Old 20th June 2011, 00:11   #106

Re: The 2011 Alfa Kilo Challenge!

Originally Posted by headers View Post
@motocamp: A small doubt - Who is the person driving the THAR? Why is he using only ONE HAND on the steering wheel while doing an obstacle?

It IS VERY VERY DANGEROUS!!
Arka, that is khan_sultan driving the Thar in official TBHP review.
Old 20th June 2011, 07:57   #107

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Arka, that is khan_sultan driving the Thar in official TBHP review.
Or is it Tejas driving and you wanted to tell this to Vikram?
Effect of late sunday evenings, eh Sharath?
Old 20th June 2011, 08:15   #108

khan did the 1st half, a stock thar wasnt in comfort zone of the spidey driver, so tejas did the last bit in the question of headers...
Old 20th June 2011, 09:58   #109

Kunal, AKC Team,

Need some route advice...

How does one come from lonavla to Karjat? I see in Google earth the way is -- exit to Khopoli -- Khalapur -- Wandhal -- right to ND Studios? -- Karjat?

Also some micro level directions, GPS turn points, GPS destination of stay/camp would be greatly appreciated.
Old 20th June 2011, 10:46   #110

Originally Posted by motocamp View Post
All Drivers, PLEASE remember to remove all side, rear steps and running boards if your vehicle has them.Also try removing the front and rear bumpers if possible as the trail is going to chew them and spit them out for breakfast!
Stepping away from sparring with the Thar, for a moment, this is the condition of stock CJ3B side steps after recces for EXAMM and AKC.

I could have unbolted them before the recces but since I did not, they had to be hammered down and one of them had to be cut out.

So if you value your jewels please dont let them hang unprotected.

But it was so much fun!

The 2011 Alfa Kilo Challenge!-img2011061900138.jpg

Last edited by genesis : 20th June 2011 at 10:48.
genesis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2011, 11:58   #111

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Kunal, AKC Team,

Need some route advice...

How does one come from lonavla to Karjat? I see in Google earth the way is -- exit to Khopoli -- Khalapur -- Wandhal -- right to ND Studios? -- Karjat?

Also some micro level directions, GPS turn points, GPS destination of stay/camp would be greatly appreciated.
Guys everything has been finalized.

Expect an email shortly with detailed directions to karjat and the event accommodation.

Also, all participants who have not please complete all formalities
Old 24th June 2011, 13:05   #112

People only a few days to go and some of you have not completed the formalities for AKC 2011!

I don't see the challenge

Guys just take a few minutes out of your busy lives and do the needful!

If you have any issues call me at 9881341144 and i will help sort it out but get going already!!!
Old 24th June 2011, 18:21   #113

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
Stepping away from sparring with the Thar, for a moment, this is the condition of stock CJ3B side steps after recces for EXAMM and AKC.
Genesis,

Thanks for the demo shot, for all to see.
Incidentally, I am not planning any kind of steps on the side or at the rear for my 340.

If you can't climb a Jeep don't ride a Jeep.
...the new one liner.
fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2011, 20:36   #114

Registration/ completion of formalities ends on Thursday the 30th of june.

I find it quite amazing that some people have still not done the needful.

If you intend to attend the AKC2011 complete all formalities NOW.
Old 29th June 2011, 21:55   #115

Guys thanks for the overwhelming response! AKC 2011 has reached full capacity

Registrations are now CLOSED.

Last edited by motocamp : 29th June 2011 at 21:57.
Old 1st July 2011, 06:09   #116

All Participants you will soon receive detailed route information at the email address provided by you at the time of registration.

The final number of participant vehicles at final tally stands at 47

This does not include the AKC 550 and 4 winch Jeeps of the mahindra great escape recovery team graciously provided by Vinod Nookla.

52 4x4 vehicles!
File Type: bmp vehicle list.bmp (86.0 KB, 212 views)

Last edited by motocamp : 1st July 2011 at 06:11.
Old 11th July 2011, 20:24   #117

Kunal,

Kindly put up directions, distance, which exit to take from Bombay-Pune expwy. to reach Karjat. Also please post route map from Pune to Karjat.

Old 12th July 2011, 01:11   #118

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Kunal,

Kindly put up directions, distance, which exit to take from Bombay-Pune expwy. to reach Karjat. Also please post route map from Pune to Karjat.

GPS co-ordinates too would help for out of towners like me who use GPS.

Cheers and thanks in advance.
Old 12th July 2011, 09:39   #119

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
GPS co-ordinates too would help for out of towners like me who use GPS.

Cheers and thanks in advance.
Guys check your email please, I have sent you the details a few days ago.
I have resent the mail please check your spam folder if you dont see it.
Old 12th July 2011, 20:36   #120

Guys please fill a full tank of Petrol/diesel before you turn off the highway.

If you run low on gas at the event NO fuel is available for 15km.

Everybody please carry your own Poison as nothing is available nearby.

Same for personal medical supplies.

see you soon.