News

Car brands you would love to own once they fix their issues

I would love to own a Tata car, off-late they are killing it with their design elements. However, as we all know design alone is not enough.

BHPian vvivek85 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Before I start let me clarify the following, this thread is in no way targeting a particular brand. As we all know there are many top-line executives from different brands who are taking TeamBHP seriously, I thought of having this poll which can be an eye-opener for the brands that can get real-time feedback and pull up their socks.

Now "issues" can be anything and everything, to name a few, no 5-star ratings, flimsy build quality, frequent niggles, lethargic service technicians, brand complacency, delay in adoption to the latest and greatest, poor supply chain planning, etc.

I have voted for TATA, as I have called out in many instances, I would love to own a TATA car, but off-late they are killing it with their design elements with the latest being TATA Curvv and TATA Sierra. However, as we all know design alone is not enough; I want TATA to rectify the current shortcomings raised by the existing owners to give us a complete product with lesser issues. In fact, I am having an eye on Sierra as I would want my next car to be either a hybrid or EV and I am sure there will be many like me who would want their car to be XXX, please share your opinion. Thanks.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

What an excellent thread idea, thanks for sharing. I have two Mahindras in my garage & would love to own a Tata someday. But they need to get their QC in order for that to happen, and consistently deliver reliable niggle-free cars. If SUV, they would need to offer AWD which is currently missing on the Harrier / Safari. I love Tata Motors because of how the brand has evolved in the last 5 years, and its gorgeous styling & of course because it's an Indian brand. Although I have no qualms about buying MNC cars either since they invest thousands of crores in India and create lakhs of jobs.

Here's what BHPian Axe77 had to say on the matter:

Without a smidgen of doubt, that would be Skoda (or VW) for me.

They're relatively well-priced (if you compare them with full-fat German luxury brands) and the closest feel you can get to proper European fit and finish.

The Superb and the Kodiaq would be top-of-list choices for me, as would the Passat (if it were sold again) or Octavia.

Here's what BHPian CoolFire had to say on the matter:

My vote goes to Hyundai but includes Kia too. Let them solve the safety shortcoming of their mainstream cars and they become the best all-rounders. In the case of Hyundai, it would be nice if they can mellow down their design language too.

Here's what BHPian AYP had to say on the matter:

1. I'd like to own a VAG(VW/Skoda) if they bring back the diesel.
  2. I'd like to own a Toyota if they introduce some enthusiastic cars to our market. Turbo petrol is a thing Toyota, you know this already. The same goes for Honda.
  3. I would like to own cars from our own Indian brands if they can fix the niggles which still plague them.

Here's what BHPian RedTerrano had to say on the matter:

Did not vote as I have a slightly different perspective.

I am old enough to have seen vehicles puking disgusting smoke and other crap out of the tailpipe. Then Maruti arrived on the scene and it was almost magical to see water droplets drip out.

In recent years, we learnt that invisible does not necessarily mean healthy. A clean tailpipe can still emit toxic gases.

Right now electricity seems to be the cleaner future. However, I am personally not that convinced, especially after reading about the efforts (and pollution) it takes to mine stuff which makes up an electric battery. And mind you, we are yet to reach the stage where we will face the problem of disposing of batteries which are end of life.

For me, the answer seems to be Hydrogen, which might solve many issues currently associated with vehicle emissions. I was fortunate to see water out of a tailpipe. I hope I live long enough to see the same water in the tank inlet.

Infinite energy! Hell yeah! (Just kidding. No such thing)

So for me, anyone who wins the race for hydrogen-powered vehicles is the one I would love to own.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people