Old 4th August 2014, 22:11   #61

Re: DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio

Originally Posted by VineetSoni View Post
the plan
I think a small change is need to the plan.
- Instead of 3 folds reduce it to 2 folds to accommodate the padding height. Since the hinges takes the load, it has to be a different one which is very thick, let me try to find a sample pic
- Instead of giving support from the bottom at the hanging end, use the seat belt holder to hang the bed end
- For better stability, make a box out of ply instead of pipes so that we can use the space for storage and use sliding drawers

For better understanding, check the branded version of this design:

http://www.gizmag.com/20-portable-ca...91/pictures#24
http://www.gizmag.com/20-portable-ca...91/pictures#25

Last edited by ::CMS:: : 4th August 2014 at 22:13.
Old 4th August 2014, 22:33   #62

Some more ideas for a bed in a box :-)

http://www.ququq.info/

http://www.gizmag.com/yatoo-camper-c...hen-bed/23265/

Must see this one, shows the building process..

http://www.instructables.com/id/Camper-in-a-box/

Last edited by bwar : 4th August 2014 at 22:48.
Old 4th August 2014, 22:36   #63

Originally Posted by bwar View Post
Haven't received the link/image. There's only 5 feet of space after pushing the front seats forward so if you don't remove the front seat, you would perforce have to lie in a foetal position / curled up on one of your sides. This is fine for a couple of days but for a long ladakh trip spanning approximately 2 weeks. It may not be the most comfortable option.
Well, today i got some time to remove the middle row seats. There are just 4 bolts to floor to keep it bolted. Once these are removed you can easily remove the entire seat. The side jump seats have 2 bolts each. So, totally we need to remove 8 bolts and then you have acres of space in 2nd and 3rd row.

I am 5''10 and was able to lie down straight. The back door was closed and with the front seats pushed full forward and also backrest folded completely forward, i had space to keep sleep straight.

Do check your measurements again. Scorpio as a whole is 5118 mm(16.7 ft) long and 1850mm (6 ft) wide and 1874mm (6ft) tall. Leaving 10ft for bonnet and first row, you should have atleast 6 feet from second row till bumper. So enough space for sleeping straight.

I still prefer to remove the 2nd and 3rd row and make a flat bed with a slim mattress (link), without any mods. Only concern is the foot well in second row could pose a slight issue, although it can be padded up.

If you are still interested in modifying, there is bhpian "Jaskirat" who has done extensive mods to Mahindra Getway. Thread here
gypsyFreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th August 2014, 22:38   #64

Originally Posted by ::CMS:: View Post
I think a small change is need to the plan.
- Instead of 3 folds reduce it to 2 folds to accommodate the padding height. Since the hinges takes the load, it has to be a different one which is very thick, let me try to find a sample pic
- Instead of giving support from the bottom at the hanging end, use the seat belt holder to hang the bed end
- For better stability, make a box out of ply instead of pipes so that we can use the space for storage and use sliding drawers

For better understanding, check the branded version of this design:

http://www.gizmag.com/20-portable-ca...91/pictures#24
http://www.gizmag.com/20-portable-ca...91/pictures#25
The number of folds will totally depend on the width of the boot.

And yes making the box out of ply will be better choice and will give more area to work on.

Look at the attachments

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-screenshot_201408042151001.png
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-drawer2-1.jpg
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-i1_storage.jpg
Old 4th August 2014, 22:40   #65

Originally Posted by gypsyFreak View Post
Well, today i got some time to remove the middle row seats. There are just 4 bolts to floor to keep it bolted. Once these are removed you can easily remove the entire seat. The side jump seats have 2 bolts each. So, totally we need to remove 8 bolts and then you have acres of space in 2nd and 3rd row.

I am 5''10 and was able to lie down straight. The back door was closed and with the front seats pushed full forward and also backrest folded completely forward, i had space to keep sleep straight.

Do check your measurements again. Scorpio as a whole is 5118 mm(16.7 ft) long and 1850mm (6 ft) wide and 1874mm (6ft) tall. Leaving 10ft for bonnet and first row, you should have atleast 6 feet from second row till bumper. So enough space for sleeping straight.

I still prefer to remove the 2nd and 3rd row and make a flat bed with a slim mattress (link), without any mods. Only concern is the foot well in second row could pose a slight issue, although it can be padded up.

If you are still interested in modifying, there is bhpian "Jaskirat" who has done extensive mods to Mahindra Getway. Thread here
Thanks for this update. Did you manage to click any pictures ? I guess this is something i shall have to try on my day off, although the bed in a box options are looking interesting as well. We can possibly retain the seats with this option.

Here's another amateur setup in a Honda CRV

http://intelligenttravel.nationalgeo...into-a-camper/

Last edited by bwar : 4th August 2014 at 22:57.
Old 4th August 2014, 22:59   #66

I am now seriously thinking about doing it in my Duster, but should be cost effective and should not compromise on safety. I have a design in my mind, it can be fully dismantled and takes a very little space in the boot. Following is the sample pic, 1 and 2 makes the sides and the 3 and 4 gives the rigidity to the structure, note the slot depth difference in the planks for better lock. Use one more from top for making it more rigid, I believe its not reqd., 2 is enough. To make the bed platform use pipes in the rounded slots. Make 2 or more depends on the length required, but with 1" less width so that the second one can be placed slightly inside the first one. A 19mm MDF or ply is recommended.

For scorpio, make enough clearance to the 1 and 2 sides to accommodate the wheel wells. Removing the back seats is recommended.

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-bed1.png

Some more ideas for a bed in a box :-)
Yes I was talking about QUQUQ design in my prev post

Look at the attachments
- Less joints will be more stable for a hinge design

-The last plank will not hold unless it is bolted to a stable leg (either bolted or welded to the ground), else it will fold with the weight. Thats the reason that end has to be hanged than supporting from the bottom.

Last edited by ::CMS:: : 4th August 2014 at 23:24.
Old 5th August 2014, 01:49   #67

Additional things to be kept in mind while building a box bed setup like this
a. Curtains
b. Mosquito net for those warm nights
c. Auxilliary / emergency light for the night
d. Additional Water Jerry Can for Bathing/ Washing. Can be mounted on Roof Carrier.
e. There are 5 kg gas cyliders available across all Company Owned and Company Operated Outlets (COCO ) which can be used for cooking. There is also a small gizmo which you stick onto the head of the cylinder which has a knob and makes it a direct gas burner. Can someone please post examples.

Fancy Setup Possible Additions
d. Shower / wash basin motor . Can also be used to fill additional roof mounted jerry can. Can a cooler pump be used for the same ? Or is there a DC motor that we can use ?
http://www.ebay.in/itm/SUMMERCOOL-Ai...item4184d11a1a

e. Secondary battery to power on the additional equipment with discharge protection

These are a list of videos that I have found on youtube, there's possibly things to learn from each of them, which you can finally adapt into whichever setup you choose to build.

http://www.gizmag.com/yatoo-camper-c...hen-bed/23265/

See how to secure the box with ratchet straps so that it does not move. Also see the adjustable aluminimun stands so that the same setup can be used across multiple vehicles.

A daytime and night time setup

A Dacia Lodgy(coming soon to India) Watch around the 8 minute mark where he puts a mosquito net for the warm nights where you want to leave your windows open.

Renault kangoo camping car

Slightly Offtopic

If someone can reverse engineer this or import from China. My guess is it would sell like hot cakes in the adventure tourism market in India. This camper is only 2500 USD MRP (1.5 lakhs approximately). CMS : I got this link from the pictures that you had posted.

http://www.tealinternational.com/TailFeather/index.html

Last edited by bwar : 5th August 2014 at 02:17.
Old 5th August 2014, 02:26   #68

d. Shower / wash basin motor . Can also be used to fill additional roof mounted jerry can. Can a cooler pump be used for the same ? Or is there a DC motor that we can use ?
http://www.ebay.in/itm/SUMMERCOOL-Ai...item4184d11a1a
I found a DC Motor on ebay.com

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ultra-Quiet-...item3cd9bd0e15

e. Secondary battery to power on the additional equipment with discharge protection : Maybe have a roof mounted solar panel to charge it.

MOD's can you please combine the two posts , the half hour limit to make edits was over at the time of making this post. Thanks !
Old 5th August 2014, 11:15   #69

I think the Overlander Freedom is your answer as it will ensure you do not do something which can reduce the safety plus you get what you pay for.
Old 5th August 2014, 12:09   #70

hi

Kindly have a look at the links I am attaching and see if u can make some thing of this form.

http://www.swissroombox.com/
Don't think we posted the original video in this thread which got us all thinking , thanks to you :-)

Here it is:

Old 5th August 2014, 15:02   #71

Originally Posted by gypsyFreak View Post

Went and measured the internal dimensions once again see pictures below. The best bet at this time does seem to be the box bed with/without extras . Only the jump seats will have to be removed in such a case and we will get 6 feet 3 inches of length. Also there will be adequate space beneath the box , on top of the box ,in front of the bench for storage.

The nicest part of this bed in a box setup is that we can continue to seat 5 persons in the car as the bench seat does not have to be removed . The seat can be folded in all of 5 seconds and as and when the bed does come in it will take less than a minute to set up the bed.

The bed will have to be in three pieces , with each piece sized below 30 inches so as not to get entangled with the roof.

Looking forward to hearing everyone's thoughts on the setup.

P.S. Another thing I noticed was that with the front seats pushed all the way in front the bench was not folding up flat against the front seats but was getting stuck with the rear ac unit. Is this normal or is there something wrong with my current bench seat setup ?
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-1_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-2_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-3_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-4_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-5_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-6_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-7_001.jpg  

DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-8_001.jpg  

Last edited by bwar : 5th August 2014 at 15:22.
bwar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2014, 16:10   #72

A Dacia Lodgy(coming soon to India)
https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=M-fDeTEFBog
1) I like this work(design) and it also looks easy DIY trick.
Plus this gives a little more stable design with more options.

2) I guess using a air bed in place of padding will be a better option as it will take very less space when not in use.

3) How about use of induction plate in place of a gas stove in the car? It will run on electricity and will be much safer. Plus I use induction at home the cooking time is reduced to almost half.

4) Dual battery Installation will be required.
Can the 2nd battery be installed the engine area only?
Old 5th August 2014, 16:32   #73

75" from front seat to tailgate.

But remember that you can get an additional 6-10 inches by pushing the front seats to their most forward position and folding it forward. Your platform+bed assembly should take this into account for maximising avail space.

In the much smaller Gypsy when i had stock seats, it was possible to push the seats all the way forward, almost till the windshield. the forward seat "well" became the area to lodge a pillow allowing us to sleep lengthwise! Now that i have Scorpio seats in the front doesnt quite work that well!
COUGAR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2014, 18:34   #74

1) I like this work(design) and it also looks easy DIY trick.
Plus this gives a little more stable design with more options.

2) I guess using a air bed in place of padding will be a better option as it will take very less space when not in use.

3) How about use of induction plate in place of a gas stove in the car? It will run on electricity and will be much safer. Plus I use induction at home the cooking time is reduced to almost half.

4) Dual battery Installation will be required.
Can the 2nd battery be installed the engine area only?
1. Yes it does make us think. One thing to keep in mind will be that wood will be heavier than aluminium so we should possibly try and use lighter material wherever possible.

2. The disadvantage with an airbed from what I have read is that
a. It is susceptible to punctures and also looses air gradually
b. You tend to loose body heat with an air mattress so if you are using it in a cold climate , it may not be the best thing.

3. I don't know if there are battery operated induction plates available, you will have to research the same. Alternatively use an inverter that can take the startup and the continuous load .

4. I don't think there will be enough place in an engine bay to hold a large auxiliary battery. Perhaps some one can give us ideas. I do know that the appliance to be powered by DC current should be as close to the source as possible since there are more transmission losses with DC.

Last but not least, here is the link to a google search which shows many more options of similar setups already done. Haven't had time to explore yet :-)

https://www.google.com/search?q=SUV+...-a&channel=rcs

Originally Posted by COUGAR View Post
75" from front seat to tailgate.

But remember that you can get an additional 6-10 inches by pushing the front seats to their most forward position and folding it forward. Your platform+bed assembly should take this into account for maximising avail space.

In the much smaller Gypsy when i had stock seats, it was possible to push the seats all the way forward, almost till the windshield. the forward seat "well" became the area to lodge a pillow allowing us to sleep lengthwise! Now that i have Scorpio seats in the front doesnt quite work that well!
I did push the seats all the way forward today and folded them as much as they would go. I don't think we can get more than 75 inches, unless we change the seats :-). There's enough space now for a man who is upto 6 feet 3 inches to lie comfortably.

Last edited by bwar : 5th August 2014 at 18:39.
Old 5th August 2014, 22:09   #75

Went and measured the internal dimensions once again see pictures below. The best bet at this time does seem to be the box bed with/without extras . Only the jump seats will have to be removed in such a case and we will get 6 feet 3 inches of length. Also there will be adequate space beneath the box , on top of the box ,in front of the bench for storage.

The nicest part of this bed in a box setup is that we can continue to seat 5 persons in the car as the bench seat does not have to be removed . The seat can be folded in all of 5 seconds and as and when the bed does come in it will take less than a minute to set up the bed.

The bed will have to be in three pieces , with each piece sized below 30 inches so as not to get entangled with the roof.

Looking forward to hearing everyone's thoughts on the setup.

P.S. Another thing I noticed was that with the front seats pushed all the way in front the bench was not folding up flat against the front seats but was getting stuck with the rear ac unit. Is this normal or is there something wrong with my current bench seat setup ?
Exactly, that is what i was telling. In the Scorpio there is enough space to put a 6 ft X 5 ft bed
Yes, the 2nd row full tumble is resisted by AC unit in all Scorpios.

I guess, now you have two options:
1. Just put some padding in the foot well and use a foldable mattress like this:
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-flexislim500x500.jpg
2. Use a foldable metal bed and use a slim mattress on it
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-stram8285283097zoom.jpg
DIY: Sleeping Bed in a Scorpio-stram8284283096product_432.jpg

In the second option, you can just fold the middle row and put the foldable metal bed on top of it. Probably you will need to adjust length of the legs.

Everything can be easily setup/removed in 5 mins.
gypsyFreak is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com