Old 11th May 2009, 11:21   #1

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!

Here are some pics of a destination I went to, over the weekend:

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_071.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_088.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_098.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_103.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_112.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_138.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_139.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_149.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_159.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_160.jpg

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-uktripmay09_161.jpg

That is the first leg - any guesses peoples?
Old 11th May 2009, 11:30   #2

I know the place.
Old 11th May 2009, 11:44   #3

You of all the people should stay shut

That said - I have a spare Mico +30% bulb. Why don't you pick it up sometime.
Old 11th May 2009, 11:47   #4

Hmmm, get the broken number plate fixed - an open invitation for your friendly neighbourhood cop to make some money at your expense
Old 11th May 2009, 11:54   #5
D-Man

Is this near Kufri? The trees and your HR plates tell me its North. I went to one of the muddy roads which looked quite similar with your permission I can post the picture. One of these roads looks like Morni Hills & Kasauli

Old 11th May 2009, 11:58   #6

Is that the GPS holder on the dash? what model?
yes! the broken number plate (did a bumper kiss or what?)
no idea about the place though!
Old 11th May 2009, 11:59   #7

delhi to chandigarh does not have any bad road like in pic 3, and then undivided roads, so it looks like in Uttaranchal, somewhere around Ranikhet

Last edited by rkbharat : 11th May 2009 at 12:01.
Old 11th May 2009, 12:06   #8

Tiger Falls - Chakrata?
Old 11th May 2009, 12:10   #9

SOmewhere in Uttaranchal I guess (Dehradun to Dakpathar Power plant??)

Abhi
Old 11th May 2009, 12:13   #10

It should be somewhere in Uttarakhand

Guesses could be - Any one of these Hill-stations Nainital, Mussoorie, Almora, Kausani, Bhimtal and Ranikhet

Last edited by gowda79 : 11th May 2009 at 12:19.
Old 11th May 2009, 12:42   #11

Originally Posted by D-Man View Post
Is this near Kufri? The trees and your HR plates tell me its North. I went to one of the muddy roads which looked quite similar with your permission I can post the picture. One of these roads looks like Morni Hills & Kasauli
Please do - its an informal thread yaar!

No, those places I haven't been recently.

Originally Posted by schitre05 View Post
Is that the GPS holder on the dash? what model?
yes! the broken number plate (did a bumper kiss or what?)
no idea about the place though!
Yeah - it was just a matter of trying to take out wallet from pocket while belted in, and car rolled forward onto an Amby taxi!

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
delhi to chandigarh does not have any bad road like in pic 3, and then undivided roads, so it looks like in Uttaranchal, somewhere around Ranikhet

Not Ranikhet. has to be UK as per the filenames - silly me

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
SOmewhere in Uttaranchal I guess (Dehradun to Dakpathar Power plant??)

Abhi
That was part of the route - Dakpathar, not Dun.

and its UK for sure - even the file name says so!!

Originally Posted by gowda79 View Post
It should be somewhere in Uttarakhand

Guesses could be - Any one of these Hill-stations Nainital, Mussoorie, Almora, Kausani, Bhimtal and Ranikhet
None of them!

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
Tiger Falls - Chakrata?
Bang on. We have a winner!

Chakrata, Kanasar, Renuka Lake - 978 kms on a weekend!-panoresize.jpg

@suman - lol. I know. On the agenda. But my number is still clear - unlike 50% of delhiites who deliberately obliterate a digit or two

Last edited by phamilyman : 11th May 2009 at 12:44.
Old 11th May 2009, 13:57   #12

badhiya hai tao
did you try deoban
next time ur here il steal ur gps mount
Old 11th May 2009, 14:18   #13

Deoban didn't go simply because it was a hailstorm at Chakrata itself - called up deoban and heard that it was not worth it.

Of course, marked it. Need to come back sometime and ride all the way to Mundali. But that is not fit for a VDi - but the 180!

PS: The mount is just 120 bucks from reliance autozone!

Last edited by phamilyman : 11th May 2009 at 14:20.
Old 11th May 2009, 16:42   #14

OT but where is this Reliance autozone? And does it have more of such small knick knacks for the car? Nice pictures let us have some more of the route please.
Old 11th May 2009, 16:59   #15

OT: NCR being so strategically located has good and driveable options for weekend trips.

Hyderabad. Not so much