Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 9th May 2010, 20:29   #1
BHPian

ICE for a Chevrolet BEAT

Hello TEAM, I'm booking a BEAT LS early next week. This variant comes without ICE and I'm a serious noob with regards to ICE. I'm looking for some advice from you gurus on what options I'd have with these preferences:

1.Budget - 12K-15K tops.
2.Music I listen to regularly: Hip-Hop and RnB with a dash of bolly-tolly numbers.
3.I do not want a booming system, all that I'm looking for is better-than-decent tight bass and good clarity. A booming system for 41KM daily might make me deaf.
4.Not sure if I should get a sub, because I'm not sure if speakers would be able to produce the bass I need. Please advise.
5.I'd like to save on the very tiny boot space of the BEAT, so if I need a sub, it better not be in my boot or on the parcel tray, coz I don't like these trays.
6.I like the way double-DIN HUs look, but I'm not sure if I'd catch anything within my budget, or if it is really required.
7. Features required: USB for pendrives. I wouldn't need any BT or iPxxx compatibility.

Appreciate your advise.
Old 9th May 2010, 21:19   #2
BHPian

15k is a decent budget for ICE. I'd suggest you extend it around 20k and you'd be set for a fantastic SQ system

You can split the amount as

1) HU - Kenwood/Pioneer ~ 5-6k
2) Front Components ~ Bull Audio/Illusion Audio/JBL ~ 6k
3) 4 Channel Amp - Kenwood/JBL ~ 6k
4) Wiring Kit + Install ~ 2k

You can go for a Blaupunkt 10" or 12" sub later on.
Will cost you not more than 2.5k. And around 1k for the subwoofer box.

Good luck!
Old 9th May 2010, 21:21   #3
BHPian

@thelord Thanks. Wouldn't the HU be able to power those components and .. uh.. I think you forgot to include rear (co-ax?) speakers.
And, any idea what would be a good place to fix a sub (later, if needed.) without killing boot space?

Last edited by hellmet : 9th May 2010 at 21:23.
Old 9th May 2010, 23:07   #4