Old 26th April 2008, 20:00   #1336

LBMji, 177dB is insanely Loud !!

How loud is that compared to a normal unamplified setup ? I mean, what kind of SPL is reached in an unamplified setup ?
Old 26th April 2008, 20:42   #1337

Originally Posted by adityamunshi View Post
How loud is that compared to a normal unamplified setup ? I mean, what kind of SPL is reached in an unamplified setup ?
Apples v/s oranges comparison. There is no sub in an 'unamplified' (actually, using the HU's amplifiers) setup. SPL measurement is at low frequencies, where the sub operates.
Old 26th April 2008, 21:27   #1338

But how much is it ? 80-90 dB ? or more ?

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Apples v/s oranges comparison. There is no sub in an 'unamplified' (actually, using the HU's amplifiers) setup. SPL measurement is at low frequencies, where the sub operates.
Old 26th April 2008, 22:14   #1339

3 dB is 100 % more !!

But how much is it ? 80-90 dB ? or more ?
Sir,

Each 3dB increase is 100 % more.

So 87 dB to 90 dB is 100 % LOUDER !!

Now you keep extrapolating.

Above 120 to 130 dB is 'insane' one can cause 'serious' damage to ones hearing above these levels.

No Jokes !!
Old 26th April 2008, 23:58   #1340

3 db increase is 100% more but on 'papers'.in real terms i think one needs to add 6-8 db more to make it 'sound' double.
'BHAGWAN' please correct me if i am wrong.i am just a learner.
Old 27th April 2008, 00:16   #1341

Originally Posted by Tool View Post
SORRY!!. AS it is i dont know anything about sound !! i just work as a sound engineer with shankar mahadevan , Ehsaan Noorani and Loy mendes but that does not mean anything
Chill Tool.

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Each 3dB increase is 100 % more.
So 87 dB to 90 dB is 100 % LOUDER !!
Above 120 to 130 dB is 'insane' one can cause 'serious' damage to ones hearing above these levels.
twice the wattage will give you a 3db increase but wont make the sund "feel" twice as loud for that you will get 10 times the wattage or 10db increase.

For hearing loss to start as little as 95db for 45 min is enough. Every 6db increase half that time. So at 120db for 3 mins can easily make you temporarily deaf and cause permanant and irreversable damage.

Unlike detached retinas that can be reattached or cataracts that can be fixed with a change of lens there is no cure for hearing loss and even the BEST hearing aids are very very poor.

Even a smoker has a great chance of returnig his lungs to normal capacity if he/she stops smoking for 15 years or so. Hearing loss is PERMENANT.
Old 27th April 2008, 00:35   #1342

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Even a smoker has a great chance of returnig his lungs to normal capacity if he/she stops smoking for 15 years or so. Hearing loss is PERMENANT.
Dear Mr.Appy ( Lbm ) Be careful

Btw congrats for new achievement.
Old 27th April 2008, 00:58   #1343

Sir I have not reachead that level yet but will one day.

A normal car audio setup with single sub can do about 130 db easily. and double one will do in 140 db.

Originally Posted by zucchero View Post
3 db increase is 100% more but on 'papers'.in real terms i think one needs to add 6-8 db more to make it 'sound' double.
'BHAGWAN' please correct me if i am wrong.i am just a learner.
It is 9db which will double the sound

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 27th April 2008 at 01:00.
Old 27th April 2008, 01:05   #1344

Originally Posted by da_low_flyer View Post
Were any of the db numbers posted here achieved in the presence of any t-bhpian? I ask because I've seen a few people in Mumbai (not bhpians but close friends of mine) brag about the db being pumped out by their "SPL" setups when in fact the mic was sitting 4'' above the enclosure port.

I do not dis-credit your achievment Low_Bass_Makker but a fair jury has to be present to validate/dis-credit any claims.
First show me a car with a good spl setup and which can do something loud then we will talk about validating it. I will bring the TermLab with me.

Also I am Navin Ji , Deralte Ji can we have a IP check I smell some thing fishy here
Old 27th April 2008, 01:20   #1345

Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
That warning is for most of us here. 95db at 45 min is not very loud and not very long (just about a full CD) so on a system that is clean one might do this without even knowing.
Old 27th April 2008, 01:27   #1346

Note from mod: LBM and Tool, please do not start bickering and refrain for comments directed at each other.As long as you disagree technically, its okay.
Comments like "SPL is not your cup of tea", etc., do not have any place in a technical discussion, even if you can't convince each other of who's right.
IF you feel a comment is personal please use report post function instead of rants which lead to more flame wars
Old 27th April 2008, 01:43   #1347

Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post

Btw congrats for new achievement.
Arre I did not achieved that figure. It was done by Team GZ in germany.
Old 5th May 2008, 00:38   #1348

EEEEk, now he is horny and loud. i am never going to sit in the back seat ever again
Old 5th May 2008, 10:48   #1349

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
EEEEk, now he is horny and loud. i am never going to sit in the back seat ever again
Bro you wont be able to sit in the front as well as the horns are placed in the front . Peeche 15"GZ aur samne Illusion Horns sab jo baiten ge unka bhalla ho ga

Last time i heard Kailash Kher "teri dewani" the voice was awesome and it seemed to be that the singer is sitting inside the dash and it was loud and clear. You have to hear it to believe it.

cheers: to LBM

Last edited by yayaati : 5th May 2008 at 11:02.
yayaati is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th May 2008, 12:11   #1350

cheers: congratulations sirji.
i am sure those horns must be sounding fantastic.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com