Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th July 2009, 14:46   #496
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj123 View Post
Came across this site Binary World | Where The Powerful Get Plugged In based out of Bangalore, it gives the retail prices of majority of the hardware devices which all of us generally look out.

Such sites are quite useful specially if you want to configure your own PC considering the your budget. I agree that they donít have very high end stuff but still the range available is quite reasonable. The prices quoted seems to reasonable as it is updated on a daily basis.

I have bought a CPU from this site & till now I donít have any hardware related issue.
i must say the price is very competitive even if compared to nehru place.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 00:01   #497
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@aaggoswami - I decided not to buy the i7, budget being the main criteria, i needed something within 30k. i7 will continue to be the top of the line, but lynnfield is just around the corner, i believe that the entry level lynnfield would easily beat the Q9400/9550 and that too at lower price points than the Q9400/9550. So no point in going for expensive (Q series) quad cores right now, also I'm not sure about the continuity of socket 775.

Thanks for suggesting a sweet configuration for AMD, AMD definitely is VFM. But I am sticking with Intel this time though. I have finalised the following configuration

Intel Q8400 2.66Ghz 4MB Cache
Asus P5Q-EM
4GB DDR2 800
640 GB HDD + case + smps
for 24k approx.
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2009, 11:44   #498
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
So no point in going for expensive (Q series) quad cores right now, also I'm not sure about the continuity of socket 775.

Thanks for suggesting a sweet configuration for AMD, AMD definitely is VFM. But I am sticking with Intel this time though. I have finalised the following configuration

Intel Q8400 2.66Ghz 4MB Cache
Asus P5Q-EM
4GB DDR2 800
640 GB HDD + case + smps
for 24k approx.
IMO, the 775 socket will not die early. As mentioned by you, Socket 1156 will be the one to take over the 9XXX quads. Its rumored that Lynnfiend will come in dual core also. Which ever comes first, quad or dual in that format remains to be seen, but 775 is not dying early.
About the current config you are about to buy, let me warn you, this is the worst quad. I have one, bought it to save my project as one of my team member's ( ) PC was not in good state. Old config it was.
This quad has a tendency to overheat. I found out that my X2 5000+ was running cooler than this quad.
Make sure you have better cooler than the stock intel cooler and also use a better thermal paste than the Intel preapplied one. This can bring temperature down a bit.

My final opinion is that avoid this quad, and I am speaking from my own experience.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 30th July 2009 at 11:50.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2009, 00:36   #499
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

After reading your post, i inquired with my dealer about the Q8400 overheating. He said he has given many similar configurations with no problems. I know him for the last 5 years and has been reliable. on top of it, i can change it if i have a problem with it from him in no time. Maybe yours was a one off case or there was some other problem.

BTW was the Q8400 running hotter or was it overheating and shutting down?

Last edited by IMP : 31st July 2009 at 00:38.
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2009, 00:44   #500
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMP View Post
After reading your post, i inquired with my dealer about the Q8400 overheating. He said he has given many similar configurations with no problems. I know him for the last 5 years and has been reliable. on top of it, i can change it if i have a problem with it from him in no time. Maybe yours was a one off case or there was some other problem.

BTW was the Q8400 running hotter or was it overheating and shutting down?
Initially I had the Q8200. It was going as high as 95 deg. So bought this Q8400. This also touches 75, but its safer. Tried everything but nothing is working.
In case if you have problem you can change, then ofcousre go for this quad. With 64bit OS ( I am using Windows 7 which is validated till 2010 ), I am able to extract a great deal of performance.

Also the ambient temperature is also affecting the max temp reached.
But you can very well go ahead with this considering that you vendor is confirming no issue. I inquried at the place from where I purchased the Q8200 and later on Q8400. He said there are a lot of issues with them, but things are sorted out since last month. I would say that my experience with both Q8200 and Q8400 is bad. But Google says Q8400 is good and better than Q8200. Go ahead.

I am already having a history of overheating components, so my case might be one off.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2009, 20:33   #501
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 37
Thanked: 2 Times
Lightbulb Help with selection of Mobo-Processor-RAM Combo.

Hi,

My motherboard gave up on me and had to hunt for a combo within 10k. Below are the components which I have narrowed it down to

01. AMD Athlon X2 5200
02. Asus M3N78-EM motherboard.
03. Kingston 2GB DDR2 - 800Mhz

My current motherboard is ATX and this one is micro-ATX. Hope I will not have any problem. Also, my SMPS is 450W one.

Can the gurus throw some light if the "chosen ones" are the right ones

Thanks
TracerBullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 08:36   #502
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TracerBullet View Post
Hi,

My motherboard gave up on me and had to hunt for a combo within 10k. Below are the components which I have narrowed it down to

01. AMD Athlon X2 5200
02. Asus M3N78-EM motherboard.
03. Kingston 2GB DDR2 - 800Mhz

My current motherboard is ATX and this one is micro-ATX. Hope I will not have any problem. Also, my SMPS is 450W one.
If possible, avoid Asus. Their RMA is yet to get more efficient to an extent that I can call customer friendly. MSI and Gigabyte are the ones to offer the best RMA support.

If its Rs. 10 K budget in which you want mobo + processor + Ram, I will suggest you the following
1) Processor : AMD Athlon x2 7580+ BE, Rs. 3400.
2) Mobo : MSI K9A2GM-FIH, Rs. 4400K approx.
3) RAM : Kingston 1 X 2GB DDR2 800 MHz, Rs. 1250 approx.

This will cost you around Rs. 9K.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 10:57   #503
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOIDA
Posts: 38
Thanked: Once
Default

I am looking for a best possible assembled configuration inclusive all items(all in one printer).
My budget is arount 50,000 all inclusive.
My requirement Mostly wathing movies and surfing internet.
22 inches LCD is must(which make). Experts pls help me make this computer will buy it from nehru place delhi . Pls also list the model number and price. If some body knows a good reliable shop in nehru place let me know.
Thanks in advance.
amitbjha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 15:25   #504
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOIDA
Posts: 38
Thanked: Once
Default

come on experts
Is this a good configuration
Attached Files
File Type: xls comp.xls (26.5 KB, 107 views)

Last edited by amitbjha : 3rd August 2009 at 15:27.
amitbjha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 16:20   #505
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 562
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Where is your GPU?? Also would not suggest the extreme power series from CM. Go for a better PSU. And do you actually need an i7??
mav2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 17:02   #506
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOIDA
Posts: 38
Thanked: Once
Default

PSu will be probably crossair VX450. If i can save money can go for lower configuration as well can you suggest me one.
amitbjha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 19:16   #507
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Most of the 17"/18.5" DELL TFTs are coming without DVI port. Beware. I would say that DELL in that range is not VFM.
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 19:24   #508
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 518
Thanked: 97 Times
Default 512MB/133MHz SDRAM module in b'lore.

Please help me in sourcing 512MB/133MHz SDRAM in bangalore ? I need it for my old desktop which has 845GL Chipset.

Thanks.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 13:30   #509
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitbjha View Post
come on experts
Is this a good configuration
What MFD you are planning ? If you are not going to print a lot of documents, a cheaper MFD with inkjet will do. But if more are planned then you will have to go for laser MFD as they are more cost effective in the long run.

I dont think you need core i7.

Can you put up you final budget as your own config is above Rs. 55K ?
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 13:52   #510
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitbjha View Post
I am looking for a best possible assembled configuration inclusive all items(all in one printer).
My budget is arount 50,000 all inclusive.
My requirement Mostly wathing movies and surfing internet.
I dont think you need a quad core CPU. A Dual core will do. I will post a config here :

Processor : AMD 7850+, Rs. 3,350
Mobo : K9A2GM-FIH, Rs. 4,400. This mobo has HDMI port.
Cabinet : Elite Cabinet 500w, Rs. 1,500
RAM : 4GB Kingston DDR2 800 MHz RAM, Rs. 2,550
Optical Drive : LG DVD Writer, Rs. 1,200
HDD : As you have mentioned, Rs. 5,500
Monitor : Benq E2220, Rs. 13,500

Total : Rs. 32000.

Now lets come to MFD : As mentioned in my earlier post also, depends on what you need. I will however recommend you Laser MFD.
The following are good options :
HP Lasterjet M1005, Rs. 10,500. Total with PC : Rs. 42,500
Brother DCP-7030. Rs. 11,900. Total with PC : Rs. 43,900
Canon Imageclass MF 4320X, Rs. 14,500. Total with PC : Rs. 46,500
Brother MFC-7340, Rs. 18,000. Total with PC : Rs. 50,000

Brother MFC-7340 is the best but the most expensive.
If you dont want to spend Rs. 50K, go for Brother DCP-7030 that will cost less and overall config of the PC + MFD will be Rs. 43.9K.

Now I am not sure if the cabinet that you are posting has an SMPS or not.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing bheem Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 20th October 2008 13:35
ICE config for Palio amitverma In-Car Entertainment 6 10th May 2006 12:42
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25
Needed: Best Audio config for a tata Indica msk_kapoor In-Car Entertainment 52 24th February 2006 09:44
Proposed Audio Config.. allajunaki In-Car Entertainment 38 31st August 2005 23:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:04.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks