Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 6th September 2008, 22:58   #16

Wonder what these guys want to prove. Do these vehicles even move? In fact in this instance the two tyres are pointing in two different directions.
Old 6th September 2008, 23:46   #17

Look at the tyres on this one... they are 31x10.5 I think.
What to look for while buying an old Gypsy-p1000097.jpg  

Old 8th September 2008, 19:01   #18

I have searched lot many Gypsy's & am confused. I am getting a bare Gypsy of around 1988 - 1990 for a lac, while 1.25 lacs for 93-94 model & 1.6-1.7 lac for 97 model. Since I would be spending atleast Rs. 60000 further for modification of tyres & exteriors. Which model is suggested to be purchased. Although my total budget was of around 1.5 Lacs.. should I increase the same or can go ahead with old 1990 gypsy??
Old 8th September 2008, 19:11   #19

no fun without gypsy king.....pre-king gypsy was underpowered with 1000cc engine......not much of fun!

stick to king!
Old 24th September 2008, 17:04   #20

Hi, I intend to buy a 1991 Gypsy for Rs. 80K & seek your opinion. It is Army auctioned jeep transfered locally & being sold now by the reseller. The vehicle has authorized GAS conversion kit fitted & have good chassis & engine condition but poor paint & tyre conditions. I intend to fit 290 wide baloon tyre with two tone paint & other modifications. Seek your suggestions / tips.
Old 24th September 2008, 21:31   #21

Originally Posted by nishu49 View Post
Hi, I intend to buy a 1991 Gypsy for Rs. 80K ..... I intend to fit 290 wide baloon tyre with two tone paint & other modifications. Seek your suggestions / tips.
Go ahead and buy it. Don't wait any longer.

You don't need to think much before buying an old gypsy to build it for 'pimped up' gypsy. Best of luck for your 290 wide baloon tyres and 2 tone paint. make sure you tie the Gypsy with a strong rope in your parking else the 290 wide baloon tyres may fly away..

PS: I think I understand what this gypsy will be used for, so it doesn't make a difference. Once you buy it and start the mods, please post about mod etc in 'Modification & Accessories section' and not 4x4 section
Old 25th September 2008, 14:24   #22

Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
It is an old term for oversized tyres. He means off road tyres, I hope.

Otherwise....
Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
make sure you tie the Gypsy with a strong rope in your parking else the 290 wide baloon tyres may fly away..
@ DD & KS, i just can't stop laughing.
PS: @DD, how on earth you managed to get that picture?

--Sree--
Old 25th September 2008, 18:15   #23

speciallist

comm'on guys, take it easy on him. There are a lot of people out there who dont know what 4x4 means. One example(or should i say sample) on being asked if he knows what a 4x4 means said something like,'Yeh sure i do,all suv's are 4x4(regardles of the fact if it has a front drive engagement or not)'. Wow, dont we have great people in our country.

No wonder they always get wonderful ideas like trying to fit an A/C in a jeep.

Then there was another one who though 4x4 low means engaging all 4 wheels and 4x4high means engaging 3 tires ,the rear 2 and the front passenger side.
There was yet another who still has a jeep, with a DI, 3 speed, and a dana18, but he had never been offroad. Every now and then he would request me to take him along, and not just that, drive his jeep coz he was afraid. I told him it might damage his jeep but he was o.k. with that. So i just got what i needed, someone who had given me permission to slam his jeep around. When i took him to a nearby riverbed in the hills, and entered a kind of gully there(quite narrow too, coz there was hardly half a foot of space either side of the jeep, and on another occasion i found out it was about 5 kms long, i mean thats how far we could go before it turned too narrow and we had to reverse all the way out). On entering the gully he pissed in his pants. There might be ghosts there, he said, forcing me out of the place. So much for offroading that day. But wait until you here what he called the sport, "off-RIDING" and not offroading. Wonder if he was a pimp or something....
Here are some specialist terms used by these kind of people,

Jeep-any and all SUV's, regardless of their ability to engage the front wheels. sometimes even small trucks and lorries, and include dune buggies and ATV's on the list too.

Offriding- umm, sort of a code for_____???, you know what, but certainly not offroad

4x4high- only 3 drivern wheels

Baloon tires-something you put under your jeep when you intend to make it a lookalike twin brother of a mclaren F1.

Rope- well, thats what they call a winch

Leaf/Coil Springs????- certainly can't be suspension, coz offoraders dont have suspension. its used only on the car domain.

Gearlevers- well every selector lever is a gear . If you got 3 selector levers then obviously you have 3 gears, and 2 levers mean 2 gears. How many gears would a switch select 4x4 have?

Well thats all i can remember as of now
Old 26th September 2008, 11:45   #24

Originally Posted by brutus View Post
How many gears would a switch select 4x4 have?
I believe the answer would be 16.

I am new to Jeeps and 4x4s but not this illiterate to the extent of what you mentioned above in your post.

BTW whats so bad about an A/C on a Jeep? If the chap wants some comfort when he is on the road (not off-roading) especially in hot Delhi summers, then its more of a sensible idea IMHO. Ya! Provided the guy, if incase has a soft top and knows that unless he is able to seal the interiors, that A/C is going to be of no good, he would rather be better off fanning himself.

GTO has an A/C on his soft-top Classic and has managed to seal it proper aswell.

Last edited by abhik : 26th September 2008 at 11:52.
Old 26th September 2008, 16:27   #25

No wonder they always get wonderful ideas like trying to fit an A/C in a jeep.
So? Does an effective air-con make it any less of an offroader? It is just a step toward making a Jeep useable for daily runs. In Mumbai, you simply cannot drive in the day without an air-con. Not unless you want to arrive drenched wherever it is that you are going.

Originally Posted by abhik View Post
BTW whats so bad about an A/C on a Jeep? If the chap wants some comfort when he is on the road (not off-roading) especially in hot Delhi summers, then its more of a sensible idea IMHO. Ya! Provided the guy, if incase has a soft top and knows that unless he is able to seal the interiors, that A/C is going to be of no good, he would rather be better off fanning himself.

GTO has an A/C on his soft-top Classic and has managed to seal it proper aswell.
The air-con is chilly, but there are fairly large gaps all around (e.g. between the plastic doors and body). But the superking blower is a killer and throws out enough cold air to keep you comfortable.

Last edited by GTO : 26th September 2008 at 16:35.
Old 29th September 2008, 12:02   #26

Dont take it too personally pal, it wasn't aimed at you, instead if you read my post its for people who want everything in a jeep instead of a 4wheel drive. Here in Mandi Dabwalli i get to see these characters every time. What they want is an absolute low rider, with the thickest wheels they can find, ofcourse it should have a power steering, ponk in the biggest motor money can buy, which are usually Toyota 3C's or Scorpio motors and the works, made from an Army disposal CJ3B, cut and lowered to look like a ford gpw with the cheapest metal around, and then spray on the cheapest paint they can find, so no doubt it starts rusting in 6 months flat(you can get a ford lookalike body made from scratch for 12.5 grand, and 25 grand if they use the sheets taken off junked ships, atleast that does'nt rust.....that much) and since they dont know anything about willys and fords( willys is spelled like VILLY here), they do the next best thing, and the entire vehicle has invasion stars on it and stickers that spell VILLYFORD or HUMMER H2. If they dont like the villyford stickers, then they take the next step up and the entire vehicle is then made into a mis-spelled sportswear advertisement, with nike,reebok, adidas,chicago bull,etc pasted all over it, like they have been owning these makes for generations.
Dont get me wrong pal, i do understand that to each his own, but i am one of those people that a jeep should be used for what it was made for. Taking out the 4wheel drive just takes out the character from the vehicle.These guys use everything they can get their hands on and in this process, they usually end up spending 3 lakhs on something that rusts up within 6 months, which is usually about the time they can stand it and then they sell it off for less then half of what they bought it for. I mean ,its uselessly destroying a perfectly fine jeep, that after the owner sells it offot someone and the process repeats itself every 6 months, you are then left with something that can never be made any use of. You cannot find a new body anywhere(i could even find the original flat mudguard that easily, and i am not talking about mahindra classic kind of mudguards), and the jeep goes straight to a junk dealer to be butchered.Instead if they had spend it on something what atleast works, or atleast spend enough to get some nice Stainless steal to make the vehicle or even put on some coating that does'nt rust it up,it would have been a much more worthwile jeep.

Look here instead, i belong to a Agriculturist family and and am quite fond of the outdoors, regularly going out for camping, offroading and hunting. If i get a jeep,then its fine and good, or i just use on of the tractors or a horse instead. I do have a Bolero ,but my folks just dont let me buy a 4x4 bolero coz they know exactly what i would use it for, and since am still a student(studing Law in punjab university), i did some odd jobs, and even some property dealing. Now i have enough money made on my own to make a full fledged offroading Jonga, and one of my first buys was this jeep. It does exactly what a jeep is supposed to do, still has the original petrol motor, and has never give up on me. My total expenditure on this jeep is Rs 35000 only(bought it for 15 grand), and according to me , its money worth spent on something that works instead on something that cost you about 3lakhs, doest do anything other than breaking down everyother day and rusting within 6 months. About 5 years ago i bought another one for my folks to use on the farm, and its standing in my village so i dont have the pictures now, but it a 65 Willys CJ3B, LDH and in a very excellent condition and very original too(had the original stickers on the oil filer and the air filter too, and even had the original paint), and you tell me if Rs 7,000 was worth spending on a running Jeep had wanted nothing on it to be worked on, and something that you could make some use for. But then once again, it,"to each his own''.
Bikram
Old 29th September 2008, 12:56   #27

Rope- well, thats what they call a winch

Just imagine what they would call a winch if they see one!

Last edited by headers : 29th September 2008 at 13:00.
Old 29th September 2008, 19:40   #28

Appreciate your sentiments Brutus. Most people look at balloon tyres as something representing rippling muscles and Jeeps are associated with macho and power. Most of them are also very skin deep and don't get into the depth of the subject.
By the way, when are you changing the tyres? They look dangerous to me.
Sudipto
Old 29th September 2008, 23:00   #29

Look at that WW2 trailer behind the Jeep, those are full of tires that still have 50% thread left, but i am looking for a cheap set of Gypsy rims as they are 15" tires. Am actually looking for Mrf NDMS tires, and until then i will have to make do with anything else.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:59   #30

Yeah I saw the heap - lol - though didn't realise they have 50 per cent left in them. I mean the look and feel of the vehicle and the tyres are in sharp contrast to each other. But then I suppose you are a student. So you are pardoned. I love the fact that you still have the original seats. Do they fold? I have very fond memory of those front folding seats - to let ladies get into the rear seats.

Last edited by Sudipto-S-Team : 30th September 2008 at 12:01.