|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 211,465 views |
![]() | #121 | ||||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2009 Location: Pune
| re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Quote:
Yes there is a possibility of production issues at BDL/ OFB. But as with any thing that is manufactured, there will always be a certain acceptable failure rate. Moreover, there will never be just one missile fired at a target, esp. at these ranges. It is important to understand that the Akash is just a layer in what is typically a multi layered Air defence method. - There will be long range weapons first (S400/S300/ Barak 8), Then a secondary layer of SA6 (Being retired), Then Akash/ Pechora (Being retired), Then SA8 / QRSAM, ManPADS (Man Portable Air Defence Systems) like Igla, then 40mm AA Guns and Rapid Fire Guns. Also, most of the shorter range systems (Akash included) will never be single fired, they almost always will have two missiles aimed at the same target. This is to ensure a higher kill probability as your engagement envelope is very low (a fighter at Mach 0.95 will cover about 20 kms in one min) - meaning you will have to calculate the hit probability, location, azimuth, etc - and launch within a very short time. Quote:
What most people dont realise that these are all systems. All systems have MTBM (Mean Time Between Maintenance), MTBO (Mean time between Overhaul) and MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures). Please note the word 'Mean Time'. Statistically this number means that if the MTBF is 100 cycles, it could fail at 50 cycles or 150 cycles as well of course I am over simplifying it, but you get the drift. Last edited by torquecurve : 5th December 2019 at 20:54. | ||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 7 BHPians Thank torquecurve for this useful post: | R2D2, SmartCat, SS80, Sutripta, V.Narayan, vikasshu, wrongturn |
|
![]() | #122 | ||
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2014 Location: Delhi-NCR
![]() Quote:
| ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks V.Narayan for this useful post: | torquecurve |
![]() | #123 | ||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Quote:
Last edited by SmartCat : 15th December 2019 at 15:55. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank SmartCat for this useful post: | V.Narayan, vikasshu |
![]() | #124 |
| re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Defence Ministry Acquires 248 Indigenously Designed ASTRA Missiles for IAF & Indian Navy https://www.republicworld.com/india-...ra-missle.html In a major boost to the Indian armed forces, the Defence Ministry has cleared the acquisition of 248 Astra Beyond Visual Range air-to-air missiles, marking the first acquisition of the indigenous DRDO-developed missiles. Of these missiles, the Navy will get 48 Astra missiles for its MiG-29K fighter jets, while 200 missiles have been acquired for its 33 new Russian fighter planes including 12 Su-30 MKIs and 21 MiG-29s. ASTRA is a Beyond Visual Range (BVR) class of Air-to-Air Missile (AAM) system designed to be mounted on fighter aircraft. The ASTRA Mk-I Weapon System integrated with SU-30 Mk-I aircraft is being inducted into the Indian Air Force (IAF) and can be launched in autonomous and buddy mode of operation with features for Lock-On-Before Launch (LOBL) and Lock-On After Launch (LOAL). The dual-mode guidance consists of an upgraded mid-course internal and active radar terminal homing systems. It allows the Astra BVR missile to locate and track targets at different altitudes. The weapon system is equipped with a high-explosive pre-fragmented warhead that weighs 15kg. A radio proximity fuse (RPF) developed by HAL activates the warhead. This RPF has a detection range of up to 30m, a detonation range of 15m and a missile target velocity between 100m/s and 1,600m/s. The Astra BVR is powered by a smokeless, single stage, solid fuel propulsion system. It can intercept and destroy enemy targets with a launch speed between Mach 0.4 and Mach 2. Launch range and launch altitudes of the weapon system are 80km and 20,000 metres respectively. The missile can achieve 40 g turns near sea level while engaging a moving target. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank V.Narayan for this useful post: | CarManMotorcycl, DrPriyankT, R2D2, Seenz, TSIboy |
![]() | #125 | |
BANNED Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: KL 7
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 The plan for drdo to transfer technology to the private sector and enable them to supply the defence forces is a masterstroke and long overdue. Case in point the pinaka rockets. Quote:
Few years back I did read about the state of rockets and other ammo manufactured by the ordinance board. Rest assured India would have lost most battles in these government factories, well before soldiers on the front line saw actual action. India's defence forces have been crying repeatedly about the high number of accidents taking place in the field due to poor quality of ammunition being supplied for tanks, artillery, air defence and other guns by the OFB! The rise in ammunition-related accidents, taking place regularly, were causing fatalities, life changing injuries and damage to equipment. What is stunning is the scale and size of the OFB, its absolutely massive. How long does the public have to foot the bill for such an inefficient organisation? On paper the ofb is Asia's second largest defence manufacturer. It comprises of 41 ordnance factories, 9 training institutes, 3 regional marketing centres and 4 regional controllerates of safety, which are spread all across the country, with an annual budget of over Rs 15,000 crore. It employs 80,000 people! | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank shortbread for this useful post: | AJ56, Seenz, V.Narayan |
![]() | #126 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 DRDO's hypersonic missile vehicle test video: This tweet by Brahma Chellaney is interesting - hypersonic missiles do not need to carry explosives because targets can be easily destroyed by kinetic energy of Mach 6 missile. ![]() This infographic on flight path of hypersonic missile (compared to ballistic or cruise missile) is an eye-opener: ![]() Essentially, ballistic and cruise missiles can be tracked and shot down (under certain conditions). But hypersonic missiles are much more difficult to track and shoot down. Last edited by SmartCat : 7th September 2020 at 23:23. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank SmartCat for this useful post: | GTO, Seenz, V.Narayan |
![]() | #127 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Quote:
My understanding is that as of last year the USA has actually started budgeting for developing defence systems to hypersonic missiles. The Chinese are known to be developing their own hypersonic missiles too. If they can, and their adversaries are developing them, I would bet they are thinking of finding defence mechanism too. Even so, I imagine there is a big difference between being able to intercept an actual hypersonic missile and detecting its launch. I imagine both American and Russian satellite and system are perfectly capable of detecting such a launch? What about the Chinese? If they can’t intercept the damn thing, but can detect its launch they might put all sort of other hardware in the air, before this hypersonic missile hits its target? So not being able to intercept sounds a bit academic to me. What are we going to do, cheer because we destroyed one tiny target whilst all of us get nuked 10 minutes later? So interception might be a bit of a moot point in all. As long as you can make sure who shot at you, and you can hit that guy back even harder, what is the point of marketing the concept of “not tracking and intercepting”. As long as the other guy outguns you, you’re going to die if he so chooses. Back to these hypersonic missile. How big a punch do they deliver? It’s down to old Newton again: 1/2mV(squared). Obviously the speed is high, but no so much on the mass. How would a hypersonic missile compare to conventional or nuclear bombs in terms of impact? Is this more of a surgical/precision instrument (e.g. destroy one building) or more brute force (e.g. destroy a city) I have been doing some reading on intercepting ballistic missiles. Makes for interesting reading. They way I read it, is that quite a few countries have some form of capabilities. However, that is all based on a single launch or a few at best. And it might succeed. If we ever find ourselves in a situation where a large number of ICBM are launched none of the existing counter measure and or intercept system would be adequate. Have a look here: https://www.theverge.com/2019/1/20/1...defense-review So why are the military pursuing yet another toy, whereas the existing toys we have are more than capable of wiping out whole nations? I guess its progress, or staying ahead on the curve. But in the greater scheme of things and current missile capabilities and quantities I don’t see where this hypersonic fits in. What strategic problem is it solving? Jeroen Last edited by Jeroen : 8th September 2020 at 00:11. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Jeroen for this useful post: | Seenz, SmartCat, V.Narayan |
![]() | #128 |
| re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Hypersonic vehicle -- The speed of a ballistic missile with the manoeuverability of a cruise missile. That's what this seems to me. Of course this thread is not the place for this alternate discussion but I wonder how many generations will it take for humankind to understand that if we invest in child & mother healthcare and child education we will reduce the need to spend so much to defend ourselves. A note worthy achievement for DRDO/ISRO nevertheless. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank V.Narayan for this useful post: | fhdowntheline, Jeroen, wrongturn |
![]() | #129 | ||||||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | India joins elite club of countries with hypersonic missile capabilities Quote:
![]() Quote:
| ||||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank blackwasp for this useful post: | AdityaRai, digitalnirvana, GTO, K a s h, V.Narayan |
![]() | #130 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Sep 2019 Location: Pune
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #131 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Nirbhay cruise missile has been deployed in Ladakh - operational clearance & user trials will be done later! India deploys long-range missile Nirbhay to counter Chinese threat at LAC https://www.indiatoday.in/india/stor...255-2020-09-28 Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank SmartCat for this useful post: | GrammarNazi, Seenz, V.Narayan |
|
![]() | #132 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 It is a very big deal that DRDO has done a flight test of the hypersonic body and this puts India into a extremely elite group of nations. Factually, what we see there flying is just the combustion chamber and nothing else that was flight tested. The solid stage propels the payload (top black portion) to super sonic speeds from where the hypersonic combustion chamber (SCRAM jet engine) is ignited and let to glide down and simultaneously accelerate to hypersonic speeds. Just a small technical insight into the hypersonics. The speed or achieving the hypersonic speed (above Mach 5 or over 5 times faster than sound)is not the hardest part rather sustaining it is. The SR-71 at triple the speed of sound has issues of its surface melting, control surfaces are ineffective and buffeting etc. As far as missiles are concerned, if they are going to simply cruise or drop (exospheric missiles or reentry missiles like the ICBMs), the job is relatively easy. Let gravity take care of the speed and ensure that the payload fairing is strong enough to withstand the friction heat. But to cruise within the atmosphere or to accelerate from tri-sonic to hyper sonic, needs something called as "supersonic combustion". In conventional jet engines, the air at the tip of nacelle/entry point into the engine is usually supersonic but once it enters, it is slowed down to subsonic before entering the combustion chamber. In Ram jets or SCRAM jets (Supersonic Combustion Ram jets), the air is allowed to enter the combustion chamber at super sonic speeds and ignited/explosion is triggered. This is achieved purely by aerodynamics and shock wave generation. Tried to explain it in simple terms so that everyone can understand the basic working and the complexity of hypersonic flight. Experts, please feel free to correct me and/or add more technically correct details. For many years, a lot of researchers around the world have been struggling to achieve a sustained super sonic combustion which is the base for hypersonic flights. There are only handful of wind tunnels all around the world that can simulate hypersonic conditions, making the testing even more hard. The order of magnitude of supersonic combustion achieved were around milliseconds during the initial stage of development. Pioneers in this field are russians, as with every other missile technology. We had a professor at our univ who was an ex USSR scientist and was the subject matter expert. P.S: Our university is the only civilian organization in the whole world to have not one but two hypersonic wind tunnels and the two of the total 4 in Europe. ![]() Last edited by AlphaKilo : 30th September 2020 at 14:44. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank AlphaKilo for this useful post: | DrPriyankT, Kool_Kid |
![]() | #133 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Gents, what could possibly be the use case of this missile - Supersonic Missile Assisted Release of Torpedo (SMART)? From what I understand, there is a torpedo placed inside a ballistic missile to take out enemy submarines. India successfully tests ‘game changer’ SMART torpedo system for anti-submarine warfare https://theprint.in/defence/india-su...arfare/517354/ However, to detect an enemy submarine in our waters, you need another submarine or warship or an aircraft like Boeing P-8 Poseidon. Now all these are equipped with torpedoes to take on submarines at detection ranges. ![]() Now this infographic suggests that SMART torpedo has a range of 500+ km. Can an enemy submarine be detected by other submarines/ warships/ aircraft from a distance of 500+ km? Last edited by SmartCat : 5th October 2020 at 23:35. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank SmartCat for this useful post: | ads11, Kool_Kid, V.Narayan |
![]() | #134 | |
I suspect, though I might be wrong, that the infographic is incorrect - journalistic bo-bo or conscious misinformation. Also the launch or carrier missile is not a ballistic one - there is no need for it to be especially when being ballistic versus a simple low altitude flying one would add multiples to cost. When your target is 20 kms away, at the very most, no point firing a missile 180 kms up into the air and then bring it down next to you. Further ranges for today's ability to detect + track + identify is still measured in a few nautical miles not hundreds of kms. The need to get a torpedo out silently to the point where you believe the submarine is has persisted since WW-II. The Americans have their ASROC currently in service, the British & Australians had the Iskara, the French used to have the Malafon and the Soviets may still have their SS-N-14 systems - all subsonic missiles flying low carrying a torpedo to the expected point and then releasing it to the water. This way the enemy submarine does not get several minutes of warning time listening to the torpedo coming at it. This system by DRDO is probably similar to ASROC only faster. Maybe if they integrate the sensors of several platforms searching over a large area then any one can be the firing platform. A system like this serves surface warships best. The American ASROC for example has a range of 22 kms. It reflects the reality of detection ranges. At that range getting to the target at a firmly subsonic & cost effective 400 knots {~740 kmph} takes 107 seconds. At a supersonic & more expensive 700 knots {~1300 kmph} it will take 61 seconds. Given that this is a submarine track & kill mission and not an aerial dogfight you really don't need to save those 46 seconds at huge extra cost. Without taking away from DRDOs achievement the key in the whole chain of sinking an enemy submarine is detecting it in the first place, being able to identify the friend or foe or neutral (!!!) and then being able to track it long enough to achieve a firing solution. Only then do we get to the point where a weapon is launched. IMHO the helicopter carrying a passive and active sonar remains the best weapon system to tackle a submarine. But every extra improvement counts. What does make me happy though is that we are developing our own weapon systems today. Till as recently as 1985 these seemed a complete impossibility. I used to wonder if I'll ever see India develop its own weapon systems in my life time. But the day has come. Now let's sort out the wretched Ordnance Factory Board. Last edited by V.Narayan : 6th October 2020 at 09:22. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank V.Narayan for this useful post: | ads11, electro-monk, itwasntme, Kool_Kid, SmartCat, Sutripta |
![]() | #135 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Aug 2017 Location: Leeds
| re: The Missiles of India | EDIT: MIRV Ballistic missile on page 16 Dear smartcat, thanks for asking a question I had in my head too when I saw the announcement, and as ever thank you v.narayan for clearing all doubt. Honestly at first I was baffled as to why you'd need to launch a torpedo in this manner but like you point out it makes sense. To the best of my knowledge, anything that stays above water for as long as possible before dropping in close to the target, robs the targeted boat of the time taken to hear it coming. So in that sense I totally get how this system would work. I take it though that it'll likely be launched either from surface vessels or aerial platforms? Coming back to the issue alluded to, it's well known that a good ASW helicopter routinely dipping it's passive sonar in and out of the water is enough to ruin a boats day. Above the water air interface, just how blind are subs operating? I can imagine that sounds of say a helicopter would be hard to discern below the water line and especially so with a high flying Orion or Poseidon. Do subs have any sort of small (even to be discrete) and expendable buoy type devices that can be reeled out to the surface to give them ears above water so to speak? |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks ads11 for this useful post: | SmartCat |
![]() |