Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2010, 15:50   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Delhi
Posts: 185
Thanked: 5 Times
Default 3G - Delhi - MTNL any good?

Just curious if anyone here is using the MTNL 3G service with their cellphones.

What kind of speeds are available?

Coverage in/around south delhi/gurgaon - Okhla/Def Col/Saket/Sainik Farms etc.
Speeding@160mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 15:55   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
suman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

A fellow bhpian - Abhik - is about to throw away his MTNL 3G connection. You can PM him for further information.

The biggest problem with MTNL in the NCR is sporadic coverage. We have an MTNL connection (which I'd picked up before I went to Leh last year) - coverage is pathetic in Gurgaon & even in Delhi. We rarely use it till such time we head out of town to the BSNL areas - and then it holds its own!! I don't think 3G will be very much better.

Last edited by suman : 1st July 2010 at 15:57.
suman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 20:02   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
deky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 1,192
Thanked: 1,029 Times
Default

Suman is right, I have a BSNL 2g and when I am driving from Jaipur to Delhi, I loose signal for about 5kms or so around NH8 close to Mansesar. This has been happening for the last so many years and no action has been taken.

Even while roaming in Gurgaon, there is full signal but a lot of times calls can not be completed ( dont know if its beacuse I am on roaming then)

In Delhi 90% of the times the signal is good and voice clarity is ok (except some places where there are signal jammers)

IMO Only good thing about MTNL is that its cheap and most of the times in far flung locations you would find a BSNL tower atleast.
deky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 10:19   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,355
Thanked: 754 Times
Default

I ahve a 3g conection and recently the service has drastically gone down. The people say my cell is switched off or outside the coverage area while I am very well at the same location I was about 5 minutes back talking on my cell phone. Another wierd thing is that the caller says I didnot pick up the phone while it didnot even ring in the first place. Net downloads are pretty fast though. When ever the connection does go through I ahve had no issues of voice clarity though at times the call does get dropped. But over all not entirely bad and the video calls are also very crisp and clear.
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 11:41   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

In simple words - DO NOT EVEN THINK OF !! unless and untill pvt. players enter into the competition.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 12:39   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
myavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi - Kochi
Posts: 1,057
Thanked: 515 Times
Thumbs up

Totally disagreed.

My MTNL 3G rocks (had a postpaid and prepaid). I use it for phone browsing and as a modem with my laptop.

Getting 2mbps download speed 0.2mbps upload speed (as per speedtest.net) laptop browsing after 9pm.

Earlier there was a problem with MTNL 3G. I had to call 100+ times Customer Care, visited Nehru place and CGO Sanchar Haat. (This was with my MTNL prepaid 3G connection used by wify, mine is a post paid) It was a hell like, then suddenly on May end MTNL announces free migration to 3G for all subscribers. Then onwards both our connection always put a WOW on our face. What a charm to watch Youtube videos in Opera Mini.

My MTNL TARIFF PLAN - 3G Jadoo Pay Per Second

Handset - Sony Ericsson W760i

Location - Khanpur

NB: I agree 100% to wanderernomad on call dropping and other issues


Cheers!

Last edited by myavu : 2nd July 2010 at 12:42.
myavu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 12:53   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
suman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myavu View Post
Location - Khanpur
So are you saying that you are getting excellent coverage all over the NCR or are you getting it only at Khanpur?
suman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 13:28   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
myavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi - Kochi
Posts: 1,057
Thanked: 515 Times
Default

I can say at Khanpur, CP and Gurgaon - near IFFCO Chowk. (When connected to laptop)

In phone, it is available where ever I go in South Delhi & MG Road/Mall Road Gurgaon
myavu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 13:41   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,355
Thanked: 754 Times
Default

Coverage issues are not bad. Plus as I said its very good for browsing. During my last vacation I used it as a modem and the speeds were excellent. But when you consider it solely for say telephony I would say look elsewhere, but if you are looking for all the extras then stick with it or even buy one, its not all that bad. You soon learn to live with the hiccups.
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 13:53   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
suman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myavu View Post
In phone, it is available where ever I go in South Delhi & MG Road/Mall Road Gurgaon
So I can't figure what you meant when you said that you totally disagreed

To me, the NCR covers much more than South Delhi & Mall Road in Gurgaon. As I mentioned, the coverage is extremely sporadic in the NCR for people who use it for telephony. And the call drops can be extremely annoying.
suman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 14:07   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
myavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi - Kochi
Posts: 1,057
Thanked: 515 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by suman View Post
So I can't figure what you meant when you said that you totally disagreed

To me, the NCR covers much more than South Delhi & Mall Road in Gurgaon. As I mentioned, the coverage is extremely sporadic in the NCR for people who use it for telephony. And the call drops can be extremely annoying.
I am talking about the places I had traveled and traveling daily/weekly and I repplied to the 3G service part (that was the query)

Rest I don't know... Overall I am a satisfied customer of MTNL 3G (at time call drops annoys). Excellent roaming coverage under BSNL network. And cheap rates.

@ Speeding@160mph Just go for it!

Regards

Vinu

Last edited by myavu : 2nd July 2010 at 14:20.
myavu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 15:20   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,044
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default

MTNL and BSNL are good, but God help you if you have a problem. Do not expect and support. Wait for the provate players, or go through the EVDO route on CDMA.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 16:47   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 161
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
MTNL and BSNL are good, but God help you if you have a problem. Do not expect and support. Wait for the provate players, or go through the EVDO route on CDMA.
I dont understand why we need to have an aversion against BSNL/MTNL. I am using BSNL 3G, and its been quite good so far. I dont think they are anyway near the best, but in terms of speed, i have got around 3.2Mbps burst and 2.8-3.0Mbps consistently.

Also- EVDO on CDMA has been a failure- never think of going that route..!!
xotiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 13:08   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myavu View Post
Totally disagreed.

My MTNL 3G rocks (had a postpaid and prepaid). I use it for phone browsing and as a modem with my laptop.

Getting 2mbps download speed 0.2mbps upload speed (as per speedtest.net) laptop browsing after 9pm.

Earlier there was a problem with MTNL 3G. I had to call 100+ times Customer Care, visited Nehru place and CGO Sanchar Haat. (This was with my MTNL prepaid 3G connection used by wify, mine is a post paid) It was a hell like, then suddenly on May end MTNL announces free migration to 3G for all subscribers. Then onwards both our connection always put a WOW on our face. What a charm to watch Youtube videos in Opera Mini.

My MTNL TARIFF PLAN - 3G Jadoo Pay Per Second

Handset - Sony Ericsson W760i

Location - Khanpur

NB: I agree 100% to wanderernomad on call dropping and other issues


Cheers!
I have been using the MTNL 3G on my HTC HD2 and the speeds simply rock. I am extremely happy with the browsing speeds.

However I am extremely dissatisfied with the roaming coverage, especially the data part.
On my recent trip to Ludhiana, while driving from Delhi I had good GPRS coverage till Ambala, but after that all the way up to ludhiana, while I was there and all the way back to Delhi I had no GPRS coverage. The moment I attempted to connect to the internet I used to get the error The remote computer has disconnected or The remote computer did not respond.
I tried rebooting my device several times, but of no avail. Even when I was back in Delhi the data did not work and when I restarted in Delhi it again started working like a dream.

During all the above time, I simply did not have any issues with the Voice and/ or Network coverage part.

I would please like fellow users to share their experience with regards to the roaming coverage on MTNL 3G.
I am not saying that I want 3G speeds all over India, but atleast the Data Service should work.
Calling up Customer Care, as everyone knows is like banging my head on a wall.
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2010, 14:37   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,355
Thanked: 754 Times
Default

Recently my 3G has gone from bad to worse. I am unable to connect to the net despite over 2 months of troubleshooting by MTNL. I wonder why. It used to work ok before but now it doesnot even connect. I am using a prepaid connection, do i need to buy a data card or simply the regular trump topups should be enough?
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL 3G "Jadoo" services - any one using ? emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 17th November 2009 21:27
Planning long holiday, Delhi-Leh-Delhi, Delhi-Gangotri-Delhi by road arunforu1 Route / Travel Queries 19 22nd August 2009 02:25
Any good Independant or TATA workshops in S.Delhi/Noida? Deeps Indian Car Dealerships 13 19th October 2007 19:02
MTNL TriBand Mumbai & Delhi FREE UPGRADE TO 2 Mbps !!!! srasania Shifting gears 41 11th January 2007 17:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks