Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 9th January 2013, 20:03   #76

Re: A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
Perhaps there was a humming sound before but you never noticed it, however now with alloys the contact area has increased thereby magnifying the sound. This seems to be the only plausible explanation.
I have done about 1300kms with the stock wheels and the Maxxis on various terrains and speeds, so it's very unlikely that it went unnoticed this long. If not me, it could have been someone else sitting with me who would have pointed it out if there was tyre noise.

Now, it doesn't even take 5 mins for anyone to notice that there is noise from the tyres and it changes as per the speed of the jeep.

Originally Posted by manasm View Post
Amal,

The humming sound is a combination of the MTs and the fact that the tyres stick out of the wheel well. I had the issue of a slight buzzing/humming with my offset alloys and the Geolandar ATs.

I covered the engine bay and floor of the Thar with thick industrial rubber mats which damps the sounds. Am waiting for Feb and then will be ordering Dampmat from Monty. Have heard only good things about the product. The Dampmat will replace the rubber mats and should cut out external road noises even more.

Manas
I was thinking of damping the doors when I'd install the music system but you're right, may be even some parts of the floor and the wheel wells can also use it. I'm actually looking out to get some thicker mats made for the jeep, will PM you to get details on what you've done.
Old 9th January 2013, 20:25   #77

Originally Posted by amolpol View Post
I was thinking of damping the doors when I'd install the music system but you're right, may be even some parts of the floor and the wheel wells can also use it. I'm actually looking out to get some thicker mats made for the jeep, will PM you to get details on what you've done.
It will be very difficult to damp the doors for the Thar. They are very thin and almost no space in between. I have tried it. I have a set of speakers in the doors and the installer had to make 2 rings to hold the speakers since the doors are not thick enough to hold them. The speaker sticks out quite a bit which is bad since it sometimes hits my leg when I am driving. It is good as it makes me drive smoothly and slowly so I don't bang my leg!

I would suggest using dynamat or dampmat on the firewall and the wheel wells and a removable rubber sheet on the rest of the floor. Ideally you can install rivets/buttons which you can snap off to remove the sheet when cleaning the inside of the car. When you put it back, snap the buttons back on and the mats stay in place.

If you are interested in dampmat, let me know and maybe if we order together we can get a discount for a larger order qty.

Manas
Old 9th January 2013, 21:50   #78

Did you have any other luggage besides the winch?
No, we were a family of 4 travelling to the US (dad, mom, wifey n me) for a month long vacation. So, you can imagine how minimal our luggage would be.
I was under the impression that the customs guys would consider the price based on the original invoice for the item. I believe its only if you dont have the appropriate bill when they would want to look up the local prices for any item. But again this is what I've heard and would like to confirm it. Even if I end up paying ~10k as duty, its still going to be a better deal than buying it here.
Not really sure about this Amol. I had bought the M8000 winch from Amazon for ~400$. It was some Christmas offer sold and shipped by Amazon. I was of the opinion that since it is less than 25K, i could get it without any customs duty. But when i checked with a few people, they warned me that it shall be calculated based on the indian price. No guarantee on the authenticity of this info.

Deepak

Last edited by starter : 9th January 2013 at 21:51.
Old 9th January 2013, 23:55   #79

1st service interaction with Mahindra - RUBBISH

Today is one day that made me think why I can't learn from my mistakes and move away from the "desi" manufacturers who have nothing but incompetence and shameless behaviors to offer. I was thinking that Mahindra may be a shade better than Tata given that they're selling more numbers etc, but I was so wrong! Looking at today's experience, I think Tata easily beats Mahindra in being more customer focused whereas both of them really suck on being quality focused.

So I left the Thar at the India Garage workshop at Peenya on Monday on insistence of the spares manager that the team over there had the competencies required to fit the SA rollcage and that I should take the pain of traveling all the way from Whitefield to get it done from them. I was given the reference of the service manager who seemed like a nice person and I'm sure that he is. Anyways, they said it would take a couple of days to fix the SA rollcage and asked whether I'd want to use up my free 1st service voucher as well to which I declined and asked them to keep that for later.

I did tell him to do a few things in addition to fitting the rollcage:

- Headlamp leveling to be done - the upper beam is focused at the trees
- Install a 12V cigarette lighter socket - there's no provision to charge the phone right now
- Install new locks for the underseat storage and the fuel lid - I don't want the ignition key for these
- Top up the coolant - it was below the half way mark already

The delivery was scheduled today and I had to follow up with them rather than they keeping me informed on the status of the delivery. To top the whole event, my SA tells me to contact the manager since my jeep was being worked upon by the body shop guys and the manager had updates on it rather than the SA. After about a couple of tries, I was told that the work was still being done and the jeep should be ready by afternoon. I asked them if they'd send it over but I was told that they were running short of drivers and that I'll have to wait until tomorrow. Given that I had no previous experience with the Mahindra service I decided to go to the workshop myself.

2 buses and 2 hours later, I was at the service center along with Pozu. The jeep was standing right there, ready for delivery and I was pleased. This is definitely different from Tata where my SA would wait for me to reach and then immediately take the car in for another cleanup and make me wait for 15 mins or so. Then came the time for inspection to see the quality of workmanship and a quick glance at the rollcage had me disappointed.

- The center front piece looked like it was a used piece while the side fitments looked new. The front roll bar had scratch marks and paint chip off at multiple places and there was nothing on it that could tell it was a new piece. Now, I'm not fussy about all of this, but if I'm paying 10k for the assembly, shouldn't it atleast look visually new to begin with.
- The workshop guys try and reason out saying this would have happened during transit and that they are not the ones exactly responsible for the state of the spares. I'm not exactly happy listening to this c**p but I let it go saying its just an iron pipe and I could do some touchups later on to make it look better.
- Then there is another issue that the driver side assembly was almost touching the wheel well whereas there was almost 7-10mm clearance on the LHS side assembly. I'm not sure how it should be and nobody there was able to tell me whether there was a problem or its just how much Mahindra reeks of quality. I'll post some pictures later tomorrow to explain this.
- I was just coming to terms about paying 13k for a shoddy rollcage when I realize that the bracket that attaches the top of the rollcage to the targa band is missing. I ask about it and then the guy suddenly realizes that it is indeed missing, but they go on to tell me that they've not really charged for it since it has to be ordered separately and they dont have it with them now. So I've to live with it until they can summon the monkeys again to find the part and ship it to them which may take another lifetime I presume .

At the end of it, I'm just ready to leave coz I'm not happy about the whole thing and we're getting late. So I bid goodbye to the lady who tried her best to be nice to me. Her job title said she was some relationship manager for that branch and that explained her politeness and eagerness to help out when really she knew nothing of what was happening here.

Anyways, I'm finally out on the road and take the road to Hebbal from yeshwantpur. There's lot of traffic on the road and I try to honk at someone, but something was not right. Instead of the loud skoda type horn, what I heard was a bleak sound like it was at the end of its life. So, I leave my car for the rollcage and now I have a horn problem. I call up my SA and tell him the issue, he says that the horn was working until they sent the car for the wash. I asked if they pressure washed the car and the answer was positive. That pretty much explained the horn situation, reckless washing has messed it up. The guy offers to send someone home tomorrow to check and fix it. With no real choices left, I agree but I also tell him that I'd expect a replacement if they're unable to fix and that these were the Hella horns and not the OE pieces of junk.

A little later I realize that the lady had mentioned something about a HPL service for which they charged me 600rs and that was basically a car wash. Now, I hadn't requisitioned for a car wash and when the guy told me that the car was getting a wash in the afternoon, I thought it'll be the regular wash that Tata does for me free of cost almost every time - nothing spectacular about it. So I called this lady again and tell her that not only I've been wrongly charged for the wash, it has actually complicated the situation and now I have collateral damage due to it. Moreover, the washing quality was quite bad, there were wipe marks almost everywhere, the bonnet, the mirrors, windscreen, this wasn't what you'd expect from a 600 bucks wash. She's apologetic and tells me she'd look into it and make sure everything is okay.

The sun has gone down by now and the lights have to come on, I realize that the leveling hasn't been done. The upper beam is still aimed at the sky and the lower beam is pretty much lighting up the road as if its high beam. I call the SA again and ask him whether the leveling was done and he says they had made necessary adjustments, but couldn't explain why the lights were still off.

By this time I was fuming with frustration about the whole experience. Just then I realize that I should also check whether the Hella aux lamps are functinoal or not since there's been a lot of things going wrong today. And what I found wasn't pretty, the lights didnt respond to the switch. It looked like the water spray had gotten them too. I park the car again and make a call to the service center manager and give him a piece of my mind about the whole goof up. He assures me that he'll take care of it and that there will be someone at my place to check all the electricals and rectify the issues.

I returned home dejected with all the happenings of the day and now am eagerly waiting for tomorrow to see what needs to be done to fix these things. Its a pity to see that the service center can't take care of such small things. The whole incident doesn't give me any confidence for the next few services where I'd have to once again rely on their incompetence to get the issues fixed. So much for Mahindra to "RISE"....huh!
amolpol is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th January 2013, 11:21   #80

sir,

No words to say, after going thru your entire episode. I have gone thru this syndrome with M&M products & team in various part of the country from the year 2000, the day i brought my Bolero and married to the brand.

Understood their product and service capabilities fully by 2007 !! with their different products and 1000s of visits to their ASCs. Now im a happy customer as i know how,whom & where to get the work done thru ASC.

Branch you have mentioned ie peenya ,is the best for me for all my services.

I got fitted the 2nd SA roll over bar in india, after BD sirs MH 521, was done at Peenya.Step by step process was guided Mr BD.

All servies of my M&M vehicles are done at Peenya,and they do a wonderful job. off course i do have set of selected guys for my fleet !!.

All electricals with a specialist called Ajeesh from kerala who does a fantastic job, just like or better than OE wiring.No joints , except soldering and OE clips with plastic sockets.

All AC works - We cool - Mr Thobias.

One should really understand what to do or not to do at ASCs , if your buying an M&M product.

Last edited by Rajith : 10th January 2013 at 11:27.
Old 10th January 2013, 13:03   #81

Amol,

I have to agree with Rajith.

I have had my problems as well with ***, but happened to meet Rajith and have been giving my Thar to the guys in Peenya and have had great service.

I also speak to only one person in the Peenya SA and he has been fantastic and very communicative. I have called him at all times of day and night just to ask questions and he has helped me every time or at least pointed me in the right direction.

The Peenya guys have solved my coolent leaking issues, the drooping front end, irregular wheel wear and given my Thar a thorough cleaning inside and out (they even once went so far as to remove all the seats to take out the carpets and do a full clean of the floor) every time I give my vehicle. I live in Indiranagar, but always make sure I give my Thar to them.

Thanks to Rajith, I also use Ajeesh for my electricals and he has not let me down so far either.

Manas
Old 10th January 2013, 13:31   #82

Dear Amolpol - your experience is unfortunate but it is not a one-off case. If this case was taken up at the highest level, comments such as these will flow in the presentation - "What happened to that Bangalore guy"? "Sir, he insisted on South Africa part, PPAP is different Sir / Sir, vendor audit was carried out Sir / Sir, this operation is not within my purview Sir / Sir, we will sort it out Sir / Sir, Thar body variation Sir / Sir, we must circulate service advisory Sir / But Sir, for that we need system OK Sir / Sir, export parts system has computer issue Sir / Sir, you know Sir (this from the level one c**m**a (in Hindi) / Sir blah blah Sir" etc etc etc. The top guys will go "hmmm hmmm". You will only wonder what happened because you will never know (neither do I)! .

Take Rajith's advice as he has gone through the sugarcane juice machine. The ASC guys are basically good fellows, but they are equally confused. So, take charge, do somethings at the ASC which is within their purview, don't do anything else there. I hope you have recieved your share of enlightenment under the bodhi tree! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2013, 15:47   #83

Amol

When I drove down to Bangalore, I had spoken to Rajith and Manas to guide me with a good ASC there. Both their replies were Peenya India Garage. There's one particular chap who can help you and he's the same guy helping Rajith and Manas.

This chap did an awesome job on my Thar too! So far my experience has been good in Bangalore and Udaipur where the guys at the ASC are motivated and can rectify issues. I somehow disagree with BD, when it comes to getting only certain things done at the ASC. Mind you, these guys are trained by the company and should be able to handle any kind of job pertaining to any vehicle from their stable. However, the way this comes across, is similar to knowing some agent in a government office to get things done. Trust me, it shouldn't be so! Like I famously mentioned once before, this will be my first and the last Mahindra product I'll ever have.

Ahoy, Rajith and Manas!
Trueintrepid is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2013, 19:45   #84

Wow, I see a lot of good discussion here.

Here's the latest and not so greatest from today's update:

- God has been kind on me, the Hella lamps decided to turn on today morning. It seems like they must have been wary of all the water that was sprayed in the cabin and the engine bay and waited for it to dry out before coming back to life.
- I had to remind the service manager in the morning about my issue to which
he quickly replied that they will be sending someone from the Whitefield ASC to attend my jeep.
- About couple of hours and another reminder later, two guys turn up in my parking, not really knowing why they were sent. Apparently they were given my number by the Whitefield service manager and asked to report here. Classic chinese whisper case!
- So I explain the situation to them and the first thing they offer is to take the jeep to the ASC and check the horns which sounded totally ridiculous. I told them they can take the horn out and go fix it at the service center at length and if nothing can be done, go buy a new set for me and come back to fix it. I was in no mood to send the jeep to the ASC for a new set of issues to deal with. Another round of phone call to the service manager was needed to get aligned on this.
- After they're gone, there is phone silence for a few hours and at about 4PM I decide to call up again to find out the status. The service manager tells me that he'll call up the Whitefield manager and give me an update.
- No update again till about 6PM when I call again to find out whether they still remember my issue. I'm told that the horns seem to have gone bad, but they want time till tomorrow morning to do the post mortem and really declare them dead. I'm advised to sleep tonight with the hope that tomorrow will be a better day when my issue might get resolved.
- I ask the manager again about why I was charged for the car wash without notice to which he said he'll try and adjust the amount in the next service or something. Now my frustration is not about the 600rs, but over the pain that the washing has caused me overall. Hence I will make sure I get a full refund of that money and spend it on some good wine to drown my sorrows...just kidding!

Originally Posted by Rajith View Post
Branch you have mentioned ie peenya ,is the best for me for all my services.

All servies of my M&M vehicles are done at Peenya,and they do a wonderful job. off course i do have set of selected guys for my fleet !!.
Originally Posted by manasm View Post
I have had my problems as well with ***, but happened to meet Rajith and have been giving my Thar to the guys in Peenya and have had great service.

I also speak to only one person in the Peenya SA and he has been fantastic and very communicative. I have called him at all times of day and night just to ask questions and he has helped me every time or at least pointed me in the right direction.

Originally Posted by Trueintrepid View Post
Amol
When I drove down to Bangalore, I had spoken to Rajith and Manas to guide me with a good ASC there. Both their replies were Peenya India Garage. There's one particular chap who can help you and he's the same guy helping Rajith and Manas.

Dear All, I take your feedback with the highest regards. No doubt that there must be some good guy(s) there, but given that my jeep work was undertaken directly through the service managers' reference, they should have automatically gotten their best guys to handle it. I'm sure that after this incident they'll all know me and my jeep and I may never face such negligence again.

I have experienced similar thing with Tata where my Safari is now known to the SA and they know that messing around with it means trouble. I don't know if this is a good thing afterall, coz they always learn through mistakes that sometimes may prove costly.

Anyway, given that there is an India Garage ASC in Whitefield I have no intentions of undertaking the 2 hour journey to Peenya for every service. If that needs me to get the Whitefield service manager to send one of his guys to Peenya for an internship and learn all the tricks of the trade, I'll get him to do that. I have a long way before the free services are done, post which I can move away to find a mechanic of my choice for future needs and hopefully by then I'll make a good friend here in Whitefield too.

My frustration comes from the fact that they're not even being proactive after they know that they scr**ed up. In this regards, I find the Tata guys to be much better behaved and willing to do anything for you so that it all ends well.

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Amolpol - your experience is unfortunate but it is not a one-off case. If this case was taken up at the highest level, comments such as these will flow in the presentation - "What happened to that Bangalore guy"? "Sir, he insisted on South Africa part, PPAP is different Sir / Sir, vendor audit was carried out Sir / Sir, this operation is not within my purview Sir / Sir, we will sort it out Sir / Sir, Thar body variation Sir / Sir, we must circulate service advisory Sir / But Sir, for that we need system OK Sir / Sir, export parts system has computer issue Sir / Sir, you know Sir (this from the level one c**m**a (in Hindi) / Sir blah blah Sir" etc etc etc. The top guys will go "hmmm hmmm". You will only wonder what happened because you will never know (neither do I)! .

Take Rajith's advice as he has gone through the sugarcane juice machine. The ASC guys are basically good fellows, but they are equally confused. So, take charge, do somethings at the ASC which is within their purview, don't do anything else there. I hope you have recieved your share of enlightenment under the bodhi tree! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
BD sir, I know it'll just be a point of reference for someone to say that there was some issue and they took care of it. But inspite of that, I'll make sure that this gets highlighted as much as I can. If I have to spend anxious nights thinking about what all might have gone wrong with my jeep because the Mahindra monkeys fiddled around with it, I'd be happy to give some harrowing time to them too. It may surely not change the attitude that the company has towards quality or customer service, and I care a damn if they do or they don't as long as my work gets done to satisfaction!

One should really understand what to do or not to do at ASCs , if your buying an M&M product.
I don't know if I agree with you on this or not. If the ASC can't wash a jeep properly without causing issue, what more should you expect of them? There was a poster at the ASC saying why the customer should choose to use them vs local mechanics, the next time I go there I'm thinking I'll just pull it down or worse, write nasty things on it.

Anyway, I paid 3K for labor to fit that darn rollcage and for all the other issues that they created for me, so I better make them work for it till I feel that it was worth it.

In the X and Y theory of management, I'm not exactly the types where I believe I need to stand at the service center and supervise the jobs etc, I'm the type where I expect them to know their jobs well but also to be ready to get their a** kicked if work isn't done to my satisfaction. I guess this is a starting point for that relationship with M&M, hopefully there will be better times with the ASC in the future.

Do any of you know if M&M does surveys for the service feedback and how seriously do the dealerships take a ZERO. I remember seeing the survey scale showing 8 is good blah..blah..blah.

Mind you, these guys are trained by the company and should be able to handle any kind of job pertaining to any vehicle from their stable. However, the way this comes across, is similar to knowing some agent in a government office to get things done. Trust me, it shouldn't be so! Like I famously mentioned once before, this will be my first and the last Mahindra product I'll ever have.
You're right. Sadly, the trained ASC monkeys need a whip to do their jobs better whereas the govt lazy as**s need "under the table" money even to do their jobs. That's pretty much how things in our country run today.

Ahoy, Rajith and Manas!
+1 to that, both of you have been helpful to me as well
amolpol is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th January 2013, 22:25   #85

The story continued even today, here's an update:

- I had decided not to call anyone today to follow up, the lady finally called up at around 11PM asking if I was going to be at home for the next hour so that she can ask the Whitefield workshop guys to come and fix the horns. I had other plans but later confirmed to her that I can be at home and that the guys can come over before 1PM to get it done.
- As usual, their clock was running on time I guess and it was well beyond 2.30PM when the guy called saying he's at my apartment. He's come with one of the mechanics who fixes the horn. I'm told that its been fixed like it never went bad, I take that with a pinch of salt and decide to agree or disagree based on a test run.
- I ask the mechanic if he can get the lights focused properly since the high beam has been pretty much useless on the roads. He tries a few things but it doesn't solve the issue. He tells me that the alignment will have to be done by removing the light grill etc and I could come over to the workshop and get it done whenever I have an hour to spare. Given that I've been waiting to get this done since day one, I tell him that I will swing by the workshop at 4PM.
- At 4PM, I reach the workshop and call the guy, I'm happy to see that the work starts almost immediately. On the way to the workshop though, I realized that though the horn was working, the tone was not the same anymore, neither it was sounding as loud. Not wanting to put up with the sloppiness anymore, I call the service manager and tell him to take back those repaired horns and I'll just get a replacement set and send him the bill. He has no choice but to agree at this point and even though it means I have to make a visit to Koramangala just for this, I'm at least assured that there will be no follow up issues again.
- The mechanic works diligently to get the lights adjusted and he's adjusted the screws under the black rim on the outside. The lights are satisfactorily adjusted and now the high beam isn't showing me tree canopies. Later I realize, that there are two adjustment screws given on the backside of the lights which pretty much do the same job as what the guy did by removing the grills etc. So it may just have been a 5 mins job which took 30 instead, not sure if I'm 100% right on this but that's what I could comprehend.

Now it's time for some feedback on the rollcage installation. I got some pictures today to illustrate what I mean by the poor quality of spares. Forgive me for the quality of pictures since these are from the phone camera, nevertheless it should help to give an idea.

- I had mentioned that the clearances are different on both sides. What I want to know is how should it be in reality? Right now, I don't even know which one is close to being correct. Moreover, this open end is right in the middle of the side rollbar and typically I would have thought that there's a clamp missing at the bottom that attaches it to the wheel well.

A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-rollcageclearance.jpg

- Another issue was the quality of finishing on the front roll bar and here are a few pics of the installation. There are scratch marks all through and a few paint chip marks too. The side roll bars have a much better finish and can be called new vs this one which looks like it's either been lying in inventory for a long time and has been manhandled a few times already.

Scratches - Just above the driver seat
A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-abovedriverseat.jpg

Behind the driver seat - Notice the finishing difference between the vertical and horizontal bar. The horizontal bar is a part of the side assembly which looks pretty good.
A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-behinddriverseat.jpg

Front view of the roll bar - gives an impression that its been bumped into frequently.
A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-frontrollbar.jpg

Behind the passenger seats - numerous scratches and paint chip off
A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-behindpassengerseat.jpg

The missing clamp - which isn't a part of the rollcage assembly
A Biker to a Jeeper - Mahindra Thar Crde-missingclamp.jpg
Old 12th January 2013, 11:50   #86

BD sir, I know it'll just be a point of reference for someone to say that there was some issue and they took care of it. But inspite of that, I'll make sure that this gets highlighted as much as I can. If I have to spend anxious nights thinking about what all might have gone wrong with my jeep because the Mahindra monkeys fiddled around with it, I'd be happy to give some harrowing time to them too. It may surely not change the attitude that the company has towards quality or customer service, and I care a damn if they do or they don't as long as my work gets done to satisfaction!
Dear Amolpol - BEST OF LUCK (you poor guy!). I can say only one thing. Don't target the dealership guys. They are actually quite harmless and completely confused. They are the buffer built in by the guys who matter. Always the buffer gets the battering, the guys who matter sit in citadel towers and make presentations galore. The equation is different. It is as follows:

Q: Who will attend to a customer's vehicle if there is an issue?
A: The dealer's technician Sir.
Q: Will he know what to do?
A: Yes Sir, we will put him through "training program" Sir. There is a training calendar Sir.
Q: Who will train?
A: Training consultant + some of our guys for some of the time Sir (more former than latter).
Q; How will you hire training consultant?
A; We will get headhunter to do it and draw up a contract Sir.
Q: (if at all asked, normally nobody is expected to ask, the big bosses rarely do) - so, what will you actually do?
A: (if actually given - normally not expected to be given) - ***** (actually not writeable on an open forum). .

So, my dear Customer Shri Amolpol, the last Q and the last A (if the discussion ever comes to that, which it never does) are debatable till the cows come home, go out and come home again, "n" number of times. The whole thing is sewn up so tight, you may as well hit your head against a wall, only your head will break! I suggest, it's not worth it, we have much more positive things to do in life, for you, enjoying your vehicle is one of them, so ENJOY YOUR VEHICLE, ENJOY YOUR LIFE and therefore, BEST OF LUCK! .

By the way, the part number of the bracket in your last photograph is RVM2503.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 12th January 2013 at 11:53. Reason: add info
Old 12th January 2013, 13:49   #87

[b][u] I can say only one thing. Don't target the dealership guys. They are actually quite harmless and completely confused. They are the buffer built in by the guys who matter. Always the buffer gets the battering, the guys who matter sit in citadel towers and make presentations galore.
Point taken, I've never really yelled at the mechanics or the dealership staff in all these years. But I've always made sure I tell them if I was not happy about something in a very calm tone so they know that I'm not jumping with joy after getting back the vehicle. Given that most Indians only react to high pitched tones and calm discussions never really get actioned, it's always been that the dealership guys pass me off as just another customer who is at their mercy. This is when I choose to follow up by some emails and phone calls to people who can make sure that I'm attended to as a customer and not as a person who is begging for his work to be done or for a reimbursement etc.

As a customer, I don't really want to know who's at fault, it's not worth my time to find out. I'm sure that in this whole deal, the dealership guys are the ones who get the rap on their knuckles for not taking care of the issue at their end and having the customer reach out to those guys in suit-boot at the head office. Hopefully, at the end of it they will get some support to do their jobs better too.

The equation is different. It is as follows:

Q: (if at all asked, normally nobody is expected to ask, the big bosses rarely do) - so, what will you actually do?
A: (if actually given - normally not expected to be given) - ***** (actually not writeable on an open forum). .

So, my dear Customer Shri Amolpol, the last Q and the last A (if the discussion ever comes to that, which it never does) are debatable till the cows come home, go out and come home again, "n" number of times. The whole thing is sewn up so tight, you may as well hit your head against a wall, only your head will break! I suggest, it's not worth it, we have much more positive things to do in life, for you, enjoying your vehicle is one of them, so ENJOY YOUR VEHICLE, ENJOY YOUR LIFE and therefore, BEST OF LUCK! .
Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Well, I can tell you that I should not be looked upon as a poor consumer by any large organization. I can definitely find ways to make things happen even if that needs a bit of arm twisting sometimes.

And if, what you described is really the state of affairs inside Mahindra, then I feel sorry for them more than being angry. I personally manage large customer support engagements for my organization and can tell you that our customers are not looked as helpless guys who have bought our products but potential lifetime buyers who will keep the company in business for years to come. When you're in the business of selling machines that can go wrong, things will always go wrong, but it is what you do next that defines you as a company that cares for its customers.
amolpol is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2013, 17:22   #88

I personally manage large customer support engagements for my organization and can tell you that our customers are not looked as helpless guys who have bought our products but potential lifetime buyers who will keep the company in business for years to come. When you're in the business of selling machines that can go wrong, things will always go wrong, but it is what you do next that defines you as a company that cares for its customers.
Dear Amolpol - YOU HAVE PERFECTLY MENTIONED YOUR COMMENT. 10 ON 10. Hats off to you!

I hope at least now good sense prevails and the dealership guys don't get hammered as buffers for something that they had no control over in the first place (wishful thinking but I always live with hope). To do the right thing after things have gone wrong can only be done by people who can think, strategize, focus, decide and act. Sadly, the (few) guys who can do this are not allowed to do so by the "all encompassing presentation brigade". It is only when these people learn the hard way that something will happen. Only you can make it happen as you are the CUSTOMER. You have paid good money to buy your vehicle so you must get what you expect and pay for at every interaction, it is your right, so assert it, but please do it with the correct guys, not the poor buffers!

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 12th January 2013, 17:52   #89

The mechanic works diligently to get the lights adjusted and he's adjusted the screws under the black rim on the outside. The lights are satisfactorily adjusted and now the high beam isn't showing me tree canopies. Later I realize, that there are two adjustment screws given on the backside of the lights which pretty much do the same job as what the guy did by removing the grills etc. So it may just have been a 5 mins job which took 30 instead, not sure if I'm 100% right on this but that's what I could comprehend.

Never remove the black rim of the head lights as the adjustment screws are on the rear side inside the bonnet.Can be done with a tester,30 sec job.Now you can see many dents and scratches on your removed ring and that part is not available separately of the same KIND.(Done same mistake on my MAJOR 4WD for hella assy). Rims has to removed for olden type of head light assy where inner doom was separately fitted.

Please remove the soft top, roll cage, do a proper dupont finish on the roll cage and inside of the body shell, where there may be many paint scratches during rollcage fitment and do a proper refit with B pillar bracket.

Enjoy the Machine ..

Last edited by Rajith : 12th January 2013 at 17:56.
Rajith is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2013, 12:30   #90

Never remove the black rim of the head lights as the adjustment screws are on the rear side inside the bonnet.Can be done with a tester,30 sec job.Now you can see many dents and scratches on your removed ring and that part is not available separately of the same KIND.(Done same mistake on my MAJOR 4WD for hella assy). Rims has to removed for olden type of head light assy where inner doom was separately fitted.
The rings were fitted back without much issues, so I think it was okay. But I agree that it could have been avoided since the same adjustment can be done from behind. I'll take this as a learning for the future, it's my first jeep so I'm still understanding how things work etc.

Please remove the soft top, roll cage, do a proper dupont finish on the roll cage and inside of the body shell, where there may be many paint scratches during rollcage fitment and do a proper refit with B pillar bracket.
Yeah, I was thinking of options to get a proper finish for the roll bar. Do you think I should ask the ASC guys to do the dupont paint or just get it done from outside? How much would it cost me approximately?

Enjoy the Machine ..
Thanks, and yes it's more important that I enjoy the jeep rather than get distracted by all the things that are happening around it. So, I've decided to let go on the issues that I've had with the ASC for now until they give me another reason to get back to them.