Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 24th February 2025, 10:15   #16

Re: 8-lakh rupee budget | Should I buy new or used?

Entry-level cars have gotten expensive, and 8 lakhs gets you new models with many compromises.

Being NCR, May I also suggest the base MG Windsor EV?
Old 24th February 2025, 10:52   #17

I would suggest to look at Corolla Altis. You can get good value for your money. Altis is one of the underrated car in India. It offers, better reliability, space and safety when compared with compact and sub compact cars from Maruti & Hyundai. One More aspect covered by Altis is ground clearance, guess It has 180mm of ground clearance.
rainmaster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2025, 11:05   #18

Originally Posted by OctyBoy View Post
Why the need for a new car?
2) Lack of basic features like rear camera (due to the budget constraints). Fitting these from outside would likely void the warranty for the electricals, at the very least.
This is not fully true. You can get most fittings like audio system, reverse camera, parking sensors, dashcam etc without voiding warranty.
Old 24th February 2025, 11:06   #19

Have a look at Skoda Kylaq- base model! Meets all of your criteria though it is just at the tip of your budget
Is new, safe, petrol, 15 years in NCR - comes with service package.

Else, You can't go wrong with a Honda city 4th gen - I have a 2014-CVT which has now run 95k kms and can vouch for its reliability
InControl is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th February 2025, 12:50   #20

I was in similar situation recently and got a 2021 Jazz CVT with 15K ODO.

For last few years, market has moved up and has given up on value conscious buyers. A humble mid variant new Alto is above 6L OTR.

As many recommended, pick any recent Honda for reliability, safety and ease of maintenance. CVT should be perfect for city usage and since the market is in transition to EVs, should be good for next 5 years.
cosmodan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th February 2025, 19:24   #21

i10 Nios is a great choice. It is a very easy car to drive and own. Quite reliable in the long run too! My cousin has run an Xcent for 11 years and absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it mechanically. The suspension on these Hyundais is soft, so no back pain either. We've actually abused almost every mechanical component of the car and it's held up very well. (Especially me as I learnt to drive in it around Mysore and absolutely thrashed the engine and gearbox. xD)

The current model does quite well globally too. If you're averse to risk, there's always the new Maruti Swift. Great car. Don't listen to what people say about the engine. They're cherry picking. It is a sweet little thing. Fantastic manual gearbox. In fact, it might be friendlier and more forgiving than the Hyundai! Actually, why don't you go check the Swift out once?
Old 24th February 2025, 21:20   #22

I've set up a list of pros and cons for both the options. I would be enlightened if other experts on the forum can comment on my choice of cars in both pre-owned and new options and add their opinions on the vehicles considered as well as suggest more options post analysing my requirements. I'd also like to know of places/services for pre-owned vehicle inspection for those that suggest the pre-owned route. If any BHPian wants to tag along/give leads for pre-owned options, I'd be more than happy to talk.
I would be in the market for a similar requirement like yours. My budget is around 7L and I plan to use the car for about 2-4 years, post which I will switch to a BE6 kinda vehicle.

I agree with this kind of budget none of the good new cars are available. I would be narrowing it down to a 2018 Ecosport/Toyota corolla altis (2014 and later) or a Maruti S cross. All of these seem to available under by 7L budget.
Old 25th February 2025, 12:26   #23

Why the need for a new car?

Moreover, I'd want to preferably avoid cars from the Maruti Suzuki stable due to safety concerns as mostly I won't be travelling alone (I might be the one in minority but I still don't have faith on Maruti for safety even after New Dzire's 5 star crash test rating).
talk.
I would agree to this point if you were considering only the Punch or Tiago. But tested Maruti cars like the new Dzire, used Brezza, or SCross would be much safer than the likes of Hyundai, Nissan, and Renault, especially since the cars you have shortlisted are made for developing markets like India with less stringent safety norms.

Last edited by graaja : 25th February 2025 at 12:29. Reason: Capitalising car names and manufacturer names
Old 25th February 2025, 21:53   #24

Eight lakhs for a car abroad is quite a tight budget; it won't be enough to buy any car, irrespective of category/class. Even for a used car, it might get you a manual small hatchback that's done some 50k km or so! It's refreshing really that you have so many cool choices for that budget in India, but you'll have to do some smart elimination to avoid buying any white-elephants. Steer clear of used/abused German cars even if you seem to think you see a tempting deal. What's too good to be true is often not true! As others have pointed out, something like a sparingly used City would be a great deal, and would serve you well. All the best!
supermax is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2025, 23:34   #25

I would have opted for the Skoda Kylaq Classic (base) variant that's priced at INR 7.89 Lakh. Add another Lakh or thereabouts for the insurance, road tax etc. So, if you could stretch your budget by another 1 Lakh, the Kylaq could be a very good idea.

The Kylaq classic comes with the best in Class Performance with 1 Litre GDI Turbo Petrol Engine with 115 PS, 178 NM Torque. 6 airbags, ABS, EBS, ESP, LED Headlight and tail lights, height adjustable driver seat, Tilt & telescopic steering, power windows adjustable headrest for all seats, electric adjustable ORVM and more.

I believe it's the best deal for around / less than INR 9 L OTR price and it's a brand new car, freshly minted, design wise. What more could one ask for?

When you can buy a brand new car for your budget (albeit stretched by another lakh or so) why would you go for a pre-owned car, that probably could be lacking a few of the features offered by Kylaq?

A pre-owned car, however good it might be, would require you to spend some amount (battery, tires, some mechanical such as suspension etc, servicing, etc) to bring it upto date. The premise is, when someone decides to sell his/her car, most of the times, the necessary repairs / replacement are overlooked as unnecessary expenditure and are foregone and those expenditure becomes inevitable and borne by the new buyer to get the car back to ship shape.

Last edited by ashkamath : 25th February 2025 at 23:44.
ashkamath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2025, 23:47   #26

Q1 - new vs pre owned?
A1 - pre owned.

Q2 - options?
A2 - City, since it's a good fun car to drive and follows fill it, shut it, forget it!
avdhesh15 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th March 2025, 21:09   #27

Dear all
I have bought a Honda elevate CVT zxi last month. Now I need another car for my day to day city drive which is less than 10 km per day. For this I have decided to go for a pre owned car. I have searched and shortlisted the following petrol cars. Pls help me deciding which one should I go with -
1. Honda City 2015, 70k odometer (at rs 4,85,000) from local dealer
2. Honda jazz 2016, 72k odometer (at rs 3,30,000) from local dealer
3. VW polo 1.0 mpi 2020, 35k odometer (at rs 4,99,000) from spinny
Old 15th March 2025, 06:14   #28

Originally Posted by rash321 View Post
Dear all
I have bought a Honda elevate CVT zxi last month. Now I need another car for my day to day city drive which is less than 10 km per day. For this I have decided to go for a pre owned car. I have searched and shortlisted the following petrol cars. Pls help me deciding which one should I go with -
Whenever you are asking for suggestions for used cars, kindly list out the variant, number of owners, transmission, etc., as well as the price difference between base model cars and top-end cars.

So considering this, I can't for sure say which car to go for, but from an overall perspective as regards reliability, price etc. The Honda Jazz is perhaps a value-for-money option with the 1.2 iVTEC, it's reliable and gets the job done, it doesn't have the resale value though, and if you sell it again don't expect much.

The City has the same engine as your Elevate albeit only with 117bhp, it holds value well as it was the most popular of the sedans and the nameplate is still in production, a good choice for a more powerful, reliable car.

The Polo is the smallest of the three in terms of size and interior space and can be a good companion, with 1.0 MPI it is also the least powerful and torquey of the lot, however, it's a 2020 model, so hardly 5 years old with low running, so should be a good option as well.

Overall considering it's your second car with low usage, spending a huge amount on it doesn't make sense and a Honda Jazz would more than suffice.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th March 2025, 00:17   #29

Dear all
Spending 5L on a 10 year old City makes no sense to me personally, I’d say instead of a ‘15 City, get a ‘13 Accord for the exact same amount. Stick to low km, single owner cars with a full service record. It’s a great daily driver, safe, decent power, 6 airbags. 0-100 under 8.5 secs
AJ56 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th March 2025, 00:33   #30

Dear all
I have bought a Honda elevate CVT zxi last month. Now I need another car for my day to day city drive which is less than 10 km per day.
The Polo is your best bet 1.2 mpi is reliable and go for something with low miles on the clock it will feel almost new. Also going with a non GT Polo or even an old 1.6 mpi Vento/Rapid is wise because you get to take full advantage of depreciation when buying used unlike other cars like the City which may have been deemed more ‘sensible’ at the time they were being sold but aren’t so much so when buying used.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com