Well it was too good to last. Whenever I read about Skoda car owners being burnt by the company's dealers, I would touch wood and sigh in relief that I was not the victim. That ended this month.
Given below is my experience with JMD Bhandup, my subsequent complaint to Skoda Customer Care and lack of redressal from the company and the dealer.
There are a lot of threads on this forum where people have expressed the hope that Skoda's service has improved. JMD Skoda has also been touted as one of the better dealers of Skoda.
Judge for yourself: (I have blanked out my email ID and Car regn number in below mails exchanged with Skoda India)
Bomi@xxxx.com Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 2:36 PM
To: SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care
Subject: Skoda Octavia vRS - VIN TMBELJ1U14*******
Dear Sir
My car was given for repair to JMD Bhandup, Mumbai workshop on 6th July, 2013. The car was accepted by JMD’s service advisor, Mr. Charith. At the time of accepting the car, all lights were checked in my presence, by Mr. Charith, and except for the parking light in the RHS headlamp cluster, all were found to be in working order.
I had instructed JMD Bhandup to replace the parking bulb in the RHS headlamp cluster.
Yesterday, on 10th July evening, the car was delivered back to me and when I checked the car at JMD workshop, before taking delivery, I found the following defects:
1. LHS xenon bulb was not working (this was working perfectly fine for the last several years and also when I handed over the car to JMD Bhandup)
As I was driving home from the JMD Bhandup workshop, I found one more defect:
2. RHS main beam was not working
At the workshop, Mr. Charith’s response to my query was “the lights are electronic items, and although they could be working when we took your car for repairs, they have malfunctioned during repairs”.
I find the simultaneous failure of the LHS Xenon and the RHS main beam, suspicious. Clearly, the work done was shoddy. Please note that the car has been driven by myself right from 2005 onwards and I have always kept it in a tip-top condition.
I request you to instruct JMD Bhandup, to correct the LHS Xenon and the RHS main beam at their cost, with a copy to me.
Thank you.
SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care [
mailto:customercare@skoda-auto.co.in]
Sent: July 11, 2013 04:11 PM
To: xxxx, Bomi
Subject: Acknowledgement Mail: Mr.Bomi
Dear Mr.Bomi,
Greetings from Skoda Auto!!! Acknowledgement
We are in receipt of your below mail and had noted the contents. In order to address the concern effectively, Request you to kindly share with us your vehicle registration number or plate number. Please be rest assured that the concern will addressed at your entire satisfaction as per Skoda Auto norms.
Hope your understanding on the same and assuring our best services at all times.
Nikhil Poojary
Customer Support | 1800-209-4646
Škoda Auto India Pvt. Ltd
xxxx, Bomi [
mailto:Bomi.xxxx@xxxx.com]
Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 4:49 PM
To: SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care
Subject: RE: Acknowledgement Mail: Mr.Bomi
Nikhil,
My vehicle registration number is MH**** ****.
SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care [
mailto:customercare@skoda-auto.co.in]
Sent: July 11, 2013 05:17 PM
To: xxxx, Bomi
Cc:crm.bhandup@skodajmd.com;
Sheetal.Khanijoan@skodajmd.com Subject: Acknowledgement Mail: MH-**-**-**** Mr.Bomi
Dear Mr.Bomi,
Greetings from Skoda Auto!!! Acknowledgement
At the outset we understand your concern and regret for the inconvenience caused to your good selves, if any. We have taken up the matter with the respective dealership and will revert back to you by way of further resolution at the earliest. Kindly bear with us till such times.
Trust your kind understanding on the same.
Nikhil Poojary
Customer Support | 1800-209-4646
Škoda Auto India Pvt. Ltd
Fom:xxxx, Bomi
Sent: July 17, 2013 03:50 PM
To: 'SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care'
Subject: RE: Acknowledgement Mail: MH-**-**-**** Mr.Bomi
Dear Nikhil
I have not heard from Skoda or the dealership on this matter that I raised 6 days ago. If there is no solution to offer, please state so.
Sent: July 22, 2013 10:29 AM
To: 'SKIN R: Aurangabad, Skoda India Customer Care'
Subject: RE: Acknowledgement Mail: MH-**-**-**** Mr.Bomi - Final Reminder
Dear Nikhil
Its been 11 days since I raised a complaint to Skoda India. There has been no response from Skoda India or its dealer JMD Auto, Bhandup.
After 3 more working days, I will post this thread on Team BHP forum, of which I am a member. Let the public and your other customers be aware of how you treat customers.