ji jesh. 4 months and a week later, my VDi completes 10,000km.
Its been a great awesome time, and things have been way better than I expected - so even though its (YET another) VDi report - need to record the experience so far.
First up, in terms of stats. I've spent 5.4 on purchase, ~17000 on fuel so far (plus half a tank yet to go), 3479 on servicing, 7556 on accesories (NO ICE!) and its been FUN every moment!
Background:
I still remember one of my very first threads being about the touring gaddi. Just that my calculations are woefully wrong. Instead of 1500km/month - its done 2500km/month despite some insane work schedules and delivery delays else i should've crossed 17k by now
Anyways, cutting to the chase, in July, despite jugaad with Competent Motors, I decided to go ahead and source it myself. AAA Vehicleades was the final dealer who promised a quick turnaround. (read 1.5-2 months)
Quick lowdown on the dealer, located in Savitri Nagar:
a. Honest guys - Pradeep my salesman has been forthright in his dealings. Turned down my efforts to bribe as well (was just testing but he passed!)
b. Great management - Mr Chibber is extremely frank, open and helpful. Perfect lead
c. Zero discounts - I was a dolt as well, so didn't try to bargain on the insurance itself either. But then we know how a Swift purchase is like!
d. Lovely PDI - I had zilch complaints.
e. Zero clue of Diesel engines - No serious. Turbo idling is for aliens! Au contraire, the expertise shown by Mr Chauhan, DGM-Works Apra has been exemplary. For any paid works, i would wholeheartedly recommend Apra just for him and him only.
f. Painful if you are going to get it registered in Haryana. Their "registration expert" Pankaj is a faff god who only gets in your way.
g. Overpriced accesories - I mean - who'll buy a gearlock/stereo that costs 20% lesser from outside dealers WITH b/w!!
I got it in 80 days despite trying hard through direct Maruti jugaad - because I was arrogant to book ABS in the sunlight copper color! Had I booked some boring color, I may have got it earlier :P
Coming to the service - mostly done at Competent Auto Gurgaon. Key points:
a. Lovely deal - 3 free services from them and you get the fourth one free.
b. Awesome workshop - great it is. No madness like Dhingra motors.h
c. Overpriced on alignment - 1000 bucks for a swift that's done just 5000km.
d. Not bothered in getting the car dry dented - will just fully change. Apra is slightly more open in that respect
Service expenses:
Engine Oil Change - Mobil delvac super1300 15 w 40, Oil filter 1155
"Dry denting (fender) Touchup paint" 700
Second free service as per Manual 0
Wheel rotation and balancing 250
Bumper bracket post accident 104
Engine Oil Change - GTX Diesel 15 w 40, Oil filter 1270
Similarly breakup of accesories expenses(7556):
Brand Price
Seat Covers Elegant 1737
Autocop gearlock Autocop 1200
Llumar sunfilm Llumar 2100
Cellmate phone mount Cellmate 119
Assorted shampoo/waxes. Assorted 290
Mico +30% lamps Mico 190
ERD cellphone charger ERD 120
Floormats Taiwanese 550
Mudflaps NA 250
Antirust treatment at Rakesh Auto 3M 1000
What I have not yet done for want of Vitamin M: Alloys, Tyres, ICE :P
What I do religiously weekly is to wax the car every week.
Now that the sundry data is out of the way, onto more experiential stuff.
a. NVH - Noticeable only at startup like all SwiftDs - just as smooth as the first day
b. Gearbox - its a Maruti - ie using the first gear while moving is tough to engage
c. Rattling - Quite low. Very less on city roads - horribly boomy interiors though and on bad hill roads, the noise has come from every corner of the car
d. FE has been awesome.
e. The steering has what I would've called a videogame feeling - totally disconnected esp with those tyres. This car's steering begs for some feedback.
f. I've pushed her to 140 kph enroute to Jaipur but that's about it. regular cruising is 100-120.
g. This car has redefined my understanding of handling - simply awesome.
h. The midrange is maddening. Its replaced the daily ride to office because I reach non-sweaty and save 10 mins too!
i. Rear visibility is horrible but one manages. Over the palio, I ABSOLUTELY love the ultra short turning radius - VERY useful.
j. Surprisingly, the driver's seat has been very comfortable for my poor back and I like it lots.Its quite a good car to drive loong hours!
As for the scratches, yeah - needs to be put down as well:
a. 4000km - reversed onto a barricade in a parking - so that a car can fit in next to mine WITHOUT scratching
Result: Fender dry denting - touchup on bumper
b. 6000km(?) Tavera that came up next to mine on a U turn - I was looking left for traffic to clear - eased off the clutch and got a hickie on the car - but its not much prominent.
Here's some pics of the car:
Attachment 96708
Trying to click long-exposure pics of waterbodies. But tsk can't be replicated!!
ranthambore:
PS: I am philosophically against any long term report before 30-40k but 10k is when I decided to put my thoughts down. I somehow find it amusing that people start a running report in 300km