Old 29th August 2006, 17:52   #1

Which LCD to buy??

Hey tbh gadget freaks.
I really need help and quick.

I want to upgrade my LCD monitor, requirements are.
*19"-21"
*clearview/brightview/clearbright(that glossy finish on the display).
*height adjustable stand(cos my current lcd is a pain without it)
*widescreen(DVD movie viewing is important)
*budget 30k give and take a couple of grands
*native digital interface(aka DVI)

I'm kinda leaning towards DELL 200WFP.
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/prod...=in&l=en&s=bsd

any other better ones available in india that I should consider??

thanks in advance.

Last edited by Fuelled : 29th August 2006 at 17:54.
Old 29th August 2006, 18:17   #2

man man 30 k it is too much money man

get a smasung 940BW best bang for the buck man I just got it few days back

it is 19 inch wide screen with 1440 x 900 resoultion and it also has a DVI interface.......

and the cost is just 15.5k......

enjoy.....
Old 29th August 2006, 20:44   #3

I bought the 2407WFP which is a 24" Wide screen.
I got it for about 40 K. I really like it.

The link that you gave shows a price of Rs. 35,900
This link shows a price of Rs. 26,900 for the same monitor.!!
Old 29th August 2006, 20:49   #4

thats 35 grand with a 9k discount.
one of the links shows the price after taking into account the discount.
theres some confusion so I wrote to dell.. and thats what they said.

N sharathjeppu. how bout like a little review of ur monitor.
Old 29th August 2006, 22:51   #5

I've got an Acer 1913W (19" widescreen - full 16:10 ratio, 1440 x 900 res). I got it for 18K about 8 months back. I think l_b_m's samusng will be a MUCH better deal (spec-wise & price-wise). BTW my Acer does not have height adjt or DVI interface.

Last edited by hydrashok : 29th August 2006 at 23:10.
Old 29th August 2006, 23:56   #6

all the main dell monitor have a response time or nearly 16 ms but the samsung 19 940BW has of 4ms.....
Old 30th August 2006, 01:08   #7

@lbm- I checked with samsung and they said that they dont sell that monitor.
checked its review. finally deicided to avoid it mainly cos of its low resolution.

talked to Iraghava. Have decided on the 20" dell for now.

any more suggestions in the 20" widescreen category people???

Last edited by Fuelled : 30th August 2006 at 01:10.
Old 30th August 2006, 01:57   #8
Max

do dell provide demo of their products ? i really believe in seeing product first and then buying it.
Old 30th August 2006, 02:02   #9

Originally Posted by Fuelled
thats 35 grand with a 9k discount.
one of the links shows the price after taking into account the discount.
theres some confusion so I wrote to dell.. and thats what they said.

N sharathjeppu. how bout like a little review of ur monitor.
My monitor is a couple of months old. I did a lot of reviews of various monitors and found the reviews of the Dell 2407WFP very good. It was ranked 5 in the PCWorld Top 100 last year.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,12...2/article.html

My criteria for the monitor was
1. Wide Screen
2. Good pixel response time for movies (This one has 6 ms Grey-Grey and 16ms Black to white response time)
3. DVI, Component, Composite video interfaces.
4. 1000:1 Contrast Ratio

The other things that I liked in the monitor were
1. PIP and PBP options
2. Built in 9 in 1 Card reader.
3. Tilt & Swivel and height adjustment options.
4. Landscape or Potrait option
5. 5 Year warranty.

The movies looked great.
It's a little too big to see web pages actually. So I end up un-maximizing the windows for better reability
It great for reading or working on word documents or photoshop because of the real estate.
Old 30th August 2006, 11:01   #10

@lbm- I checked with samsung and they said that they dont sell that monitor.
checked its review. finally deicided to avoid it mainly cos of its low resolution.
Yaar I bought this monitor just 2 weeks ago.....and it is avalable in nehru place ......for 15.5k with B/W.

the resolution of the monitor is 1440 x 900 and this is quite enough.......when compared to the dell`s 1680x1050.

and for one inch extra in the dell the cost factor is nearly of 10k extra and this is a huge differnce.....

Rest ur choice ur money......
Old 30th August 2006, 20:58   #11

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
all the main dell monitor have a response time or nearly 16 ms but the samsung 19 940BW has of 4ms.....
LBM, dell's response time of 16ms is basically a gray to gray time and samsung's response time is rise and fall time though sometime these may be misleading sometime and may show different values after tests.

Read august edition of PCworld magazine for reviews of LCD monitors <15k.

@sharathjeppu U said that u use ur monitor for word documents.See if u have pivoting function in ur monitor,basically u can rotate ur monitor by 90 degree.[source-august edi pcworld mag]
Old 30th August 2006, 22:43   #12

Originally Posted by rsjaurr
LBM, dell's response time of 16ms is basically a gray to gray time and samsung's response time is rise and fall time though sometime these may be misleading sometime and may show different values after tests.
rsjauur the samsung has a GTG timing of 4 ms

http://www.samsung.com/Products/Moni...Specifications

but the del has of a 16ms GTG

also the cost of the dell is nearly 25k and the samsung is for 15.5k

also the 19 inch normal in grey is for 12 k and the next model 20 inch normal is for 35 k I dont understand such huge diff. For now the 19 inch is the best buy and good for watching movies.
Old 30th August 2006, 22:49   #13

LBM bhai I can justify the cost for dell monitor.
cause my previous 17" monitor which i'm changing from was 23k.
pls lets not make price an issue for now.
I was just looking for alternatives. lets all just keep it at that.

and by the way the the price for the dell panel is Rs 27,977.04 and not 35k (you seem to use 2 different pricings)

Last edited by Fuelled : 30th August 2006 at 22:52.
Old 30th August 2006, 23:04   #14

Originally Posted by rsjaurr
@sharathjeppu U said that u use ur monitor for word documents.See if u have pivoting function in ur monitor,basically u can rotate ur monitor by 90 degree.[source-august edi pcworld mag]
Yes I do. But I like the two page display for my word documents.
Old 31st August 2006, 10:05   #15

LBM bhai I can justify the cost for dell monitor.
cause my previous 17" monitor which i'm changing from was 23k.
pls lets not make price an issue for now.
I was just looking for alternatives. lets all just keep it at that.

and by the way the the price for the dell panel is Rs 27,977.04 and not 35k (you seem to use 2 different pricings)
Man I also got my older 17 inch samsung for 29k

ya man it is nearly 1 to 1.5 years back....but when I got to know that the 19 inch wide is for 15k I could not hold wait to get my hands on one . now my old 17 inch is on my father pc and the new one is with me.....

Brother one thing I wanna add spending extra 12.5 on one inch is waste of money , get two 19 wide for 31k and u can extend your windows desktop and watch move on one screen and browse Team-Bhp on the other If ur display card has two vga out.....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 31st August 2006 at 10:07.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com