Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 21st September 2010, 08:06   #16

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Which gauge wires do you use for this? The above mentioned method is very useful and critical. I remember an operator named Balu Phakde who taught me this trick while I was a trainee in R&D. Thank you Phakde Bhau

Spike
Well Spike , you have thanked Mr. Phadke & that explains everything ,( at least you have thanked him ,many just forget & take off as & when they get out of trouble ) infact you have opened an Important Issue I wanted to address & share for a long time . I will try to put that in short .

How to learn tricks & things .
Facts: we are the wise people among the society ( thats what WE think )
because we are learned ( again WE think ), may be graduation ,PG, Specialisation etc. WE earn much ( relatively ) thats how we are above all.

But when something breaks down ( may be a loose contact ) or mallfunction ,then We ARE dependent on others .Specially on the Lower class people ( Again in our thinking only ) .

Now the Question is Why ? such Wise & Wiser people like us depend on others in things so simple ?

The answer is thease things are like Rocket Science thats why we depend.

Then I have one more Question ,then how come 'Thease ' people ( infirior to us As we think ) sort that out ?

We are Ignorant ,we dont want to learn . we drive simple road vehicles not Rockets . thease vehicles are made simple & user friendly there is nothing much complicated & hardly something thats breaks in to two .

Most of the faults are minor & can be handled by a layman If he puts his mind in that ( than to impress gals ).

What is needed ( along with right mindset )

1) get ready to get your hands dirty ( Surf will wash anything dont worry )
2) wear some old clothes

3) Spend some time with your mechanic , treat him equally ( if he is worth ) . Treat him with a nice lunch at some good restaurant after a good job is done . Dont ever Bargain, they hate bargainers , (but change the mech if it becomes impossible to handle.)
Befriend the guy & see for yourself you get double the respect you have offered.
4) start from the washing center, get underneath the car ,before & after pressure wash .This is important you will slowly come to know about your own car . you will come to know what is leaking from where & what has been hit at the previous OTR or what is loose or hanging & ready to fall . Inspect chassis for damages .So you get advance warnings of failures & act in time
5 ) spend time when repairs are going on . Inspect old parts due for change & compare them with new ones before they are fitted . you will know .
6) try to do some minor things like air filter ,spark plugs, wire connections etc, under guidence of your mech . Try jacking up the car 'Properly' & do some tyre change exercise.
7 ) ask him your doubts.Take him along on test drive before delivery .

There are few more things I will explain Later

Now regarding some wire info

Wire Gauge (sq. mm ), Amps

1.5 , 11
2 , 17
2.5 , 19
3 , 22
4.5 , 28
6 , 40 ?

I think a 2 to 3 sq. mm wire is sufficient for most of the small jobs( bypass)
( for heater plugs it should be at least 6 sq. mm )

Sudarshan
Old 21st September 2010, 11:16   #17

Last OTR we had two vehicles experiencing brake line snaps. Both times the rear brake lines snagged on a rock and then got intertwined in the propellor shaft.

First make sure that the brake lines are not hanging low and are secured properly.

What was done. First the lines were untangled. Then the pipe leading from the reservoir to the brake line was sealed. This will render the rear brakes ineffective but atleast you can use the front brakes.

To seal: first we tried to seal the reservoir by putting a small piece of plastic/cellophane between the pipe and reservoir and then screwing the pipe in. However, it didn't work because the force of fluid was too strong. So we tried to seal it with a bolt/screw.

The hollow screw of the pipe was # 10 with 1mm threads. (i think such screws should now be kept handy as spares).

Since we didn't have those, we used a # 10 with 1.25mm threads to block the outlet. However, this will result in the internal threads of the reservoir being damaged and you will need to replace it (costs approx Rs.700) or use the hollow pipe screw/bolt from the premier padmini which i think is also 1.25mm thread.

Hope i'm clear. Could there be any other solution in this scenario?

Also, one should keep a roll of the white plumbing tape handy to help seal the threads in such scenarios.

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 21st September 2010 at 11:17. Reason: typo
Old 21st September 2010, 12:01   #18

Hello Tejas & all ,

Brake pipe threads are brake pipe threads only , nothing ( nut/bolt threading ) matches it .

Thease threads may look similar/normal/usual but may change from vehicle to vehicle .

I have seen atleast 4 different types of threadings ( Impirial ,metric ,Girling ,leyland, old amby,api & what not ) Its a mess if you try to interchange threads with a wrong one .

Now have a look at previous post # 4 , pic 2 from top (page 1 ) in this thread , thats the only way out . ( in such emergencies ) Your pipes were gone anyway so you could have used them by making them blunt by cutting & hammering. plus using threaded ends to seal .

only way is to prepare blunt ended pipes with threaded portion on it (according to your vehicle make ) before hand & carry them along

Brake oil force is too much. one cant imagine .

the thread seal tape you mentioned is a standerd thing I carry along , ( also called as Teflon tape ) . It is normally used in gas lines with threaded joints .

Sudarshan

Last edited by Sudarshan : 21st September 2010 at 12:05.
Old 21st September 2010, 21:36   #19

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Well Spike , you have thanked Mr. Phadke & that explains everything ,( at least you have thanked him ,many just forget & take off as & when they get out of trouble )
Raju bhai, I don't come under those "many". I remember a short proverb in Malayalam (my mother tongue), which my parents ingrained in me since I was a very small child. It translates as:- "In life, no matter where you go/reach always keep your head above your shoulders and feet on the ground, rest things will automatically follow suit", in other words never forget your roots, best example for this is our very own UBS Sir.

Your observations on learning are spot on, usually the other person (saamnewala) will never share these tricks to someone unless he is convinced that the guy is really interested. I happen to see this every single day, people specially in corporate world are like leeches, they try and extract whatever possible from you, and when its done they just shrug off. Sorry for this lecture, I wanted to add something to the point on "Learning" as brought out by you.

Spike

Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 21st September 2010 at 21:41.
SPIKE ARRESTOR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2010, 07:27   #20

Raju bhai, I don't come under those "many".

Spike
I know , ( & that wasn't meant for you ), thats why you have greater opportunities to learn more & more .

This can be a little OT ,but let me tell you how I learned.

When we bought our Jeep I was just 22 , I had no experiance about 4 wheeler repair . We have a Mechanic called Babubhai .This guy was illiterate, aged some 35 at that time ,very very knowledgible but Rude at the same time .But I didn't care for anything then his Knowledge . I treated him normally & with respect .( & as I mentioned in earlier posts )

The result . he taught me everything he knew ,I tried everything under his guidence .The Jeep was a test bench for me ( but it was his supervision & finishing ).WE did engines ,GBs , leaf springs & what not . I used to read books on automobiles, so many times we had theory based Vs. practice based Argumentes ( Heated ones ) . But he tried to understand seriously & with patience . I used to be a regular visiter at his Garage ,people even thought me as the owner or his Relative . He even scolded me for my Experiments. Anyways he Treated me more than his brothers.

Another example was a bookseller ( On footppath).As I got aquiented I never bargained ,( he cared for my budget ).This man kept auto books for me separately till I reach there . I was in school when I started visiting him .

I never treated any one with predetermination or with some predecided plan ,It just happens & I get chance to learn .

People are just human beings .

But as you have said I had few bad experiances of people ( supposedly highly educated & having good positions )

Dear All please excuse for this
@ Bawaji @ Spike ,please share some 'Jeeps' with us.

Sudarshan

some more on something (repairs) to follow shortly.
Old 22nd September 2010, 11:11   #21

more explanation

@ Spike , I found this sample ( old ) for you.

pic1
Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-wiresamp.jpg

A picture showing jeep starter solenoid wire. When you start the vehicle by key it means you are giving current to this terminal via ignition switch.

Pic 2
Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-addstartbhp.jpg
A typical brake pipe junction .
pic 3
Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-brakejnbhp.jpg
Sudarshan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2010, 20:38   #22

The Jeep was a test bench for me ( but it was his supervision & finishing ).WE did engines ,GBs , leaf springs & what not .
----------
I never treated any one with predetermination or with some predecided plan ,It just happens & I get chance to learn .

@ Bawaji @ Spike ,please share some 'Jeeps' with us.
Raju bhai, thats the correct way to learn. I guess, I will have to start searching for a job near Pune to learn things hands on from you.

OK, let me put a teaser pic of a special set up used for FJ/FC type of vehicles. Can anyone guess what it is and what it is meant for?Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-14092010002.jpg

@ Spike , I found this sample ( old ) for you.
Thanks a lot! I was looking for this only :-)

Spike

PS- I have pics of a lot of special tools, can't post everything due to obvious reasons, will try and post selective ones soon!

Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 22nd September 2010 at 20:41.
Old 22nd September 2010, 21:44   #23

Raju bhai, thats the correct way to learn. I guess, I will have to start searching for a job near Pune to learn things hands on from you.

OK, let me put a teaser pic of a special set up used for FJ/FC type of vehicles.

Spike
Thanks Spike for the compliments ,but I am simply a cook.

I know what this FC set up is but I wont tell.

Now About this ' Finolex Sample Card ' , Look carefully its old & faded .
specially the second coloumn , No. & Dia of wire mm .
The Dia. of wire is .3 not 3

Sudarshan

Last edited by Sudarshan : 22nd September 2010 at 21:46.
Old 23rd September 2010, 08:37   #24

In Larger public Interest.

Hello all , Let me give a clear picture here ,of what Mr. Spike has provided as a teaser . So you people will have clear Idea of it .

Arkajee must be knowing this already . along with few other seniors.

Have a look .

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp2.jpg

Sudarshan .

Dear BHP Support , please delete this post if the picture quality dosent appear clear than Spikes post,( Attachment 428152 )
Old 23rd September 2010, 10:03   #25

A-Frame

OK, let me put a teaser pic of a special set up used for FJ/FC type of vehicles. Can anyone guess what it is and what it is meant for?Attachment 428152
Hi Spike,

Is that an A-Frame to remove the Engine?

Arka
Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-aframe.jpg  

Old 23rd September 2010, 11:33   #26

@Arka, yes that's indeed an A- Frame, why don't you share some special tools from the FC/Jeep workshop manual?

Spike
Old 23rd September 2010, 12:25   #27

Leaf spring Primary

Dear All, this is primary leaf spring knowledge .

Please bear with me , I also Invite everyone to comment ,Share & ask doubts Freely.

I am not an expert or engineer nor do I know everything. ( I am really a cook ), but I like learning . So comeon & openup .

Lets discuss,

Have a look .( I am slow at typing & english ,so I have put the captions in the pics itself )

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp1.jpg

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp2.jpg

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp3.jpg

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp4.jpg

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp5.jpg

Offroad-Onroad failures & DIY solutions-bhp6gundi.jpg

Sudarshan
Sudarshan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2010, 12:35   #28

Originally Posted by starter View Post
@Dev: Thanks a lot for this tip. Just one request, could you kindly post a pic whenever it is possible, to just explain what you mean here. It would really help.
Thanks a lot.
Deepak

I dont have original pic but here is something for your reference

Old 23rd September 2010, 20:15   #29

Thank you, Sudarshan, for this thread. Very detailed instructions and pictures. Should be a big help for the mechanically inclined among us. I started something similar, though not so detailed, sometime ago, and you might be interested to take a peek at that thread too.
Old 23rd September 2010, 22:06   #30

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Thank you, Sudarshan, for this thread. Very detailed instructions and pictures. Should be a big help for the mechanically inclined among us. I started something similar, though not so detailed, sometime ago, and you might be interested to take a peek at that thread too.
Thank you ,for thanking me

I wanted to do things like this for long ,this is the reason why I am here . I find a chance to get my knowledge checked & double checked while I do this . For that I should thank T BHP.

I have gone through your thread. It is quite interesting . ( though little huriedly but I am going to read it very carefully again when I will find some time ) Is there any way to quote some of your advices ? If not then I will recomend list of those posts separately .

I am going to post my expericences & observations on leaf spring issues shortly . Till then I request all those who are interested ,to crawl underneath your vehicle & have a close peek at your cars leaf spring setup.

Sudarshan

P.S. Any homework/observations done on your car will proove usefull at finding solutions in the middle of nowhere.