Old 28th May 2008, 13:19   #331

Originally Posted by wanderlustindia View Post
Bad choice for stock tires.
Zappers are good in terms of grip, but really bad in braking and wet conditions.
Originally Posted by manish7 View Post
17 BHP is a bit let-down for many!
Only 17 bhp for all the technology they boast of? Whats the use in buying a 1.05L bike if pulsar guys are going to leave it for dead!
Old 28th May 2008, 13:26   #332

A big letdown. More than Ek Peti for a 17bhp bike is not good news. I too was expecting it to be a minimum of 20bhp and the price would have been justified to some extent.

I was keen to swap my pulsar for this one had it been priced in vicinity of 90K and ofcourse with 20bhp of power
Old 28th May 2008, 13:49   #333

17 Bhp?

If the 17 BHP on the R15 is true then
for many the wait for the Ninja 250 begins!!
Old 28th May 2008, 15:52   #334

Manish where did you get this news from? 17bhp at what rpm? What about the torque? Whats the claimed top speed, accleration and milage?

Solly

R15 is out -- it is 17 BHP and on road price in Pune is roughly 105000(one lac, five thousand INR). 17 BHP is a bit let-down for many!

- Manish
Old 28th May 2008, 16:55   #335

I am happy with my RD and RXZ(on the way) way cheaper then this, but if i have to buy a 4 stroke i'll go and buy R15 only, power to weight matter and how it delivers the power means its BHP and torque map.
Lets see when the actual track test comes out, hoping that it will beat all bikes in the range of 150-220 cc class.
Old 28th May 2008, 18:52   #336

R15 is out -- it is 17 BHP and on road price in Pune is roughly 105000(one lac, five thousand INR). 17 BHP is a bit let-down for many!

- Manish
Am goin for Thunderbird then :( . Its a big big let down :(
Old 28th May 2008, 20:57   #337

Originally Posted by manish7

- Manish

Manish what is your source?
My friend's friend -who runs Yamaha garag in Pune Camp- received one R1-5 for testing. He said that the power output is 22bhp and 6 speed tanny. (I can't gaurentee authenticity of this info).
Old 28th May 2008, 21:40   #338

I got the info from xbhp.com - a guy who booked the bike posted this -
First Yamaha R15 Booked! - xBhp

Will check out the Yamaha lifestyle store myself tomorrow.
Old 28th May 2008, 22:01   #339

If you are looking for the horsepower per dollar, then look elsewhere.

This bike is all about technology, sophistication, looks and racetrack bred handling. Brute power wise, you might get outdragged by a P200.

Last edited by Mpower : 28th May 2008 at 22:07.
Old 28th May 2008, 23:28   #340

The chennai race track is booked from June 11 to 14 for a Yamaha event. So the launch must be on the track.
Old 29th May 2008, 00:15   #341

Forget everything else, the R15's *looks* deserve more than 17 BHP. Disappointing to see such a low power output on what is one of the best looking 1 lakh rupee bikes.
Old 29th May 2008, 00:22   #342

17 BHP is a real dampener :(
I am looking forward for this bike since the first time I saw it.
But 1L for 17BHP, i may have to rethink!
Old 29th May 2008, 00:31   #343

Lets put it this way. The Machismo 350 costs around a lakh. Has a lot of shiney chrome! Has only 18bhp.
Old 29th May 2008, 00:39   #344

say it all. this bike will sell so much and this site will have so many threads of how to increase a little power and take it a few more bhp. bike is a hit for sure. only if the rear tyre was not so gay i would have got one too
Old 29th May 2008, 00:47   #345

The bike is a first in the Indian market, and for that it should be appreciated. People will buy it as well. It looks the part of a 1L bike.

But after the enthusiasm on looks has died down, the power will matter as that will also play a big role in the status of the bike. Thats where its going to disappoint (Unless that 17 bhp comes at some crazy rpms that everything else can be forgotten )