Old 12th February 2006, 20:05   #1

Time to upgrade my car audio

Hi people,

I am planning to buy one more amplifier and another JBL bass tube.

Should i get a JBL Mono Block 301.1 amp (300 X 1) RMS to power two bass tubes
OR
Presently i have Balu THA480 which is powering my JBL bass tube. Its supplying 240 RMS only to my base tube. According to the spec of Balu THA480, it can also work as 2 channel amp, thus supplying 2 X 240 RMS to the 2 bass tubes (i.e total 480 RMS, as the model name suggests THA480). Once again, the specs of Balu amp are in terms of RMS and not PMPO. The JBL bass tube is 125RMS.

Guide me which would be better setup.
a) Balu THA480 with 2 JBL CS1200T bass tubes
OR
b)JBL Mono amp CS 301.1 with 2 JBL CS1200T bass tubes

If u suggest option "a", then i need to buy another 4 channel amp to power the front and rear speakers as my Blau amp would be fully dedicated to the woofers.
If you people suggest option "b", then i would use my Balu amp to power the rear and front component speakers.

I am putting this question in front of GURU LOG, because, today i had been the motor show held in Mumbai at Bandra Kurla Complex and i saw a Fiat Palio which had two JBL bass tubes which were powered using the JBL mono amp and pioneer Head unit DEH-P80MP. The bass as expected was good enough, probably the best for me, but only one thing suprised me was that, it had massive sound only at volume level 4. Why so? I would say that it was sounding much more, than what sound it get at volume level 62 of my pioneer 7750.

Is it because of the JBL mono amp powering the bass tubes?

I am totally confused and sorry for typing such a long story...

Please reply all my questions

Ya, i forgot one thing is that while upgrading, i plan to get Monster Cable for wiring..
Old 12th February 2006, 20:26   #2

Gosh , i have no clues asto how they managed to put two CS 1200T in the boot of a (palio?!) .. That thing is quite massive btw unlike the bass tubes from blaupunkt .. Coming to think of it u have a accent right ??? Still i wouldnt advocate two bass tubes(navin might not agree with me) , maybe it sounded better in a palio but each car has different charectersitics u know .. What might sound good in a polio certainly neednt have to sound the same in a accent ..

Secondly , one amp that too a mono to run two bass tubes doesnt seem likely .. Id say if u are going for two bass tubes either get two monos or a 4ch amp .. Use 2ch for each sub .. The question about the volume levels maybe the palio had a bass controller which lets u choose the amount of bass irrespective of volume .. Hope that helps ..
Old 12th February 2006, 20:43   #3

Maclaren, thanks for replying. If u say that one mono amp is not enough for two bass tubes, then let me tell u one thing, that palio guy had two bass tubes running ona single JBL mono amp.

According to you, i should go for option "a", in my first thread i.e use the my 4 ch blau amp to power the tubes and get anothe 4 ch amp.

Ya, i have a accent and , i do agree with ur post that different cars require different types of setup. Finallt wats a bass controller?
Old 12th February 2006, 23:01   #4

a) the JBL300.1 can drive 2 bass tubes and will do so better than the blau 480

b) the volumes shown on the HU are not represnetative on the levels in the amp. it depnds on the sensitvity settings on the amp

that said

1. why do you need 2 1200T in a car. they will produce prodigious ammounts of bass and will over power the rest of the system esp if powered by a 300.1

2. if you do intend to use 2x1200T (some people like a lot of bass) powered by the 300.1 id recommend using the 480 to power the front and rear. set the gains to both amps somewhere in the middle and try and obtain a setting that will allow equal representation to the full muscial spectrum.
Old 12th February 2006, 23:47   #5

ok so Navin saab, u mean to say that JBL GTO301.1 mono amp (300x1) RMS will drive the 2 bass tubes better and without distortion?

As far as wiring is concerned, navin ji, is monster cable good? or can u suggest some other brand.

As far as my blau 480 spec concerned, they seems to be better than the JBL's mono spec (RMS), but i am still wondering, what is the advantage of putting a mono amp?

With all due respect to navin ji (Guru ji), i am not contradicting your view, i am just trying to clear of my doubt about the difference between the advantage of a mono amp over a 4 ch blau amp. What makes the mono amp so special so that it is made to run subwoofers?
Old 13th February 2006, 09:21   #6

The 300.1 was designed to run subs. the 480 is a 4 ch amp designed to run the front and rear speakers.

subs have some special requirements. the cones are usually heavy. their impedance curves can be very reactive (speakers also can have reactive impedance curves but I've sees subwoofer impedances drop to 2ohms and lower).

hence subwoofers work better with amps that can dump a lot of current at low impedances. I think the 300.1 will do so better than the 480. The 300.1 will be operating at 2 ohms which does also mean that the 300.1 will be dumping even more current. PM Sam to double check if the 300.1 can drive a 2 ohm load (2 subs in parallel).
Old 14th February 2006, 11:02   #7

Would capacitor be required to run bass tubes along with JBL 301.1 mono amp or JBL 601.1 mono amp?
Old 14th February 2006, 11:32   #8

on a minor note; 300.1 is a CS series amp and 301.1 is a GTO series.

And here's my doubts. Wouldnt the bass from a mono amp with 300W RMS make you happy when you use it to fire a JBL tube? Or maybe you cn even use that 600W mono amp! or better get a custom box made for 2 12incher JBLs. What say?
Old 14th February 2006, 12:07   #9

then the 301.1 is even better than the 300.1!
Old 15th February 2006, 21:14   #10

but guru log, i am came to know about JBL GTO 601.1 mono amp costing Rs 19990, and i i'll wait for a month or two and get this amp.

How is it!!!! Basically i just want to put a sticker at the back of my accent saying "THE BASS MACHINE".
Old 16th February 2006, 11:47   #11

601.1 is like 2 x 301.1. Why Bass Machine? why not a Music Machine?
Old 16th February 2006, 18:14   #12

Originally Posted by navin
601.1 is like 2 x 301.1.

Well not exactly. It's still a monoblock, but twice as powerful. It's expensive and very, very powerful.
Old 16th February 2006, 22:57   #13

ok, navin ji, i agree with you, and i'll put a sticker saying "THE MUSIC MACHINE", and since you too are Mumbai, may be i'll get me car some time and show you.

ok ok ok.. Now navin ji, i know that my "would be setup" which would be like 601.1 with 2 bass tubes and a blau THA 480 powering my front components and rear co-axis, would not sound the best of music systems you have heard. But stil.... as i came to know about all these things from you people, i would want to show u may car after the setup. May be my dream setup is about 2 -6 months away.
Old 19th February 2006, 00:44   #14

when you are ready PM me. I am past my "using my car as a music system" days and today it is used more to carry our bags (we travel a lot).
Old 22nd February 2006, 10:27   #15

Hey SAM, can u suggest any JBL sub of about 300-400 RMS to go along with the JBL 601.1 mono amp.

First i was planning to use 2 JBL CS1200T bass tubes along with JBL 601.1, but the amp seems to be too powerful for the two tubes, isnt it?

So please suggest a sub to be mated along with the 601.1.