Old 8th November 2007, 13:32   #886

Hmm since sub arrival will take some time here is a update on the mid bass remounting done.

Earlier the midbass was below the door panel mounted like this..

but I wanted to mount it from above the door panel as some sound was playing inside the door panel. So I mounted a ring on the earlier spacer to fill the gap between the door panel and the door frame.

the door panel was cut and damped more...

and here is the final result

The midrange and the tweeter mounting are still pending as the frame is yet to be made but will be done soon.

The mounting was done with help of my friend Harpreet (Bullet guy at the meet)

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 8th November 2007 at 13:50.
Old 8th November 2007, 18:15   #887

Holy Moley!

That looks very good to me. Almost the best way to fasten a midbass to a Swift door. I am sure there's a tremendous improvement.

One question - did you ascertain that there is no leakage where the mdf and 'what looks like Aluminium' ring make contact with each other?

One more question, do you have a pic of the part where ET steps out?
Old 8th November 2007, 18:22   #888

Nice work bhaiya, the midbass must be fitting snug. Also like the way the ring/grill is finished.

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
the door panel was cut and damped more...
So at this stage how much damping has gone in?
Old 8th November 2007, 18:53   #889

Looks good, l_b_m. I'd seen an identical install in a Swift (with 3-ways, that I'd mentioned earlier someplace).

The spacer-extension-method was used there also for th mid-bass (but it was all-MDF spacer). Now if only the lazy-@$$ owner of that Swift would post pics!
Old 8th November 2007, 20:44   #890

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
The spacer-extension-method was used there also for th mid-bass (but it was all-MDF spacer). Now if only the lazy-@$$ owner of that Swift would post pics!
Now that lazy-a$$ owner wouldn't just happen to have a beard bigger than LBM's, would he??
Old 8th November 2007, 23:06   #891

LBM what subs have u ordered?
Old 8th November 2007, 23:37   #892

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Holy Moley!

That looks very good to me. Almost the best way to fasten a midbass to a Swift door. I am sure there's a tremendous improvement.

One question - did you ascertain that there is no leakage where the mdf and 'what looks like Aluminium' ring make contact with each other?

One more question, do you have a pic of the part where ET steps out?
ya there is nearly 20-30 % in the midbass output.

no there is no leakage as double tape was applied between them

Hmm next time I will surely take.
Old 8th November 2007, 23:40   #893

Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
So at this stage how much damping has gone in?
Approx 20 sq feet in each door.

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Looks good, l_b_m. I'd seen an identical install in a Swift (with 3-ways, that I'd mentioned earlier someplace).

I would love to see that. May be I might learn something from it.
Old 8th November 2007, 23:42   #894

Originally Posted by amit_sound View Post
LBM what subs have u ordered?
Very soon my friend ..
Old 8th November 2007, 23:59   #895

hmm....aachi baat hai...tadpa ley, aur tadpa ley.

So still a month for you to speak up haan..

Kaash main police main hota.....toh tere ko uuthva kay, interrogation kar kay uugalva leta

Chalo anyways, Best of luck....Atleast tell ki u getting SPL or SQL this time?
Old 9th November 2007, 00:05   #896

thank you sir....This time SQL again as I can go loud and clear at the same time.
Old 9th November 2007, 00:38   #897

HI LBM,
Nice work on the door pannel,would love to know how you changed the grille of swift door pannel,and why you used steel spacer that too on woden ring,did u wanted to increase the weight for speaker mounting so that the midbass gets solid base!!
Tell you something 99% of people on this plannet demonstrate and rest does experiments,you are in 1% category!!

Happy diwali to all,Safety is must esp for childern!
Old 9th November 2007, 00:39   #898

hmm....aachi baat hai...tadpa ley, aur tadpa ley.

So still a month for you to speak up haan..

Kaash main police main hota.....toh tere ko uuthva kay, interrogation kar kay uugalva leta

Says the man who himself is keeping his new setup a secret!!

Amit - If you were in Delhi, we would have already picked you up & tortured you over some Alcohol & Kukkad & by now gotten to know what you're getting for your car
Old 9th November 2007, 00:40   #899

P.S. LBM - If I'm not mistaken that's a milled Aluminium spacer, right?
Old 9th November 2007, 01:14   #900

hmm...iraghava, yes i am upgrading....

But i will start discussing it in another thread. This one is for LBM.

bol LBM bol..... hehehe

Last edited by amit_sound : 9th November 2007 at 01:26.