Team-BHP - The "I Booked my Car" Thread

-   What Car? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/)
-   -   The "I Booked my Car" Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/89063-i-booked-my-car-thread-349.html)

Make: Maruti Suzuki
Model: Ignis
Variant: Zeta
Fuel: Petrol
Gearbox: Manual
Color: Nexa Blue
Dealer: Karlo Automobiles, Patna
Booking amount: 11k
Discount: 75000 incl. exchange bonus.
Old car value: Rs35000/-
Freebies: Floor Mats
Final on road Patna: Rs692000/-

Options considered : Tata Tiago, Hyundai Nios, Maruti Swift, Maruti Wagonr

This is a replacement for my Mom's 16.5 year old Alto Lxi.

Make : Kia Motors
Model : Carens
Variant: Luxury Plus D AT 7 Seater
Fuel: Diesel
Gearbox: Torque Converter AT
Color: Glacier Pearl White
Dealer: VST Central , Chennai
Booking amount: 25k
Discount: 15000
Freebies: So far None
Final on road Chennai: Rs 2342475

Break up
EX-SC 1894900
TCS 18949
Statutory Charges 3250
Regn Charges 341082
Insurance 55971
Fastag 500
Accessories 16291
Ext Warranty 26532
Discount 15000
Final 2342475

Options considered : Mahindra XUV 700 , Hyundai Alcazar/Creta , MG-Astor , Honda Elevate

This is a replacement for my Dad's 8yr old Amaze

Today I sold Maruti Suzuki Baleno Zeta 1.2 manual petrol 2018 make to Spinny for 4.73L, which will be related with a Hyundai Venue.

Booking Date: 3rd March 2024
Model: MY24 Hyundai Venue
Variant: 1.0 Turbo Petrol DCT SX(O)
Color: White
Quoted price: 15.05 lacs OTR (including extended warranty, accessory kit, zero-dep insurance)
Dealer: Karma Hyundai Noida.
Expected Delivery:10th March 2024

Car considered, in order.
1. Tata Punch Creative AMT DT - rejected due to TATA QC and ASS.
2. Hyundai Exter SX (O) AMT - Looks, low seating and bad experience with Fortune Hyundai dealership.
3. Nissan Magnite XV Premium CVT - Vibrations, vibrations and vibrations. Also, fit and finish was not that good, interior looked a bit cheap but CVT was good, and was getting a handsome discount.
4. Honda Amaze - Was looking dated and also, because of the low seating but the CVT was good.
5. Kia Sonet - All good with KIA, but Venue felt better to drive and easy to handle in traffic.

Today booked our next car for my wife (And me :D).

In the past week we have taken two TDs, one of which was almost 2.5 hrs.

VW Tiguan, in Nightshade Blue. Informed dealer that I will take a car only till Dec 2023 manufactured not any older.

Booking amount INR 25,000/- (refundable). Final amount will be paid after PDI during mid-April, as we shall be out on our vacation.
Our negotiated price will be locked till our April delivery. (One can squeeze more discounts if it is a instant purchase)

The car will be delivered at Gurugram with temporary no plate, and will be registered at Kolkata (our home town).
Dealer at Gurugram will be assisting in registration process at Kolkata with their known agent.

Dealer: VW Gurugram-Sec 62. Golf Course Road extn.
Ex-Showroom Price: 35,16,900/-
Discount: 5,00,000/-
Ex showroom after discount: 30,16,900/-
TCS 1%: 30,169/-
Insurance (Go Digit with all add-ons): 89,000/-
Temp. Registration: 2000/-
Free Service for 4 years: Free (given by VW India)
Added extended warranty (4+2): 79,059/-
Fastag: 500/-
Shall be adding accessories at later date.

Total: 32,17,628/- with temporary registration at Haryana.

Approx INR 3,51,000/- is charge for permanent registration at Kolkata.

P.S.: Will be shifting back to Kolkata after a year. VW Kolkata is not able to offer sufficient discounts on this out going model, hence taking this pain of purchase in Gurugram & registering in Kolkata.

Brdgs
Sail

Posting this a little late as I just took the delivery.

This is the second Ignis we took the deliver of within 30 days.

Make: Maruti Suzuki
Model: Ignis
Variant: Zeta
Mfg: October 2023
Gearbox: Manual
Color: Nexa Blue
Dealer: Prem Motors, Okhla Delhi
Discount: approx Rs 110000/-
Freebies: Floor Mats
Final on road: Rs696000/-

Basically I got the car on the road at an ex-showroom price.

Finally, after a lot of deliberations and going through almost all the available crossovers in the market, went ahead and booked the most underrated of them all - MG Astor 1.3 Turbo.
What turned the decision in MG's favor was the outright quality and premium feel that I got. The quality of materials used felt premium and I was blown away with the red interiors. Test drove the CVT as Turbo was not available and found it adequate. I hope the Turbo would be engaging to drive though. The car feels tight and safe at the same time. With class leading features and comfortable front seats, I could not resist myself from booking one. I hope I made a right choice:)

Make: MG
Model: Astor
Variant: Savvy 1.3 Turbo
Gearbox: Automatic
Color: Candy white/Black
Dealer: MG flagship, Gurgaon
Booking amount: 21k
Discount: 75000 incl. exchange bonus.
Booking Date: March 23, 2024
Accessories: 3D mats and scuff plates (paid)
Delivery: 3 weeks

MY 2024 comes with - wireless charging, wireless AA and Apple carplay, ventilated seats and auto IRVM, the prices have been reduced by ~80k. I was offered a 2023 MY without these features for a meagre ~1L discount.

Make: Citroen
Model: C3 Turbo
Variant: Feel ( one below top)
Mfg: 2023 model
Gearbox: 6 speed Manual
Color: Steel grey with Platinum grey roof and Vibe Grey pack ( all turbos are dual tone)
Dealer: EVM Citroen, Trivandrum
Discount: approx. 140,000/- ( all cash discount for 2023 models)
Freebies: None
Accessories added : reverse camera, Citroen comfort pack ( costs a bomb total 14,000)
Insurance : Taken outside- 23k
Final on road including the above mentioned accessories: 880,000/-

Note: did not take extended warranty ( it was a measly 1 year warranty for an additional 15k)

There is a different joy and excitement to add a post on this thread. Especially if it's the first car of your life. After driving several cars ranging from Tiguan, Seltos, Creta, Elevate, Harrier, Hector and Safari, we booked the XUV 700 AXL D AT 2024 variant with Ventilated Seats.

I hope to get time to add an ownership review soon.

Make: Mahindra
Model: XUV 700
Variant: AXL
Mfg: March 2024
Fuel: Deisel
Color: Midnight Black
Dealer: Bhavna Motors, Navi Mumbai.
Booking amount: 51k
Discount: None
Final on road: 31,96,000 Approx

After going through lot of brands/variants like Taigun, Kushaq, MG Astor, Seltos, Suzuki GV, Honda Elevate, had finally booked Creta in Feb 2024.

Make: Hyundai
Model: Creta
Variant: S(O) IVT
Color: Abyss Black
Dealer: Kothari Hyundai, Aundh, Pune
Discount: Saved around 37k on insurance as there is no discount given on new Creta FL.
Booking Date: February 16, 2024
Accessories: 7D mats, scuff plates, side moldings, Car cover.
Delivery: 9th April.
OTR Pune: 18,65,000 approx.

Make: Kia
Model: Sonet
Engine: G1.0T
Variant: HTK+
Gearbox: iMT
Color: Pewter Olive
Dealer: Frontier Kia, Delhi
Booking amount: 25k
Discount: Some savings in Insurance amount
Booking Date: 1st April, 2024
Accessories: 3D mats, Parcel tray, Mud Flaps
Delivery: 2 weeks
OTR Delhi: 12,36,000 (excluding basic kit, including extended warranty)

I am delighted to post on this thread after weeks of test drives, research and back and forth between Sub-4m cars like Sonet, Nexon, Sedans like City, Verna, Slavia, Compact SUVs like Elevate and Astor, EVs like XUV400, Kona. Finally booked Grand Vitara!

Make: Suzuki
Model: Grand Vitara
Variant: Zeta plus Hybrid eCVT
Color: Blue
Dealer: DM me
Booking amount: 50K
Discount: Around 1.5L on ex showroom (2023 Make):Cheering:
Accessories: TBD
Delivery: April 15 (Planned)
OTR Gurgaon: 18,45,000 + Insurance (Awaiting Quote with 50% NCB)

Will post a detailed thread on my buying journey.

Booked 2 Hyundai cars together. I knew I wouldn't get any discount on the Creta. On the i20, I was able to get some discount

Model: Creta
Variant: SX (O) IVT
Gearbox: IVT
Color: Robust Emerald Pearl
Booking amount: Rs. 25,000
Discount: None
Accessories purchased: Floor mats, Mud Flaps
Booking Date: 26 February 2024
Delivery Date: 28 March 2024
Final on road: Rs. 22,03,000 (approx)

Model: i20
Variant: Asta (O)
Gearbox: IVT
Color: Starry Night
Booking amount: Rs. 11,000
Discount: Rs. 48,000 (This does not include insurance price match)
Accessories purchased: Floor mats, Mud Flaps
Booking Date: 26 February 2024
Delivery Date: End of April 2024 (proposed)
Final on road: Rs. 12,33,000 + insurance

Booked Xuv7OO AX7L 6 Str D AT White.

Dealer: KhuvrajKamal Mahindra Ambattur. Chennai.

Ex Showroom : 25,93,999
TCS: 25,940
RTO: 5,22,350
Insurance: 1,50,961
4th Year Warranty: 18,643
RSA: 2021
Accessories: 32,000
Fast Tag: 600
Total Quoted: 33,46,517

Negotiations:
Insurance discount: -59,000
Cash discount: -25,000
Accessories excluded: -32,000
Total discount amount: - 1,16,000

Nett OTR: 32,30,517

ETA: 23rd Apr'24.

Alternatives considered-

Tata Safari: Decided against it because of the surge of reported issues related to electrics and electronics in the facelifted models and also there is a Safari in the family already.
Tiguan: Ride quality wasnt appreciated by elderly parents seated in the back seat.
Tucson: Runner up. It lost the race when we contemplated in vain the reason why we'd be paying the premium for this car over the Xuv or Safari or even Alcazar.

In 2016, after slogging for 8 years at my first job, at the ripe age of 35, I bought my (and my family's) first car for Rs.7.00 lakhs on-road. I had to wipe-out my entire savings until then, plus borrow some more money from relatives to buy it.

Now in 2024, at the age of 44, it looks like my first car will also be my LAST car. Thanks to the eye-watering current (and likely future) prices :unhappy

P.S: I'm employed in non-IT sector. Not sure if this post belongs here or on threads like IT industry salary survey or What Car @ What Salary ?
At this rate of price rise in cars and 2-wheelers, I'm fairly certain that when I retire, I will end up where I started - walking, bicycle & public transport.

Originally Posted by srvm (Post 5755964)
In 2016, after slogging for 8 years at my first job, at the ripe age of 35, I bought my (and my family's) first car for Rs.7.00 lakhs on-road. I had to wipe-out my entire savings until then, plus borrow some more money from relatives to buy it.

Now in 2024, at the age of 44, it looks like my first car will also be my LAST car. Thanks to the eye-watering current (and likely future) prices :unhappy

P.S: I'm employed in non-IT sector. Not sure if this post belongs here or on threads like IT industry salary survey or What Car @ What Salary ?
At this rate of price rise in cars and 2-wheelers, I'm fairly certain that when I retire, I will end up where I started - walking, bicycle & public transport.

That's a real bummer. Don't sweat it though. I've got my second car now.