(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by razor4077
(Post 1145410)
Availed the same offer as shuvc from eZone. 42k for the PV8. Cancelled my order with JD. JD's distributor in Kolkata was finding it hard to believe that such a deal existed... but eventually he himself suggested I go for it.
I remember being quoted 56k for the PV8 in Nov 08. So waiting for roughly 2 months has saved me 14k. One of those "patience pays" moments...lol :D |
Thats the best deal in India :) congrats guys, enjoy the Pana Pic
Originally Posted by madbullram
(Post 1145633)
Thats the best deal in India :) congrats guys, enjoy the Pana Pic |
clap:thanks razor and shuvc igot the same deal in hyd e zonelol:
Wow guys. Congrats on your PV8 purchase for such low prices !! I can't believe how much the price of the PV8 and PV80 have dropped in the last 3-4 months. It used to be in the 60s, then 50s and now low 40s !! Amazing. This now almost equals current USA prices for the same models. Costs around 600-700 USD (PX80 model) there.
Looks like by the time I go for my plasma in another 2-3 months, the price for the PV8/PV80 would be in the low or high 30s. This may be possible since at the CES 2009, Panasonic has launched their new range of plasmas. So as the new ones come into the Indian market, the PV80 and PV8 would become even cheaper to dispose of the old stock.
This is what happened in 2008 just before the PV80 / PV8 series came. PV70 and PV7 went for very good prices. Well I hope I get a good deal on mine when it's time to buy.
Congrats once again guys on the PV8 purchase. Enjoy the superb picture quality on the Panasonic Japanese plasma panel.
Warm regards,
Venkat :)
Hi guys, I was wondering what your opinion is on proposals for banning large wide-screen displays - particularly plasmas.
I understand Europe, Australia, & the US (California) are mulling a ban on plasmas in an effort to force manufacturers to produce more efficient displays...
|
The new generation 5 lumen Plasmas panels launching this year are as energy efficient (and bright) as LCDs and the 10 Lumen panels which are expected next year will further cut power consumption by 50%.
Panasonic showcased these new (5 lumen) panels in CES 2009 as Neo PDP panels. The benefits of same are posted in my earlier posts in this thread.
Pioneer would also be releasing 5 lumen PDP panels by second half of this year.
Well prices for Panasonic have come down, today went to Devi with my friends, they are buying 2 sets of PV 80 for 49,250 each, will be finalizing the deal in couple of days, thanks to the wonderful forum here.
When i told Niranjan about the 42k pana price at ezone he could not believe, he said he will cross check and revert back on his pricing,
I am thinking of buying an 40" LCD for my living room but do not want to dig holes in the wall to mount the TV nor do I have enough space to have a big table top. I was searching for some options like LCD stands etc on the web & stumbled upon this. It looks really neat & saves you the hassle of messy work. More of such stands are available on this UK site.
Plasma LCD TV Trolleys - The place for all your audio visual needs -& Plasma Tro - AVNow.co.uk - TV Brackets
Not sure if these Universal Table Top LCD stands are readily available in Delhi-NCR region. Has any one ever seen them being sold anywhere else in India? Please let me know where I can find them.
Originally Posted by forbhaskarm
(Post 1147614)
I am thinking of buying an 40" LCD for my living room but do not want to dig holes in the wall to mount the TV nor do I have enough space to have a big table top. |
you can get something made to your spec in wrought iron :) or I am sure there some wrought iron furniture shops in bangy.
Originally Posted by jassi
(Post 1147800)
you can get something made to your spec in wrought iron :) or I am sure there some wrought iron furniture shops in bangy. |
Jassi, I know just the place for you.
There is a specialised shop for such stands in CP.
CASA Audio Video Furniture
Home Entertainment Furniture,Audio Furniture,Video Furniture,Plasma Stands,LCD Stands,TV Trolleys,Audio Racks,CD Racks,DVD Racks,Plasma Wall Mounts,LCD Mounts, Projector Mounts,AV Mounts
011 - 237 44717
I went there recently and it was a good experience, even though I did not end up purchasing anything.
Originally Posted by Eddy
(Post 1147824)
I went there recently and it was a good experience, even though I did not end up purchasing anything. |
A great finding Eddy. ( Thanks for the link )
What was the price range like. A rough idea. I need buy one for myself this weekend. Were they around 5k types or 10k types?
Bubby, I researched a lot in Kirti Nagar and MG Road before coming to this shop and found this to be very reasonably priced. They have an entire range starting from about 3k. I am sure you will find something in your budget and requirements.
PS: It is not a huge shop and is easy to miss. Located on the outer circle in the same rows as the Kake da Dhaba
(Post 1147860)
Bubby, I researched a lot in Kirti Nagar and MG Road before coming to this shop and found this to be very reasonably priced. They have an entire range starting from about 3k. I am sure you will find something in your budget and requirements.
PS: It is not a huge shop and is easy to miss. Located on the outer circle in the same rows as the Kake da Dhaba |
Thanks yaar. I am visiting this place on the weekend.
PS: Its not Kake da Dhaba its 'Kake da Hotel' cheers:, will have my lunch there clap:
(Post 1147860)
PS: It is not a huge shop and is easy to miss. Located on the outer circle in the same rows as the Kake da Dhaba |
Thanks Eddy :thumbs up. I am rushing now to find the best one for me.
PV8 was delivered yesterday, a day behind schedule. Panasonic called up today morning and said they would send a guy over today to set up the TV. I won't be wall mounting it right away, since the wall needs some repairs - that will be done in due course.
I have been told that the TV needs to be "broken-in" for the initial 100-200 hours. Can someone elaborate on this?
Originally Posted by razor4077
(Post 1150907)
I have been told that the TV needs to be "broken-in" for the initial 100-200 hours. Can someone elaborate on this? |
That may not be relevant today. I think plasmas (at least my Pioneer has) a screen saver that comes when DVD is paused for longer than a minute or so. For regular TV programming, I think the image shifts imperceptibly to eliminate burn in. I really do not think `broken-in' is an issue now. Even the TV set may have some inbuilt factory settings that are set at default to take care of this.