Old 12th June 2008, 10:37   #451

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Will be a rocket for sure coz of power to weight ratio. Pulsar weighs 150kgs?
The Pulsar weighs around 140 Kgs.

Also at this price point, I guess Yamaha should provide atleast 3 Free fairings. Or better to specify the price of the same
Old 12th June 2008, 10:37   #452

Stop worrying guys, you can remap the ECU to have more power. Should be a puch.
Power to weight is the factor. Power alone won't get you anywhere..
Old 12th June 2008, 10:51   #453

At 1 Lac, the 220 DTS-Fi is a far better deal, IMHO. Except for liquid cooling, monoshock rear & a six-speed tranny, the bike is more than a match for the R15.

As I see it, here's the biforcation.

Handling, reliablity - ZMA.
Performance, VFM - 220 DTS-FI.
Technology, pose value - R15.

Yamaha has some serious issues to be sorted out here. Competing with the locals ain't gonna set the sales charts on fire.

Although they have realised that the moolah lies in the premium segment, they have failed to acknowledge that there's no replacement for displacement. A 250 was the bare minimum that they could've done.
Old 12th June 2008, 10:54   #454

Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
The Pulsar weighs around 140 Kgs.

Also at this price point, I guess Yamaha should provide atleast 3 Free fairings. Or better to specify the price of the same
1) Its Yamaha
2) Refinement , 6 gear, water cooled, FI
3) Looks part
4) Exclusivity

Hope this become the RX100 of 150's

Originally Posted by kutlee View Post
Stop worrying guys, you can remap the ECU to have more power. Should be a puch.
Power to weight is the factor. Power alone won't get you anywhere..
Is it readily available?

veyron1; the P220 didnt set the sale charts on fire right?

Last edited by jkdas : 12th June 2008 at 10:55.
Old 12th June 2008, 11:06   #455

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Pulsar weighs 150kgs?
138 kg's for 180 Dtsi

Could anyone confirm the on road price of the R15?

Last edited by redrage : 12th June 2008 at 11:08.
Old 12th June 2008, 11:16   #456

on road price in bangalore

Originally Posted by redrage View Post
138 kg's for 180 Dtsi

Could anyone confirm the on road price of the R15?

on road price in bangalore 1 lakh 11 thousand 500 Rs only..(source orion motors)
Old 12th June 2008, 11:19   #457

The power output is a big let down. I think this affect the prospects in the market. Most buyers look at only the power and styling.

I went around office asking people if they knew what "power to weight ratio" is. Lot of hardcore bikers didnt. So unless Yamaha embarks upon a big campaign to educate people, this stunt of keeping the power output confidential till the launch will not pull through.

I am sure they wanted to create initial interest in the bike and some confirmed bookings and kept the specs underwraps. I am sure if the full specs were out, there would be no excitement at all.

Who let out the rumours saying its going to be 22bhp? Why wasnt there rumours that its going to be only 15bhp? Shady and misleading marketing. Iam sure the dealers have done their part as well.

Buyers.......any comments???

Last edited by mail4ajo : 12th June 2008 at 11:25.
Old 12th June 2008, 11:36   #458

It was really crazy from Yamaha's side to ask the dealeres to take booking of the bike without releasing the spec's before. But i feel the bike as a product wont disappoint,and dont be fooled about 17 ps, the way this 120 kg yam puts it out is what matters, but is the price justified?. How many daily bikers do 0-100 runs and 125+ top speed's?
1,11,500 huh? Kind of steep.
Old 12th June 2008, 11:37   #459

This bike has turned out to be just like those "wannabe" bikes which are actually pulsars which are made to look like Busa's, R1's etc by putting a set of fairing on them .
Old 12th June 2008, 11:49   #460

All the hype created by yamaha is now of no use expect they got some nice handy advance bookings. there nothing special sharing the same engine specs as the zma and lookalikes like busa and r1.

The top speed is 140km/hr with rider weighing 60 kgs.
Old 12th June 2008, 12:19   #461

Fully aAgree with mail4ajo. It is just cheating the prospective buyers. A big big let down. Power to weight ratio is same as P220. We have to see how it handles with 120 kg weight on highways, and more over we have to how fast it reaches 0-100 kmph figures.
Old 12th June 2008, 12:20   #462

Guys, while i agree the pricing is on the higher side and bhp is on the lower side, you can console yourself by saying "For Rs. 13000 more then the 220, you get lots of peace of mind"
Old 12th June 2008, 12:47   #463

Its a Yamaha - Well so have been the Libero, Gladiator, Crux and hazaar such bikes. The days of the RX100 are well over, and I dont think anyone's really looking forward to a bike, because its a Yamaha. Its the Bajajs and the Hero Hondas that rule the roost!

6-speed - Well the Shaolin was launched with a "Life begins at 5th gear" tagline. It set the sales charts of fire ?

Refinement, Technology, Air cooled and such jargons
- In this case, the Indian bike manufacturers are definitely doing their part. The later Pulsars are much more refined, handle better. These are just examples.

When India was crying for a "atleast-should-look-like-a-superbike", Hero Honda and Bajaj launched the CBZ and Pulsar respectively. And apart from just the looks, the bikes had performance (read BHP) gave atleast some VFM mileage (Though not the 109 kmpl XCD type). And those were the reasons why they were a hit. Even the Apache/RTR can be considered a huge success.

So what has Yamaha done now ?

Promised a baby-R1, which looks great. And it ends there.

No matter how much they go ga-ga over their technology, I dont think people are going to buy that aspect. If Yamaha is to be believed, the same technology goes into the Gladiator too right ?

At the end of the day, the only figures that an Indian buyer looks at for a bike are - BHP and KMPL. I dont think Yamaha will be able to deliver either of them.

I know I might be jumping the gun, and should have restricted my comments till I take a test ride and all. But what has Yamaha done ? Opened bookings without even disclosing the Specs nor the price. You can very well guess who were the ones who booked the bike
Old 12th June 2008, 13:21   #464

Has anyone got final ex-showroom/OTR prices? Yamaha India website shows 'Now on Sale, Go to the store'.
Old 12th June 2008, 13:28   #465

Originally Posted by sukiwa View Post
Has anyone got final ex-showroom/OTR prices? Yamaha India website shows 'Now on Sale, Go to the store'.
I think its 97500 ex-showroom in Delhi. Not sure about other places.