View Poll Results: Will you pay extra for a professional ICE install?
Will pay upto 10% - for a pro install 71 66.98%
Will pay upto 20% - for a pro install with fiberglassing, lots of mods 31 29.25%
Will DIY - you prefer to Do-It-Yourself, save the money 7 6.60%
Wont pay extra - wont pay a paisa over the cost of the equipment 5 4.72%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 106. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th December 2005, 09:50   #16

To me, it is not about merely saving a couple of thousands in installation charges. DIY is about wanting to do something with your own hands and to see it work right. One gets confused at times. Then you think how it can be set right. Things go wrong sometimes but can be avoided provided you speak to people and know what you are doing. Of course, you need to know some theory first. Ultimately, the satisfaction of installing your own ICE system or making your own home audio system is unbeatable. Ask Navin. He knows.

By the way, who else voted for DIY here?
Old 6th December 2005, 11:52   #17

Originally Posted by Vivekphadnis
To me, it is not about merely saving a couple of thousands in installation charges. DIY is about wanting to do something with your own hands and to see it work right. One gets confused at times. Then you think how it can be set right. Things go wrong sometimes but can be avoided provided you speak to people and know what you are doing. Of course, you need to know some theory first. Ultimately, the satisfaction of installing your own ICE system or making your own home audio system is unbeatable. Ask Navin. He knows.

By the way, who else voted for DIY here?
ya very true..the satisfaction is indeed quite immense on having done the install all by urself and moreover to find it working out really well..
btw vivek i was the other one who voted for DIY..
Old 6th December 2005, 12:18   #18

Originally Posted by GTO
I am a perfectionist, and know that you get what you pay for - in the service industry.

Would certainly pay the 20% additional charge for a premium job.

Ditto that.

Old 6th December 2005, 12:32   #19

I used to DIY when time and my body permitted it. Today I use PII (Phone It In) :-)
Old 7th December 2005, 21:42   #20
A.T

hi everyone
i will go for 10%.
Old 8th December 2005, 15:53   #21

Putting it in percentages is difficult as the difference in the same kind of equipment could be so vast. For eg: A 4ch amp could cost 5k and >50k too.

For my kind of an install with 2 amps, fibreglass and custom made sub box I would pay around 8/9k. So thats around 10% of my equipment cost.
Old 9th December 2005, 00:14   #22

Originally Posted by EVO6
Hi gunbir,
I have voted for 10% but then again I will disagree with the percentage.
If one installs a system worth 1.5 lakhs then the 10% is 15000..
But if really high end components are used and the install goes to about 4-5 lakhs then 10% means 50000...
But the effort and the material like MDF, carpet, etc.. for installation in both jobs is the same so i guess the percentage is not justified..
I rather the charges be realistic and not based on a percentage ...
Old 9th December 2005, 00:44   #23

I guess that 20% over a normal install would be well worth it.
Old 9th December 2005, 02:06   #24

Its 10% if i'm doing it up for a decent setup and 20% if i'm getting the full 2-3 lakhs priced setup. Now, that would make 50-60k for a single setup. My installer wouldnt mind driving me the whole month for that.
Old 16th December 2005, 10:36   #25

Bump

It would be great to have more votes. All who havent voted yet, please do so. Your feedback is appreciated.
Old 16th December 2005, 18:10   #26

Obviously i voted for the 20%. Trust me guys, you could spend lacs on the equipment and it's crap with a bad install.
Old 1st May 2006, 15:23   #27

I agree for 10!

But this percentage is not the right way for calculation I think. It should be charged per job wise!
Old 1st May 2006, 17:11   #28

Will do it myself not to save money for self knowlegde and satifaction.
Old 1st May 2006, 18:09   #29

I voted for 10% since I like my installs to be simple and I don't go overboard on ICE. For eg. I have an Alpine 9813 and two sets of components running on one amp and a bass tube off another amp. No fancy work only good quality work and no special things required.

And guessing my budget I think I paid around 4-5k which considering the install was good enough value for me.
Old 1st May 2006, 18:26   #30

There should have been an option for Job-wise as well. A flat percentage is not necessarily the correct way, as many others have already said. However under the current options the 10% seems the best. This can though start pinching if it is a really high cost install.