Old 24th March 2006, 22:31   #1

Car subs for home use

This might sound a little off topic in the ICE forum. But I need to get this discussion going since I got an idea of using car sub drivers for home (home theatre/ two channel audio) listening.
Now, those into diy electronics will find that sub drivers for home theatre use are difficult to find in India. On the other hand, there are plenty of good car sub drivers around.

1) Could they be used at home?
2) What differentiates a car and a home sub driver?

Ok experts, keep the answers coming.

Vivek
Old 24th March 2006, 22:43   #2

@vivek:

About a year back was fully charged up about this car sub for home audio and there were some valuable information exchanged. You might want to have a look at this thread that was active.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...strated-2.html
Old 25th March 2006, 10:12   #3

So what did you do about the car sub project?

Could you send me the Car Stereo Speaker Projects Illustrated file if possible?
Old 25th March 2006, 14:16   #4

Originally Posted by Vivekphadnis
So what did you do about the car sub project?

Could you send me the Car Stereo Speaker Projects Illustrated file if possible?
nahi yaar....the feedback wasnt that promising...i need to look for that file...will send across/let u know if i find it

what about u..have you made up ur mind to go ahead ..if so please let me know...i need a pretty gud sub myself. we will try to do somethin
Old 26th March 2006, 00:46   #5

What are your budgets? For 20K Wharfdale makes a decent home sub. cabinet and all.
Old 26th March 2006, 09:35   #6

Originally Posted by navin
What are your budgets? For 20K Wharfdale makes a decent home sub. cabinet and all.
Budget i had in mind was b/w 12-16 K.

I already have a 8 inch 100 rms ProFx sub which is a weak link when i play some bass heavy Dts/ Prologic movies. My home theatre A/V setup's front towers also have 8 inch woofers.

20 K sounds slightly above budget and they have 12 inch or a 10 inch drivers. Have you auditioned that yourself navin. Any other recomendations.
Old 26th March 2006, 10:43   #7

20K is way way beyond my budget. I was thinking more in terms of using one of the Sony or JBL drivers.
Old 26th March 2006, 11:19   #8

20K is way way beyond my budget. I was thinking more in terms of using one of the Sony or JBL drivers.
Even if u plan to use it as home subw,how will u power it.You will need to buy amplifier also.
Old 26th March 2006, 23:11   #9

I build amplifiers so I will just make one. I have already decided on a 160W mosfet amplifier.
Old 27th March 2006, 09:54   #10

Originally Posted by muni
I already have a 8 inch 100 rms ProFx sub which is a weak link when i play some bass heavy Dts/ Prologic movies. My home theatre A/V setup's front towers also have 8 inch woofers.

20 K sounds slightly above budget and they have 12 inch or a 10 inch drivers. Have you auditioned that yourself navin. Any other recomendations.
I have heard the Whafdale sub at Lakozy but I cant say it was a dedicated audition. What I can say is that it did a decent job for a suib-amp available for 20K with a decent furniture grade box.

If I was to build something similar say using a good 12" woofer ($100-150 on the woofer) it might end up costing the same. Do the maths. you'll need $100-150 (Rs. 4500-6000) for a decent 12". Then another Rs. 4000 for a plate amp that can dump 100/8 AND 200/4 and another Rs. 3-4000 for a 19mm MDF braced box with good 1.5mm laminate or Rs. 4-5000 for teak veneer and melamine polish .

When I build something I look at what I am replacing. If I am not going to get it done at half the cost it is not worth my time.
Old 27th March 2006, 09:58   #11

I dont think either the SOny or JBL car woofer will have the definition to work in the HT.

The JBL woofers I have used at home were expensive. Sam says that they are usually used at clubs the model is a JBL 2245 it is 18" and I got them (one for each channel) it with the JBL B460 box in the late 80s.

Post WAF I had to donate them to a local bar. Now I live with 4 12" woofers from Mike Dzurko (Audio Concepts Inc.). The furniture grade box to house these woofers cost me about Rs. 6000 with veneer but with french polish.
Old 27th March 2006, 10:54   #12

It does look like building a sub would not be worth it after all the headache I am having.

I saw a polk audio sub 100W, ported sub with a 10 in driver for rs 10,500. Or Sonodyne is also there. Prices should be pretty low. Should I just buy one instead of building?
Old 27th March 2006, 11:13   #13

Should I just buy one instead of building?

Impersonator!! Who are you?? What have you done to my friend Vivek?
Old 27th March 2006, 11:27   #14

Bol na. Should I just buy a sub from the store? How much are the JBL HT subs?
Old 27th March 2006, 11:44   #15

2 models

8" 100W - 15000
12" 250W class D - 30000

These are MSRPs.