am a proud owner of Vento 1.5 TDI, Manual transmission - Highline - bought in Dec 2016; nearing 6 years; clocked 1.1L kms.

Now I need to change the clutch plate, timing belt and tyres. I am in terrible confusion on whether to do it or sell it to buy the 1.5 GT version of Taigun/Virtus.

Asking rate for my Vento is 6.3 L from the dealer.

I need to either sell it or do the servicing and atleast run for next 2-3 years. I have seen numerous postings where Vento TDI has the capability to run for several lakhs of Kms. So it is not necessary to sell it at 1 Lakh km. But after 2-3 years, the asking rate for the Vento with manual transmission is going to be too low.

Let me know your advise.

Subramaniyam
Old 21st January 2023, 15:47   #41

Originally Posted by naveenasubbu View Post
Hello all, I am a proud owner of Vento 1.5 TDI, Manual transmission - Highline - bought in Dec 2016; nearing 6 years; clocked 1.1L kms.

Now I need to change the clutch plate, timing belt and tyres. I am in terrible confusion on whether to do it or sell it to buy the 1.5 GT version of Taigun/Virtus.

Asking rate for my Vento is 6.3 L from the dealer.

I need to either sell it or do the servicing and atleast run for next 2-3 years. I have seen numerous postings where Vento TDI has the capability to run for several lakhs of Kms. So it is not necessary to sell it at 1 Lakh km. But after 2-3 years, the asking rate for the Vento with manual transmission is going to be too low.

Let me know your advise.

Subramaniyam
Today booked new Virtus 1.5 GT - Rising blue; expecting delivery next week. I have to part with my Vento TDI next week.
naveenasubbu is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com