Old 6th June 2006, 23:38   #16

True kb,

That's exactly my point. Everything that you just said implies that the guy who had installed the system got everything wrong because he had a wrong idea about good sound. (Now, you said that. I didn't)

In such circumstances, the last thing to blame is the poor equipment which is at his mercy.

You mention Focal comps. If the setup was done properly, I'm sure it would have sounded terribly good. Especially if he was using Berylliums or something. Give the man an Audison, and I'm sure he'll do the same if not worse. Which doesn't mean that Audison is bad, neither is MTX. Also, a better Audison will be more expensive compared to a MTX. If you don't have the budget for an Audison, doesn't mean you don't buy an MTX. Likewise, if you can't afford MTX, you can always buy something cheaper, maybe Pioneer.
Old 6th June 2006, 23:52   #17

B&T... Must have done something to piss you off!!..

Let me spell it out...

I have at no time compared either of these products.. read my first post AGAIN .. I wrote there and I quote "There was this time someone was trying to get me to buy one MTX over a Audison... I heard the MTX... and never went back to that shop!" ...

Just re-living a memmory - if you will... hence I thought it necessary to qualify the statement lest it be misunderstood as a comment on the product(S) in question!

Trust no further elaboration will be required!.. and that I have earned your complete pardon!

EDIT: The components were Polyglass V1's (not even V2's!)

Last edited by kb100 : 6th June 2006 at 23:59.
Old 6th June 2006, 23:58   #18

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
You mention Focal comps. If the setup was done properly, I'm sure it would have sounded terribly good. Especially if he was using Berylliums or something. Give the man an Audison, and I'm sure he'll do the same if not worse. Which doesn't mean that Audison is bad, neither is MTX. Also, a better Audison will be more expensive compared to a MTX. If you don't have the budget for an Audison, doesn't mean you don't buy an MTX. Likewise, if you can't afford MTX, you can always buy something cheaper, maybe Pioneer.
True... and though I dont doubt the MTXs capability to put out the rated output, the Pioneer will do that as well. Then what sets amplifiers apart? Its HOW they put out that power. And what sounds good to me is just that... what sounds good to me. It need not be so for anyone else, and I wouldnt expect anyone to follow my taste or rely solely on my opinion.

But then Panky asked for our opinions, and we all have one. However skewed that opinion may be. So if KB100 replied he didnt like MTX one bit, lets just take it at that. If B&T says MTX is better than the Pioneer, thats his opinion.

In the end, lets just give our opinions. Lets not try and convince others of our opinion or try to convert them. And leave the decision making to the buyer. Its his money, and he should spend it. Not us.

Everything doesnt have to be a debate. Especially when we are asked to give our own opinions on certain products.
Old 7th June 2006, 00:02   #19

ok ok....i just called up my friend, and he's coming to pick me up....a final call, if at all, the guy at the installation center suggests (as my freind told me) alpine mrp-m450 over the mtx, shd we go for it?
Old 7th June 2006, 00:11   #20

Originally Posted by panky12345
ok ok....i just called up my friend, and he's coming to pick me up....a final call, if at all, the guy at the installation center suggests (as my freind told me) alpine mrp-m450 over the mtx, shd we go for it?
Panky, the Alpine is a current model but the MTX is a discontinued one. So if you want the MTX try and get a good deal.
Old 7th June 2006, 00:17   #21

gunman. do u think alpine wd be anyday better than MTX? getting an old MTX (not new) and alpine (new) is just 50$ more....wotsay?
Old 7th June 2006, 00:18   #22

At what price are u getting the mtx, alpine.................
Old 7th June 2006, 00:22   #23

108 $ for MTX and 150 $ for alpine
Old 7th June 2006, 00:33   #24

Sorry to add pioneer to the list.....

But if u r getting the pioneer for close to 150 got for it u will not regret getting it.......
Old 7th June 2006, 00:36   #25

LBM....arre yaar, now what shd i infer: pioneer 510 is superior to alpine 450?
Old 7th June 2006, 00:42   #26

It is not that alpine is superior or pioneer is bad. I am talking about the specific amp form alpine mrp-450 and the pioneer 510 I would choose pioneer in between the two...... But if u have ask me for mrd-650 and the pioneer 510 I would have said pioneer..... Hope it will make u clear.......
Old 7th June 2006, 06:38   #27

thanx gyz.... i surveyed today but cdnt find either Alpine or Pioneer at display anywhere.

so, now i have one more day:

to drive a pair of pioneer 306 C in 2 seperated ported boxes.....which amp do u recommend? MTX thunder 4250 D, Pioneer 510, alpine mrd-m605, mrp-m650 or mrp-m450?

any comments are welcome..
Old 7th June 2006, 07:32   #28

sorry for similar post again, just curious....i know pioneer 306 C is not THAT good subwoofer, do u think 400 W RMS thats given on the manual are not realistic? cauz theoritically one needs to supply at least 70% of the RMS ratings (acc to crutchfield)....taking that in view i think only alpine 605 or 650 meet the specs to drive the pair to the fullest! (SPL SPL)

again as navinji said, 15 K amp to drive 6 K subs.....kinda absurd!

but tell me what to do, go by the tech specs or what? am getting confused! nobody knows the stuff better than the manufacturer, and see one more option....pioneer electronics recommend GM-7200M for a pair of 306c's which says 360 W X 1 @ 2 ohms that is offically recommended.

Last edited by panky12345 : 7th June 2006 at 07:45.
Old 7th June 2006, 10:43   #29

panky
a. dont confuse thermal ratings with physical power capability (usually related to Xmax and bax design).
b. power capability depends more on the box and Xmax. put teh woofer in a 12 liter sealed box and it will absorb a lot of power but put the woofer in a 100 liter ported box and it will bottomout pretty fast.
Old 7th June 2006, 10:44   #30

When comparing components pleae try to compare them under similar if not the same circumstances. I know this is a bit more cumbersome for car audio but if you dont do this you are doing yourself and the components you are comparing a dis-service.