2019 Arjuna Award: Rally ace Gaurav Gill nominated

Three-time Asia Pacific Rally Champion (APRC) Gaurav Gill has been nominated for the 2019 Arjuna Award. The awards will be officially announced on September 25, 2019.

Gaurav Gill has won the APRC title in 2013, 2016 and 2017. He has six Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) titles under his belt.

Earlier this year, Gill announced that he would be leading Team JK Tyre Rallying in the national and international events. He also plans to take part in select events of the World Rally 2 Championship. He is also involved in grooming young drivers with ambitions to compete in the sport.

Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to recognize achievements in sports. For 2019, there have been 19 nominations including cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam for hockey, Ajay Thakur for kabaddi, Swapna Burman for athletics and Pooja Dhanda for wrestling.

Seat belts save lives