Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 13th April 2007, 16:28   #16

Originally Posted by rkg View Post
check the kirloskar/cummins websites for gen stes. you can get them with sound proofing and warranty. 5 KV gen set can also power AC. even honda makes small genstes upto 10 KV. recently i enquired for 62.5 KN genset from kirlosakr . quoted price was 4.5- 5 lakhs all inclusive with sound proofing ans installation

JAKSON INNER PAGE
http://www.cumminsindia.com:8080/xsq...l_engines.html
Diesel Generators | Diesel Gensets | Diesel Generators Supplier | Power Generators
Honda Gensets, Water Pump, Engines, Lawn Mowers & Brush Cutters
Thanks, do you have any links for the honda 10KV sets. The sets on the web site are the low power ones.
Old 13th June 2007, 18:51   #17

Branded generator sets

I was wondering if anyone has a Kirloskar or other branded generator set installed at their residence.

A dealer quoted a 15 KVA genset at 1 lakh rs. A silent model 15 KVA (enclosed in a box) is 2.66 lakh. These are portrayed as "green".

This is in comparison to desi models, which can be had for 20000 rs. for a 5 KVA.

A few questions:
1) Does anybody have any experience w/ Kirloskar gensets?

2) How silent are the silent models.

3) Do the green models actually reduce the bad diesel fumes you can smell from 100 feet away from desi sets?

4) What would be the recommended KVA for a 6 member household w/ 5 1.5 ton ACs, or a central AC system, plus the normal household appliances?

5) Is there any justification for the price premium over desi sets?

Relevant links:
http://kirloskarapps.kirloskar.com/k..._generator.htm
http://www.westernconsolidated.com/
Old 13th June 2007, 19:17   #18

Originally Posted by caliper View Post
I was wondering if anyone has a Kirloskar or other branded generator set installed at their residence.
We had a Shriram Honda genset long back. Used to run on petrol. It was sky blue in color and i dont recall the rating and power but it used to produce a lot of smoke. Was pretty good as it served us well for a long time without any issues.

It was followed by Honda genset's which were Red in color.

I can ask my dad for more details and will post it here in a day or two.
Old 16th October 2007, 12:41   #19

Hey Guys - I need to pick up a small basic inverter by the end of the day that would run 2 fans, 3 lights and a broadband modem / wireless router (You know the basics!). I have been told that 600 VA is more than ample for my needs. The dealer has 2 models I can choose from:
1) Lumnious Inverter and Lumnious Battery - 800 VA - Rs. 12,200 Installed.
2) Su-Kam Inverter and Su-kam Battery - 600 VA - Rs. 12,500 installed.

Which one of these should I pick up? Is one brand better than the other in terms of reliability / quality. The power situation at Gurgaon is quite bad. I lose power about 4 times through the night for an average of 40 minutes each time.

Thanks!!
Old 17th October 2007, 22:12   #20

Each Fan would take about 100W and the lights (assuming 40W tubelights) would be 120W. The broadband router should <10W. Totally that comes to 330W. While 600VA should be sufficient for you, the quality of the inverter is measured by how close the output is to a sine wave. If the output is very much square wave, some appliances (like fans) may not work fine. So, just check that fans work fine with whatever you choose!

EDIT: I have a problem related to computer UPS.
I have a Wipro Emerge UPS (small one for the computer). It is a 300VA one. The most irritating part of this one is, it beeps every 1 sec, when even the main power is OFF. So this means, even if it is fully charged, and no one is using the computer, it beeps and causes unnecessary irritations to my family. So does anyone face the same problem?

I am planning to just desolder the beeper if i cant do anything about it.

Last edited by deep_bang : 17th October 2007 at 22:19.
Old 26th October 2007, 10:49   #21

I need some power backup for my office. We need min 3 PCs, 5 tubes and 6 fans running for at least three hours in case of a power failure. Should I go for an inverter, with a generator to feed the batteries or a bigger bank of batteries?
Old 26th October 2007, 14:54   #22

Try this from Microtek.

Online-UPS or Highpower

Last edited by merve_extreme : 26th October 2007 at 14:56.
Old 29th October 2007, 09:33   #23

Home Generator query

Just posting this query in the hope that someone may be able to help. The power at my parent's home in the outskirts of Guwahati is very irregular. The current inverter is not able to help too much as power sometime goes for 2 days or so. Therefore they are thinking of getting a generator for the back-up power supply.

I have no idea at all about generators, so i'm hoping anyone here can let me know what are the brands to go for, and what would the price range be like.

Old 20th November 2007, 09:03   #24

Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
Sorry for going way off topic but couldn't resist asking a question that i cant find a true answer of.

How much a simple 500VA home inverter enough for 3-4 fans,tubes consumes electricity while at fully "charged" and also when it is "charging"?Some one told me that even when its fully "charged" it consumes electricity equal to 100 w bulb and 500w when its "charging".
I can't say for sure, but expect a consumption of around 15-20 units per month.
Old 20th November 2007, 09:33   #25

I have powercut for 4-8 hours once a week.
What would I need for running a 280L fridge, a 32 inch CRT TV, a Dish TV Box,
a couple of fans & tubelights?

I have an existing 600 KVA Microtek with Exide SMF Batteries - this
is around 2 years old - however, it's not able to run even 1 tubelight
for more an than hour - used to be much better earlier - could run my TV
& a tubelight for upto 45 minutes earlier. Is there anything
I can reuse from the existing Microtek?
Old 22nd November 2007, 09:19   #26

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
I have powercut for 4-8 hours once a week.
What would I need for running a 280L fridge, a 32 inch CRT TV, a Dish TV Box,
a couple of fans & tubelights?

I have an existing 600 KVA Microtek with Exide SMF Batteries - this
is around 2 years old - however, it's not able to run even 1 tubelight
for more an than hour - used to be much better earlier - could run my TV
& a tubelight for upto 45 minutes earlier. Is there anything
I can reuse from the existing Microtek?
1. Why would you want to run 280L refrigerator on inverter? It will make inverter more expensive and bigger battery bank, may also mean lower conversion efficiency at smaller loads.

2. If you don't plan to run your 32" CRT (or LCD?) TV all the time during 4-8 hours power cut, a 1000 VA pure-sine wave inverter may be just fine.

Changing the most frequently used lights to CFLs will anyways help whether you go for inverter or not.

3. Existing Microtek - Looks like you battery is almost gone. Batteries should be fully discharged and charged once in a few months to keep them running longer. Also timely filling water is also very important.

Try to see if you can trade-in existing inverter.
Old 28th January 2008, 13:04   #27

Su-Kam and Hyundai are good candidates.
Of course a Desi inverter will cost less, but the headache is not worth it. Have already suffered.
Bringing to life an old thread!!!!
What are the desi inverters? Is Microtek a good inverter or not?
I have an older Microtek inverter which I want to trade in, but the
Sukam dealer isn't ready to take a Microtek inverter, that's why I am
looking at Microtek. Also Microtek seems a couple of thousand cheaper.
Old 28th January 2008, 15:28   #28
fb1

our home uses a honda automatic generator and it runs on kerosone... I think it was 2-2.5 lakhs.. but its very powerful and lasts really long
Old 28th January 2008, 20:51   #29

Do these inverters use lead acid batteries. If so then they will conk out after a year or so of regular use right?
Old 29th January 2008, 01:31   #30

Well, we have been using a 800 VA Su-Kam inverter on an Amaron inverter battery since August 2005. Working fine till now. The batt has only been topped up with distilled water couple of times.

It still keeps our 29" CRT tv, comp, couple lights + fans powered... have not checked how much the batt has lost its power... but its still quite decent!

That said, I'd also suggest you consider an APC inverter. They are supposed to be the best!