Old 4th May 2007, 17:26   #451

Installation of Component Speakers

hey guys, i decided to put JBl 607c speaker in front door of my swift.
could you guys pls suggest the best place to fit the crossover & Tweaters ? and read some where that we need to place the tweater close to the front speaker. Is it so ? and also what are the steps we need to ensure that warranty will not be void ?
Pls suggest
Old 4th May 2007, 18:44   #452

This sysstem is about YOU not US. You should build a system that suits you and forget what we think.

Hey Navin. I didnt mean you or any of the ICE gurus here. When I spend I would rather feel it was well spent that just spending for the sake of it. Since I more into the external aesthetics of a car, I know body kits and wheels and what looks good there. So when someone spends on a lousy kit I feel bad for them cause some of them think just spending a lot makes a good combination of mods for a car. In the same sense since Im new to ICE thought you guys would know best. Im sure theres great quality ICE at every level. The last time I ICEd a car was in college, on somebody else's advice. Was a sony HU, Polk Momos all around (components up front) Alpine V12 amp and two 12inch JLW3 subs. It was a good set up great bass.. maybe too much bass, but I somehow was not fully satisfied. Didnt find clarity in the sound and mids I guess. So this time round I want it just right at a modest budget.

for 30K
Wires: 3K Audisson makes some nice wire at 1K per pair. Monster sells for 1.4K per pair
HU: 7K (Pio, Kenwood, Blaupunkt)
Amp: 7K (Pio might be your best option)
Speakers: 9K (JBL, Hertz, Alpine S, Blau Thx) components in front, coax in rear
Sub: 4K (Pio 306C in a box)

For 40K
add Damping for front doors 3-4K
upgrade sub to 7K (4K more) JBL GT4-12 in box.
upgrade HU to 8-9K (1-2K more) same brands as above.

I greatly appreciate this. Thanks a lot. I will keep you guys posted on what I finally went in for.
Old 7th May 2007, 17:35   #453

Originally Posted by navin View Post
This sysstem is about YOU not US. You should build a system that suits you and forget what we think.

for 30K
Wires: 3K Audisson makes some nice wire at 1K per pair. Monster sells for 1.4K per pair
HU: 7K (Pio, Kenwood, Blaupunkt)
Amp: 7K (Pio might be your best option)
Speakers: 9K (JBL, Hertz, Alpine S, Blau Thx) components in front, coax in rear
Sub: 4K (Pio 306C in a box)

For 40K
add Damping for front doors 3-4K
upgrade sub to 7K (4K more) JBL GT4-12 in box.
upgrade HU to 8-9K (1-2K more) same brands as above.
Hi there... need some help, gurus!!

I don't like too much bass OR treble... my requirements are clarity and overall SQ. I wanna use the stock locations in a Swift for the speakers, no cutting-shutting. Don't plan to pump up the volume too much either... the musical experience will be all mine and not others', if u know what I mean

In the 30K config suggested by Navin Bhai above, is it OK if I do away with the sub, amp and wires... will it meet my requirements? (budget:15K).

JBL's definitely a VFM choice for speakers, but I've heard it mentioned elsewhere that they are a little bright (??)... is it worth spending extra on Infinity/Hertz for the sake of SQ? If so, how much do these cost... which models should I be looking at in a budget of 9K? (Components up front/Co-ax rear)

Lastly, at the cost of sounding like a complete idiot, does an amp make a difference in SQ even if I don't plan to turn up the volume much?
Old 7th May 2007, 17:39   #454

Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Hi there... need some help, gurus!!

I don't like too much bass OR treble... my requirements are clarity and overall SQ. I wanna use the stock locations in a Swift for the speakers, no cutting-shutting. Don't plan to pump up the volume too much either... the musical experience will be all mine and not others', if u know what I mean

In the 30K config suggested by Navin Bhai above, is it OK if I do away with the sub, amp and wires... will it meet my requirements? (budget:15K).

JBL's definitely a VFM choice for speakers, but I've heard it mentioned elsewhere that they are a little bright (??)... is it worth spending extra on Infinity/Hertz for the sake of SQ? If so, how much do these cost... which models should I be looking at in a budget of 9K? (Components up front/Co-ax rear)

Lastly, at the cost of sounding like a complete idiot, does an amp make a difference in SQ even if I don't plan to turn up the volume much?
If you decide on comps for front and a good pair of high powered co-axials for rear like a JBL or Hertz, you cannot get the best quality sound if the rear is powered from the HU and we havent even addressed the front comps.

So in any case, an amp is required to provide them with sufficient power to extract the best sound.
Old 8th May 2007, 10:34   #455

Originally Posted by mashoforu View Post
hey guys, i decided to put JBl 607c speaker in front door of my swift.
could you guys pls suggest the best place to fit the crossover & Tweaters ?
The choices are A pillar, front door and dash. the first 2 options require cutting and that means when you sell your car you sell the tweeters or the car has holes where the tweeters were. the last option is a surface mount but I have found that over zealous car cleaners can knock the tweeter down.
Old 8th May 2007, 22:38   #456

Thanks Navinji, Assuming that i am fitting my tweater in the door, where can i place the Crossover ? i feel it should be concealed.
Old 8th May 2007, 23:20   #457

Yes The crossover does not need to be shown. You can hide it inside the dashboard console or inside the door. But it might eventually get loose or rattle in the door. I prefer to mount it inside the dash console. Or near the kick panel, under the carpet or wherever.

No need really to show it, there are no user adjustable controls, you wont need to access it.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 8th May 2007 at 23:22.
Old 9th May 2007, 09:27   #458

Thanks SAM for your suggestion. I will also install the cross over in the DASH. Is there any thing we need to care the distance between the Speaker & Tweater in component sys ? I read somewhere that we need to place in optimum distance not much closer or in much distance ? Is it so ?
Pls suggest
Old 9th May 2007, 10:08   #459

mashoforu, now here is a contradiction in terms.

the tweeter should be kept as close to the woofer as possible and both speakers should be as close to ear level as possible. in a car this is not always possible so we keep the tweeter at ear level and the woofer firing at our knees. it is a compormise.
Old 9th May 2007, 17:21   #460

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
What a question.
A great mind once said - "Sometime the question is more important than the answer "
Old 9th May 2007, 17:27   #461

Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
A great mind once said - "Sometime the question is more important than the answer "
In this case true, as the answer is highly subjective and debatable
Old 10th May 2007, 23:56   #462

Help Needed

Hi guys, I should have found this forum much earlier, anyways better late than never. Some great minds in this forum, man I admire you gurus.
Ok here's my problem or here's what I have and am not too happy about it. I got myself a Swift recently and wanted to have a good ICE setup. All I wanted was crisp and clear music. Money wasn’t a big issue, as in I was ready to spend around 50k or lill up also wouldn’t harm me much. Here is what the accessories chap gave me

HU: Pioneer 6850
Front: Boston 6” Components
Rear: Pioneer 5 Way
Amp: Sony 554ZR X2
Sub: Ultimate(No idea on quality etc)

This setup was like almost 50% of my budget, but I felt the sound quality is SAD, too much noise, did all sorts of settings but I don’t like it.

I don’t mind changing/altering the setup, I need clarity with tight and deep bass. I hate the fluffy bass. Please if one of you gurus could guide me on this, it would be great. Thanks in advance.
Old 11th May 2007, 00:43   #463

Originally Posted by anshurao View Post
dump the amp and the sub....

Get a new amp and a nice sub......JBL has some nice amp....it could be 75.4...it can power your front components and the sub.....and get a JBL sub...there are very nice and good sounding....if you hate to fit it in a custom enclosure get a sealed box subwoofer ready made by JBL.....you can power your oval (pioneer 6x9 5-way) through the HU amp.....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 11th May 2007 at 00:45.
Old 11th May 2007, 03:06   #464

I think that 5way pioneer speaker can also be dumped from the setup. Get Boston 6X9 ovals or JBL 937.
Get the JBL 75.4 amp. Those sonys can be given to your enemies if any.

I think you should go back to the guy you bought the stuff from and ask him for a buyback/exchange whatsoever.
Old 11th May 2007, 10:10   #465

Originally Posted by anshurao View Post
...around 50k...

This setup was like almost 50% of my budget....
So lets say you have 30K to spend. (25K of the 50K you had budgeted earlier and a 5K penalty for not finding us earlier *just kidding*). Suggestions in brackets - there are often many other options.

Boxed Sub )JBL GT4-12 in 1cu. ft. sealed box with about 1kg of polyfil/fiberglass damping): 7K
Amp (JBL 75.4): 13K
Damoing front doors (see the damping thread on this forum): 4K
2 pairs of good RCA wire (Audisson): 2K
leave the speakers and HU for now. At best you might want to upgrade teh rear speakers to Bostons (2 or 3 way 6x9 will fit in the same hole and should sound nicer) as well these should cost you 4-5K.

Now Use the JBL 75.4 for the front speakers and sub and use the 554 (bridged) for the rear.

Disclaimer:
1. What is the exact model number of your current sub?
2. Do you like the Boston sound? Some love it some dont.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com