Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 9th December 2008, 11:04   #1

CL340-4WD wish list - what you really want in your CL340-4WD?

Dear all - after all the excitement that is built around your very effective comments on the MM540-4WD, I think now is the right time to start a thread on what all you guys really want in your CL340-4WDs if you were to buy it today and what would you pay for it? So, go ahead and put your thoughts across. All the best. Let's see.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Last edited by Samurai : 9th December 2008 at 11:32. Reason: removing font tags
Old 9th December 2008, 11:16   #2

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
after all the excitement that is built around your very effective comments on the MM540-4WD, I think now is the right time to start a thread on what all you guys really want in your CL340-4WDs if you were to buy it today and what would you pay for it? So, go ahead and put your thoughts across. All the best. Let's see.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Great. Here is my list:

1. LSD with full floating type axles (gear ratio of CJ340 to get more torque, however look at my wish to have a Overdrive, so the jeep could be driving in highway effortlessly)
2. Lockable front hubs
3. KMT-90 with T-18 Tranny
4. Overdrive for Highway use (Saturn make which is available with Herm the Overdrive guy)
5. 16" steel Rims with 7.5X16 else 7x16 NDMS tyres
6. Servo assisted break system
7. Front Disc.
8. Peugeot XD3P or DI Turbo diesel engines
9. Little improved electricals and dash board (may be like the ones in Sumo)
10. For sure SWB
11. Neat soft top of CL340 Classic or that of Tiger top
12. An good quality electrical winch (9000LBS)
13. Tow hooks in both front and rear
14. Good OVRM
16. if possible better steering radius and power assisted steering control
17. 4 core radiators (like MM550 military specs.)
18. Snorkel ready air-intake
19. water proof engine bay electricals including started motor, fuel pump and alternator
20. optional high raised exhaust setup
21. options for Radio and GPS device provisioning in the dash board
22. Recovery tools such as high-lift jacks, tow cable, jacks, tools, shawl ... etc.

I would like to take a jeep with all of these fitted around 5L budget.

Last edited by trammway : 9th December 2008 at 11:19.
Old 9th December 2008, 11:21   #3

another teaser?

[COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]Dear all[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana] - after all the excitement that is built around your very effective comments on the MM540-4WD, I think now is the right time to start a thread on what all you guys really want in your CL340-4WDs if you were to buy it today and what would you pay for it? So, go ahead and put your thoughts across. All the best. Let's see.[/COLOR][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][COLOR=black]Best regards,[/COLOR][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][COLOR=black]Behram Dhabhar[/FONT][/COLOR]
Bhabar ji,
Another teaser???..well if you realy plan to bring back classic let this be a true off roader with power steering and diff locks optional . This must have engine that can do about 120 kmph efforlessly and has 5 speed tranny. Good rubber is definately required.
I will pay 5.5 lakhs for it without diff locks!

regards,
vinod
Old 9th December 2008, 11:22   #4

Hey Dhabarji,

Can we get the 540 first? :-)
Old 9th December 2008, 11:24   #5

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Hey Dhabarji,

Can we get the 540 first? :-)

haha, true man...lets get MM540 first ..again i remeber your quote....show an elephant but not hope!!!
Old 9th December 2008, 11:51   #6

Hey guys - once again, I just asked a simple question. Why all the speculation?

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 9th December 2008, 12:05   #7

Ok, this is getting interesting.

This is what I want for 4L ex-showroom.
---------------------------------------
1) A common rail diesel engine, say like Maruti Swift engine.
2) Rust proof body, why is this so difficult even in this era?
3) All front facing seats with seat belts, rear seats should be removable.
4) Rollcage to protect all 4 occupants.
5) 5-speed tranny.

Optional features for extra price (each can be independently picked)
-------------------------------
1) LSD on rear.
2) Front & rear manual diff locks.
3) Fiber hard top with lockable yet fully removable doors, some of us want to keep stuff in the Jeep and walk away.
4) Full waterproofing, should be able to withstand full submerging under water while running.
5) 8000lb ramsey winch.
6) Disc brakes, all four wheels.
7) Anti-lock brakes that can be switched off for offroading.
8) Stabilizer bars that can be dis-enagaged during offroading.
9) Power steering
10) A/C
11) Engine immobilzer anti-theft system.
12) Diff ratio of CJ340
13) Skid plates to protect everything that is precious.
Old 9th December 2008, 12:08   #8

Hey guys - once again, I just asked a simple question. Why all the speculation?

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Yes of course it was a simple question, but what's the intention behind it is what we want to know?
Old 9th December 2008, 12:52   #9

8 years on, waiting is all i can do. Lets wait and watch.
Old 9th December 2008, 15:09   #10

What is the problem with getting the Major on the market universally in India? Major would be okay.

My brand new mm540 better not get its doors blown off by Samurai's brand new cl340. Thus the Dirty One spake.
Old 9th December 2008, 15:37   #11

Correct me but the cl340 was not a runaway success in comparison to the international. Guess length played against it.
Old 9th December 2008, 16:02   #12

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
Correct me but the cl340 was not a runaway success in comparison to the international. Guess length played against it.
Yes, i guess the shorter length was its biggest flaw then, nowadays, its the 340's USP!!

Back then, jeeps were workhorses, so one needed optimum loading capacity, whereas now, with the recent interest in offroading, the advantages of an SWB are obvious. Just my theory though!
Old 9th December 2008, 23:13   #13

[quote=Samurai;1085017]Ok, this is getting interesting.

This is what I want for 4L ex-showroom.
---------------------------------------
1) A common rail diesel engine, say like Maruti Swift engine.
2) Rust proof body, why is this so difficult even in this era?
3) All front facing seats with seat belts, rear seats should be removable.
4) Rollcage to protect all 4 occupants.
5) 5-speed tranny.

WHy 4 lakhs, Samurai? Do not forget that the major retails for higher. M&M is not doing charity, it's a business, they have to have their share of profits.

You know what you can get for 4 lakhs in the Indian market, don't you - Spark, Estilo etyadi...
Old 9th December 2008, 23:34   #14

I have just 1 wish! Please relaunch it. Bring it back from the dead. 5.5 lacs for the base model and option of higher variants would be icing on the cake!
Old 10th December 2008, 00:08   #15

Behram Sir, if you can influence the M&M guys, please bring back the classic with a more potent engine/gearbox combo.