Old 13th April 2007, 19:21   #1

NRI desperately seeking desi solution

Hi Gentlemen and Ladies (very pc).

I'm in a bit of a predicament. I live in the uk but visit the motherland about 3 times per year. I need a car for trips between ludhiana and chandigarh that can transport on any one occasion 7 adults in comfort.
I can spend about 7-9(max) lakhs on a reliable and safe car that will not be driven much (kept in storage unless needed). On my last visit i quite liked the mahindra scorpio, though a few friends mentioned the tata safari and toyota innova are good alternatives. Comfort, space and reliability are of paramount importance. Which would you recommend?

thanks guys
Old 13th April 2007, 20:44   #2

Toyota is more reliable any day than the TATA's and the Mahindra's.. my suggestion choose between Qualis or Innova...
Old 13th April 2007, 20:45   #3

Innova is the way to go. Its a capable car and very easy to drive. Handling is a breeze and FE is also good. Suspension one of the best and its a gr8 Family car. Space is good, its a toyota so reliability is no issue.

Out of the three i vote for Innova as it's just suits your purpose well.

And welcome to Team BHP.

You can also check reviews here:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...my-innova.html
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ghlight=innova

Last edited by abhibh : 13th April 2007 at 20:47.
Old 13th April 2007, 20:48   #4

You should consider Safari-Scorpio-Innova in the order..!

Miss India Universe-Safari
Miss India World-Scorpio
Miss India Asia Pacific-Innova
Mrs India World-Tavera
Old 13th April 2007, 20:49   #5

Toyota Innova would be the option for you. Go for the 7-seater version & you should be very satisfied with the car.
Old 13th April 2007, 20:57   #6

Innova is the only option that comes to my mind. Nothing can beat in this price range.
Old 13th April 2007, 21:20   #7

three times a year !!
why don't you explore rental options?
Old 13th April 2007, 21:34   #8

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
three times a year !!
why don't you explore rental options?
i wouldn't like to rent a car from ludhiana, especially the way they drive I wouldn't be confident of the hire cars previous history (e.g previous accident damage). Anyway i could not find any rental companies in ludhiana. Any ideas?

Thanks for replying guys, so the consensus is innova as1st choice. Is it really much better than the scorpio? I like the scorpios pumped up looks. I'm sure it would be useful when intimidating other cars to give way whilst on the GT road

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Innova is the way to go. Its a capable car and very easy to drive. Handling is a breeze and FE is also good. Suspension one of the best and its a gr8 Family car. Space is good, its a toyota so reliability is no issue.

Out of the three i vote for Innova as it's just suits your purpose well.

And welcome to Team BHP.

You can also check reviews here:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...my-innova.html
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ghlight=innova
Thanks for the link abhibh.
I should have also said in my first post that the ride needs to be soooo much better than the chevrolet tavera taxi we took. The rear passenger seats were crap. does the innova have rear parallel benches like the tavera? If so, that would be a big negative.

Last edited by adya33 : 13th April 2007 at 23:40.
Old 13th April 2007, 22:24   #9

From my experience, when driving in india (ludhiana and chandigarh), the more imposing your car is, the more other cars will move out of your way. Therefore, making driving easier. Is this true? If so the benefit of a scorpio (pumped up muscular look) would outweigh the innova (less aggressive) technological advantage? What do you guys think?
Old 13th April 2007, 22:48   #10

Originally Posted by kompressor View Post
Thanks for the link abhibh.
I should have also said in my first post that the ride needs to be soooo much better than the chevrolet tavera taxi we took. The rear passenger seats were crap. does the innova have rear parallel benches like the tavera? If so, that would be a big negative.
Suspension is good. Its good on bad roads and takes up pot holes better than any other MUV and some SUV's. The best suspension is of Safari TCIC as people say the DICOR have less comfort levels compared to TCIC.

Its better than Tavera in all aspects. Innova comes in 7 and 8 seater and do not have parallel benches as u find in Tavera and Qualis.
Old 13th April 2007, 22:55   #11

Originally Posted by wolfinstein View Post
You should consider Safari-Scorpio-Innova in the order..!

Miss India Universe-Safari
Miss India World-Scorpio
Miss India Asia Pacific-Innova
Mrs India World-Tavera
How many Miss India World do you want ?????????/

Originally Posted by navdeep View Post
Innova is the only option that comes to my mind. Nothing can beat in this price range.
absolutely

Originally Posted by kompressor View Post
so the consensus is innova as1st choice. Is it really much better than the scorpio? I like the scorpios pumped up looks. I'm sure it would be useful when intimidating other cars to give way whilst on the GT road
You are partially right there. if thats what you want, get the scorpio, you will not be disappointed. Forget the plain jane toyota.
Old 13th April 2007, 23:08   #12

Innova would be ur best choice.
Old 13th April 2007, 23:10   #13

I've just googled images of the toyota innova. Not oo impressed to be honest. In the uk, cars like the innova (mpv's) are seen as cars for mums which are filled with children and shopping bags. Not a nice image for a fun loving punjabi guy to be in.
I therefore stand corrected, image is important and suv's look the business. Which is the best for upto 9 lakhs?

Originally Posted by invincible7 View Post
Toyota is more reliable any day than the TATA's and the Mahindra's.. my suggestion choose between Qualis or Innova...
hi invincible.
I just saw some pictures of the qualis. It seems like a very dated design? Is the innova the successor to the qualis?

So fellas, which suv?

Last edited by adya33 : 13th April 2007 at 23:51.
Old 13th April 2007, 23:41   #14

innova is a safe choice, but the scorpio & safari offer you a lot more than the innova & definitely more mean presence which is what you said you wanted.
Old 13th April 2007, 23:41   #15

yup i would agree, go with the innova.