Team-BHP - Composite Fibre Leaf Springs: Can they be used for off-roading?

-   4x4 Technical (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-technical/)
-   -   Composite Fibre Leaf Springs: Can they be used for off-roading? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-technical/54767-composite-fibre-leaf-springs-can-they-used-off-roading-2.html)

Any idea if somebody has installed this setup in northern india especially in/ around NCR.
I am quite interested and would like to see it action?

Originally Posted by khan_sultan (Post 1208735)
He even mentioned that many Ford Endeavors sold by Lathangi get this setup done.

Interesting! The contact number on the alibaba website is what you used? Or do you have another one?

Originally Posted by khan_sultan (Post 1208735)
They don't advise to put thesein the front, as for some reason there seems to be a wobble in few vehicles where they have put it. They want to investigate this and fully test it out before recommending it for the front of the vehicle. They don't want to recommend/sell for the front just for the sake of it.

When you replace a multileaf with monoleaf, you lose lateral stiffless which can lead to poor steering feel and high speed shake/wobble.

#2 consequences of leafspring breakage are lot more lethal up front in terms of safety

Carbon fibre material comes in 1mm thickness, to make one leaf spring at least 10 strips(10mm ) are required to make one leaf spring, All the strips needed to join together using adhesive(depends upon manufacture what adhesive they use). Carbon fibre material are strong but the adhesive which they use is important any vacuum between strips can get cracked or damaged.

Originally Posted by Torqy (Post 1208777)
How much does this cost? 11K per pair / per piece as swastikviji mentioned?
If this can soften the harsh ride of a Bolero, i'm interested. Hope the softness doesn't come with excess body roll.

-- Torqy

Hai
i paid 11.5k for a pair of rear set,i placed the order for My mm 550 its costed me 18k the set what they sent for 550 is not fitting, they sent a 540 set it seems ,they are replacing it within 20th of this month, fixing of spring for 550 within next OTR for this month end as planned, that time i exchange both the vehicles with our senior experts you can expect a detailed report from Mr.Khan by next month.

Originally Posted by Mpower (Post 1209402)
When you replace a multileaf with monoleaf, you lose lateral stiffless which can lead to poor steering feel and high speed shake/wobble.

#2 consequences of leafspring breakage are lot more lethal up front in terms of safety

In addition to above, the leaf appears to be of same thickness throughout.

Khan, can you check on that issue. The reason i ask you is Omnis come with a single rear leaf spring but are thicker in the center than the edges. And there have hardly been any Omni suspension issues AFAIK.

If it is the same thickness, i would go for it with a pinch of salt as we misuse the vehicle in OTRs.

Originally Posted by swastikviji (Post 1209883)
Hai
i paid 11.5k for a pair of rear set,i placed the order for My mm 550 its costed me 18k the set what they sent for 550 is not fitting, they sent a 540 set it seems ,they are replacing it within 20th of this month, fixing of spring for 550 within next OTR for this month end as planned, that time i exchange both the vehicles with our senior experts you can expect a detailed report from Mr.Khan by next month.

Oh yeah, eargerly awaiting that test..Khan will take it through a couple of rocks to see whether they break! :Shockked: else here i come!

One more issue is that how do we "Re-camber" them?

Originally Posted by headers (Post 1210412)
In addition to above, the leaf appears to be of same thickness throughout.

Khan, can you check on that issue. The reason i ask you is Omnis come with a single rear leaf spring but are thicker in the center than the edges. And there have hardly been any Omni suspension issues AFAIK.

From the video & info given by the person, these are thick at center (at axle) than the edges (frame mount)

Oh yeah, eargerly awaiting that test..Khan will take it through a couple of rocks to see whether they break! :Shockked: else here i come!
We will get to test them at next OTR when Vijay has his vehicles ready.

One more issue is that how do we "Re-camber" them?
From what I have heard -- it won't be required:).

Video of the product in action looks promising. but the proof will come on testing it,actually driving it on the highway. There is body roll, but not more than stock as far as I can see on the video.
The video itself was atrocious:D

Yes it is thicker in the center and thinner and wider near the shackles. Long back another Tbhp member, Edmund, had these fibreglass leaf springs in his SS80. I too wanted to do a conversion on my SS80 and googled a lot on the Fibreglass leaf springs, these leafs are not as twist resistant as a conventional steel leaf spring, this could lead to a disadvantage in handling high speed corners, so i dropped the idea. For off roading high speed cornering isn't an issue and shouldn't be a problem.

@sankar- thats what I'm worried about. Our Endy sees a lot of high speed cornering, lane changing and sideways action.
Thicker anti roll bars to compensate for the fibre leaf springs, will that work?
Anyways, will wait till I try driving one of the endys with these springs.

Originally Posted by Sankar (Post 1210667)
Yes it is thicker in the center and thinner and wider near the shackles. Long back another Tbhp member, Edmund, had these fibreglass leaf springs in his SS80. I too wanted to do a conversion on my SS80 and googled a lot on the Fibreglass leaf springs, these leafs are not as twist resistant as a conventional steel leaf spring, this could lead to a disadvantage in handling high speed corners, so i dropped the idea. For off roading high speed cornering isn't an issue and shouldn't be a problem.

U'll get a lot more twist at max atriculation in an OTR esp with sway bar disconnect.

High speed..you get Gs but not so much twisting.

Recambering is done with heat IIRC so it wont be possible with fiberglass.
Keep it away from hot exhaust pipes.

Originally Posted by swastikviji (Post 1209883)
Hai

How did the composites fare in the mini OTR?
Am sure there are lots of people waiting for your report on this.
GB

Hi gypsy boy i am 100% satisfied with its performance but still i am not able to fix them in my mm 550 i use my 550 more in OTR then gypsy by Next weekend i fix them in Jeep

Originally Posted by Gypsy-Boy (Post 1227614)
How did the composites fare in the mini OTR?
Am sure there are lots of people waiting for your report on this.
GB

Originally Posted by swastikviji (Post 1250294)
Hi gypsy boy i am 100% satisfied with its performance but still i am not able to fix them in my mm 550 i use my 550 more in OTR then gypsy by Next weekend i fix them in Jeep

Can you tell me what they did to the on road ride?
Is it softer? and what about body roll and handling?
I have an Endeavour that is crying out for a softer rear suspension.
Its 2WD and treated like a race car rather than an SUV:D
I would hate for a suspension component to break while i'm doing triple digit speeds.

Hi rippergo
its soft in gypsy the body roll and handling is good when we have a discussion with the dealer he told me that its not going to shear just like steel blades of OE the chances of splitting or cracking in very rare cases may happen still we can drive without major issues i just installed 1month back and drove my gypsy hardly 1200 kms and only one small OTR still need to check out how it behaves in long time any how he has promised me 1lakh kms or 1 year free replacement its ok to me-vijay.v