Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Street Experiences


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2007, 12:15   #1
BHPian
 
BunnyPunia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 798
Thanked: 184 Times
Default The good old fiat caught at 120km/h!

I usually ride down to my office but sometimes take a taxi along with my boss twice a week. And today was one of those good days when the speedometer was working and I was carryin my Canon 300D cam...

Let the pics do the talking...







he went on to nudge the 120km/h mark. the Fiat seemed to be in a very good condition. this happened on the palm beach road.. Im sure these oldies have a lotta speedo error but still , this is the first time i saw a fiat do 120!
BunnyPunia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:28   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

WoW , were you on a 45 degree incline with a force 10 hurricane behind you ? lol ..just kiddin .I touched 120 a long time back in my grand dads fiat ..cant really say it was a very comfortable experience with all that steering play ..but yeah an adventure of a lifetime
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:35   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Nice - but are the temperature and fuel gauges working ? I think not or are my eyes playing tricks ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:38   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

No Sir, your cataract has not yet set in. Both the gauges don't seem to be working. The Temp gauge atleast has the needle bu the fuel gauge is devoid of one..

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Nice - but are the temperature and fuel gauges working ? I think not or are my eyes playing tricks ?
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:44   #5
BHPian
 
BunnyPunia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 798
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

well, i havnt come across a taxi fiat in mumbai with workin temp n fuel gauges yet
BunnyPunia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:48   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default

BTW whats stopping the Mumbai Taxi operators from shifting to Indica/go? I think Kolkata is the only other state left with Ambys and Padminis as Taxis? Correct me if i am wrong.
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 12:50   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
planet_rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bong-land
Posts: 2,320
Thanked: 362 Times
Default

the fuel gauge needle is strangely missing. the temp gauge doesnt seem to be working.

@bunny - nice pics.

@ DCEite - PAL was never successful in selling padmini 137D cabs in Kolkata. there are a few very badly maintained ones.

Off-Topic:
i havent touched 120KPH ever in my car - due improper tuning all the time. but i have heard about a velvet green fiat crossing the 120KPH mark with the speedo needle stuck at 85KPH. i have never been able to beat this Fiat. Speedo error can be reduced if one is running on sleeks (5.20.14).

Last edited by planet_rocker : 26th July 2007 at 12:53.
planet_rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 13:00   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

I have touched 120 couple of times in my S1. Was it a 137D or a petrol one?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 13:03   #9
BHPian
 
BunnyPunia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 798
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

It was a petrol one, but the mumbai taxis run on LPG i believe..
BunnyPunia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 13:16   #10
BHPian
 
revved_up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 662
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Woo.. thats some speed for the Padmini..!!
revved_up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 13:47   #11
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

A well maintained Premier Padmini S1 will touch 120 kph. While you're there, it will constantly remind you that it is doing 120 kph.
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 14:27   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
speedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,295
Thanked: 775 Times
Default

These cars can reach good speed if well maintained. One of my friends relative has a 20 odd year old premier padmini which consistently does 100 to 120km/h on the highways.
BTW this car is totally stock except for the tyres.
speedmiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 14:41   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,993
Thanked: 1,421 Times
Default

Man! Seeing those pics brings back sweet memories of my erstwhile 1986 Fiat.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 14:45   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
karlosdeville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 9,547
Thanked: 7,603 Times
Default

Yup, a padmini in decent nick should do 120 without much fuss, provided the roads are willing, and more importantly the driver! I touched 115 on the fluctuating speedo in my 73 Fiat, but the shiver down my spine got the better of me and I wisely chose not to push it further...but a confident friend did overtake me quite fast in his 63 Fiat, when I was somewhere near those speeds.
karlosdeville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 14:48   #15
BHPian
 
xinome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: I am lost....
Posts: 339
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i dont know why but, i am scared!

would have loved to see a video of that padmini just zooming by traffic death machine!
xinome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next-generation Fiat Linea caught in Sweden Edit: Named Aegea, now revealed in Turkey volkman10 The International Automotive Scene 24 7th June 2015 07:33
96 year old sells 55 year old Italian Fiat for Nano !! emkay456 Shifting gears 14 11th May 2009 14:02
Fiat Grande Punto and the new Fiat Sedan; Tata-Fiat JV jkdas The Indian Car Scene 37 4th March 2009 17:01
WASAN MOTORS-DEONAR (TATA-FIAT DEALER) is doing a good job for Fiat Cars! omar1310 Indian Car Dealerships 1 12th September 2006 16:24
virtual project:old fiat into old mini cooper aadix The International Automotive Scene 3 25th April 2004 15:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks